Top Ten Tuesday #71

image

Hi everyone! I actually scheduled this post in advanced, how cool is that (I barely ever schedule in advance!). By the time you guys read this, I will have got back from my what will hopefully be amazing few days in London where I’m heading off to tomorrow with my Uni friends! By this time on Tuesday, I will have been to the Harry Potter Studios and hopefully had an amazing time, (I will be doing a post all about my trip here on the blog on Tuesday, hence me scheduling this post in advance), though I don’t see how it will be possible for me to have a bad time, I mean it’s the Harry Potter Studios! Anyway, this week’s prompt was meant to be Top Ten Books I Have on My Shelf (or Goodreads TBR) From Before I Started Blogging, but I actually don’t have any books on my shelf or my Goodreads TBR from pre-2014 (when I started blogging), so I twisted the topic slightly to Β be Top Ten Books That Have Been On My Goodreads TBR For A Year Or More (which I can assure you, I have a lot of!). I’m going to try to stick to 10, but it may not happen! Anyway, in no particular order, here are my top ten (I’m not going to include ones that I own, these are ones that I have not yet got and ones that have already been released as opposed to soon to be released, I need to narrow the list down somehow):

  1. The Darkest Minds-Alexandra Bracken-Added in January 2015

Okay, so this one is not entirely my fault, I added this in January not knowing that Alex Bracken didn’t have a UK publisher, so it wasn’t available in the UK. Yes, I could have bought it off Amazon, but if I can help it, I prefer to buy my books from actual book shops and I decided I wasn’t desperate enough for this one to order it from Amazon (not that I didn’t want to read it, I did and still do, but I had enough other books that getting this one was not desperate). Luckily, I now have a Uni friend who ordered them from the US so I’m going to borrow her copies of the series!

2. The Perks Of Being A Wallflower-Stephen Chbosky-Added in January 2015

Okay, so this has probably been on my thought TBR a lot longer than on my Goodreads TBR since after I saw the film, I did think, okay maybe I should read the book now. Anyway, long story short, years later and I still haven’t read it. I’m not really sure why, it’s just one of those books that is on my TBR, yet somehow always seems to slip under my radar.

3. The Fixer-Jennifer Lynn Barnes-Added in February 2015

This one sounds really cool, a contemporary political YA thriller, and I honestly don’t know why I haven’t bought it yet, I think it’s one of those cases where I get distracted by all of the pretty fantasy books (#sorrynotsorry) and forget about some of the other books on my TBR!

4. The Iron King-Julie Kagawa-Added in February 2015

I honestly don’t know why this one has flown under my radar for so long, it’s fantasy (my fave genre) and I’ve liked stories with faeries in the past, but I think because it’s an older fantasy I probably forget about it often because there are so many great new fantasy releases!

5. The DUFF-Kody Keplinger-Added in February 2015

I added this one because of the movie which I’ve watched and really enjoyed. I think I’m a little hesitant of reading it because my book/movie taste is completely opposite, what I hate in books, I usually love in movies and what I love in books, I may not be as keen on in films (case in point, I like gory scenes in books-to a degree and I actually enjoy being creeped out whilst reading, but am not so keen in movies. I’m not that keen on romance in books, but I love rom-coms), so I feel like I’m not sure whether I’d like the book as much as I liked the movie, because I look for different things in books as compared to movies. Still I feel like I will try to read this one, one day.

6. Anne and Henry-Dawn Ius-Added in February 2015

I honestly don’t know why I forgot about this book, I love the Tudors and the idea of Anne and Henry in modern day high school is totally appealing to me, but somehow after the release date for this passed, I totally forgot about it! Hopefully I will read it at some point because it does sound interesting.

7. The Girl On The Train-Paula Hawkins-Added in February 2015

I know, I know, I should have read this one by now, but like all of the others on my list, it just kept flying under the radar (but how Jo you ask, this book was everywhere? Well yes it was, but as I keep saying, I get distracted by the pretty fantasies, they call to me, I can’t help it!). I was hoping to read it before the movie came out, but since the movie comes out in September, I think that’s highly unlikely!

8. Made You Up-Francesca Zappia-Added in May 2015

This one sounded so amazing, a contemporary about a girl with schizophrenia. I actually added it because I was studying schizophrenia at the time as part of my Psychology A Level but somehow between then and now, I completely forgot about it. It still sounds like an interesting read and I would like to see if I can try it at some point.

9. Inkheart-Cornelia Funke-Added in May 2015

This sounds so cool, characters coming to life out of books, going into books, this is basically bookish heaven and it’s in my preferred genre, fantasy. So why have you not read it Jo, you ask? Well it’s actually one of my sister’s books not mine and I haven’t borrowed it yet. It may have ended up being cleared out in her move to Amsterdam, so this might be the push I needed to get my own copy!

