#RockMyTBR July Update

I know I say this every month but the year is going way too fast! It’s nearly my sister’s birthday already and I have no idea how that happened. It feels like January was only yesterday. As always, I read one book from my list and one other book from my TBR, but I also read a few e-books from Netgalley this month as well, so I got a whole lot of reading done! I’m also still ahead in my Goodreads Challenge and I just got approved for a new read on Netgalley! All in all, this reading year is going very well. So this is what I’ve read this month:

twistedThis was my first read I was approved for on Netgalley, so naturally I was really excited! I didn’t love it as much as I was hoping, but it wasn’t bad. A stellar first Netgalley outing. I read this from 8th June to 4th July (It really didn’t take me almost a month to read, I just didn’t read it consistently everyday, I read most of it in the last few days). Here is my review:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/04/twisted-review-arc/

ADSOMI read this from 29th June to 11th July and I absolutely loved it! It’s probably one of the best fantasies that I’ve ever read, honestly! I love Kell and Lila and Rhy and just the whole world VE Schwab has created. I can’t wait to read book 2. I also met VE Schwab at YALC and she was lovely!

Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/13/a-darker-shade-of-magic-shades-of-magic-1/

asking for itThis was my other Netgalley read of the month, I started it on July 16th and finished it on the 23rd. I have never read a book that I’ve enjoyed yet made me so angry at the same time. This is a really important book and should be read by all teens, male and female. I also had a chance to meet Louise O’Neill at YALC and she was really lovely too (I swear authors are the nicest people on the planet!). Here is my review of her book:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/24/asking-for-it-review-e-arc/

look who's backThis was my #RockMyTBR read for July (I know, took a while to get there! It’s been a busy reading month) which I read from 11th July to 25th July. I really wanted to love this one because the concept was so great, but I found myself feeling rather indifferent about it. Here is my review:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/27/look-whos-back-review/

So that was what I read in July, here’s what I have coming up in August:

Magnus Chase and The Sword of Summer-Rick Riordan-Okay so technically I’ve actually read all but 2 chapters of this but it was technically meant to be my August read (ie I wasn’t planning on reading it so fast, it was just so good!) so I’m going to count it as part of my August reading, since I will finish it in August even if I read most of it in July!

The Hidden Oracle-Rick Riordan-I can’t wait to read this one! I am having a big Rick Riordan fix at the moment and this book returns to Camp Half-Blood and the world of Percy Jackson that I love so much, so I’m so excited to read it.

13 Minutes-Sarah Pinborough-This is another Netgalley read, it’s kind of a mix between Mean Girls and a murder mystery (sounds strange but it works) and I’m most of the way through it.

A Gathering of Shadows-VE Schwab-If I finish The Hidden Oracle quickly then I’m hoping to get to ADSOM’s sequel after that. I’m even more excited about reading this after having met VE Schwab at YALC.

I also have a couple of e-ARCs on my Netgalley shelf still to read, so I’m hoping to get through those in August as well (or at least one of them!).

I’m ahead of my Goodreads Challenge goal so on track to meet my newly updated goal of 25 books and I have so many great books still planned to read for the rest of the year, and I’m really excited for all the books I got at YALC, so I think I have a great rest of 2016 in reading ahead!

How did everyone else’s July reading go? Let me know!

 

 

6 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR July Update

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews August 4, 2016 / 2:26 am

    Just got A Gathering of Shadows from the library and I can’t wait to read it!

  2. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas August 4, 2016 / 7:04 am

    Considering the TBR I need to get through before I go back to uni, and the writing goals I had for the summer, I didn’t read or write enough last month. A Gathering of Shadows is on my pile too. The question is whether or not I’ll get to it before September