10. Every Breath-Ellie Marney-Added in May 2015

This Sherlock retelling has been on my radar for ages, and I keep meaning to get it but again, just like with The Darkest Minds, I can’t find it in UK book shops and so the only way for me to get it is through Amazon, and as I’ve said earlier in the post, I prefer to get books from book shops if I can help it!

11. Pretending To Be Erica-Michelle Painchaud-Added in June 2015

This crime novel, billed as We Were Liars meets Heist Society (I’ve never read We Were Liars, but was very attracted by the Heist Society comparison), sounded really intriguing, so I added it to my TBR, then as usual, promptly forgot about it. Hopefully I will be able to pick this one up at some point.

12. Tiny Pretty Things-Sonia Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton-Added in June 2015

This is billed as Pretty Little Liars meets Black Swan and I really liked that description, I like the idea of soapy high school drama meets ballet. Why haven’t I picked it up yet? Well I think there’s just been books that have interested me more but this book is still firmly on my radar.

13. Miss Mabel’s School For Girls-Katie Cross-Added in June 2015

This kind of sounds like Hogwarts but strictly for girls? Anyway, I love boarding school books and I love magic books, so this book sounded perfect for me but for whatever reason, a year on and I still haven’t got it (again I think it’s my reluctance to buy on Amazon unless I’m really excited for a new book showing through). Hopefully I will get it eventually.

14. Hold Me Like A Breath-Tiffany Schmidt-Added in June 2015

I was really excited for this book when I added it. I was. After reading Unwind, the idea of anything to do with the black organ market was really interesting to me and this with black organ traders and warring mafia like families sounded incredible. Then I saw that the reviews of this weren’t exactly amazing and my excitement dampened a little. I still want to read this because I want to make up my own mind about it, but it’s hard to keep up a high level of excitement about a book when it has several negative reviews.

15. Scarlet-AC Gaughen-Added in August 2015

I love the idea of this book, a Robin Hood retelling with a female Will Scarlet (now I just need to find one with a female Robin Hood), and I’m in love with all things history, so a historical retelling sounded right up my alley but like so many other books, I completely forgot about this after I added it to my TBR (that’s the problem of having over 300 books on a TBR, I have learned). I would definitely like to read it at some point though.

I think that’s all for this week (ha ha my restraint from last week did not last very long) and I could probably have done more! Ah the curse of the ever expanding TBR (according to a quiz I took today it’s going to take me 25 years to finish my current TBR. Ha ha, as if. Make that more like 50 years, the books will keep on coming). What books have been on your TBR the longest? Do you have books on there from before you started blogging? Have you read any of these books? Β Which should I read first? Let me know! Next week’s topic is a freebie, a back to school freebie, so I have to choose a back to school related topic, you’ll have to wait until next week to see what I choose. In the meantime, I should have a Wishlist Wednesday post for you guys tomorrow so stay tuned for that.

 

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #71

  1. wynd2796 August 23, 2016 / 9:29 am

    Wow! You have over 300 books in your TBR list?? That’s amazing! If you’re wondering which to start first, I’d recommend Inkheart. I love the characters and how magical the story is. After reading that book, I found myself reading out loud to try to get the characters to come to life! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:41 pm

      Yup! I think in blogger terms it’s comparatively small but still, lots of books to get through! Oh really? Thanks for the advice, I’ll bear that in mind. Thanks πŸ™‚

      • wynd2796 August 24, 2016 / 10:35 am

        No problem!😁

  2. lindseyhabets August 23, 2016 / 12:26 pm

    Hi, hope you had a great trip and visit to the Harry Potter Studios! πŸ™‚
    I read and liked both The Darkest Minds and The Perks of Being A Wallflower, so I do hope you’ll enjoy them too! The Girl on the Train is on my TBR as well and just like you I was kind of hoping to read it before the movie comes out but I’m not so sure if that’s still possible πŸ˜‰

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:40 pm

      I did thanks! Well that’s good to hear. Thanks, I hope so too. Yeah, the movie comes out in September and I haven’t got it yet so I feel like it’s not possible!

  3. Holly August 23, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    I loved the movie adaptation of The DUFF, but I have yet to read the book. I should really get on that. I’ve been a little hesitant to read the book as well because I think you make a great point: some things just don’t come across the same in books as in movies. When I read a book I’m looking for more depth and substance, whereas when I watch a movie I’m mostly just looking to be entertained. Hopefully the book is as good as the movie!

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:35 pm

      Same here. Yeah, it’s true, I feel like The DUFF was really entertaining as a movie but it might come across as kind of shallow as a book. I hope so too!

  4. rachelburden August 23, 2016 / 1:41 pm

    Hi! The Iron King’s really good although I still haven’t read the rest of the series (that’s why they made my list this week). I’ve been meaning to read the Girl on the Train too. I’m hoping to read it next month. Hope you had a lovely time at Harry Potter Studios!

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:32 pm

      That’s good to hear! That would drive me nuts having started a series and not read the rest of them! Hope you enjoy it. I did, it was so cool!

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:30 pm

      Yeah me either! I’ll have to schedule next week’s post too as I’m going to be away on Tuesday. I’ll definitely do that.

  5. Vonze @ Vonze Reader Blog August 23, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    Hope you’re have a Potterific day! If I see a movie first, I hardly ever go back and read the book. Just seems to be a bad habit of mine.

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:25 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I had a great day thank. To be honest, I’m kind of the same, I always say I’m going to read the book, but if I’ve seen the movie first, it usually never happens.

  6. anovelglimpse August 23, 2016 / 6:35 pm

    I thought The Duff was a lot of fun! The Girl on the Train was so-so for me. I just think there are better thrillers out there. I hope you get to read these soon!
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:21 pm

      Hopefully I’ll think so too! Oh that’s a shame, but I suppose not every book is for everyone. Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Erin Bowen (@erinld2005) August 23, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    Excellent list! I liked The Duff, The Girl on the Train, and The Perks of Being A Wallflower, but none of them blew me away. I haven’t read any of the others on your list.

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 8:13 pm

      Thanks! Well I hope I enjoy them all even if they don’t blow me away.

  8. rantsandravesofabibliophile August 23, 2016 / 9:38 pm

    I loved Scarlet. I still need to read the last book in that series.

    You should definitely give The Perks Of Being A Wallflower a read soon. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone that didn’t like it.

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 9:41 pm

      That’s good to hear, hope you do soon. Wow that’s some high praise! Hope it lives up to it.

  9. lry93 August 23, 2016 / 9:48 pm

    I loved both Inkheart and Tiny Pretty Things – I also recently read Shiny BrokenPieces which was also amazing! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 23, 2016 / 10:19 pm

      That’s great to hear! Hopefully I get to them soon.

  10. Olivia Emily August 23, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of my all time favourite books: you HAVE to read it if you ever get the chance!

  11. Nicole.Ilene August 23, 2016 / 11:15 pm

    I read Perks of Being a Wallflower twice, years ago. I really liked it! πŸ™‚

  12. Lauren @ Always Me August 24, 2016 / 1:21 am

    I really want to try The DUFF – I loved the movie a lot more than I expected to so maybe it will be as good or better. πŸ™‚

    Check out my TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx August 25, 2016 / 2:02 pm

      Yeah I did enjoy the movie more than I expected, so maybe I will like the book!

  13. Melissa Lee August 24, 2016 / 3:00 am

    Best of luck to you with this TBR and hope you had a nice trip.

  14. meganm922 August 24, 2016 / 5:09 am

    You have some great picks. I loved The Darkest Minds trilogy and I’m a huge fan of Inkheart.

    Most of your listed books are awesome, so when you do get around to them, you’ll hopefully enjoy them!

    • iloveheartlandx August 25, 2016 / 1:54 pm

      Thanks! That’s great to hear, I hope I enjoy them too!

  15. michellefabbookreviews August 24, 2016 / 5:39 am

    The Perks of…is another one that has been on my radar for years…since the book first came out, I think! I’m not sure what’s stopping me… Great and varied picks on your list here. The Every series by Ellie Marney is a solid pick! Seeing Pretending to be Erica is a reminder that that’s another great-sounding YA on my to-read! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 25, 2016 / 1:52 pm

      Yeah it’s been on my radar for years too. Let’s hope we both get to it soon. Thanks! I have heard high praise about that series from everywhere. Ah, glad to have reminded you about that one then!

  16. ChrissiReads August 24, 2016 / 10:07 am

    I enjoyed The Duff but it wasn’t an amazing read for me. I hope you’ve had a great time in London!

    • iloveheartlandx August 25, 2016 / 2:12 pm

      Oh interesting, I’ve been hearing mixed things about it. I did, it was amazing!

  17. thebeckoninghills August 24, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, but Scarlet and Miss Mabel’s School for Girls sound interesting.

  18. RAVISHING TALES August 24, 2016 / 3:01 pm

    The Girl On The Train is intense af and I love it. Hope you will enjoy it as much as I did!

  19. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) August 24, 2016 / 10:34 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, but The Girl on the Train is one I REALLY want to get to before the movie comes out! Great list πŸ˜€

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx August 25, 2016 / 12:38 pm

      I would love to, but I feel like it’s probably not going to happen! Thanks πŸ™‚

  20. Charnell @ Reviews from a Bookworm August 25, 2016 / 5:00 pm

    I absolutely loved The DUFF, but be warned that it is VERY different to the movie. Soooo different, but I actually enjoyed it so much!!!

  21. Rissi August 26, 2016 / 4:35 am

    I have “The Fixer” as well and really want to read it since it sounds like my kind of read. πŸ™‚ Also, that contemporary spin on the Tudor’s interested me back when it released, but I’ve since forgotten about it. So many books, so little time I guess.

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland this week. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 26, 2016 / 12:59 pm

      Yeah it sounds great right! I know, I was the same way. Yup that is definitely true.

Leave a Reply

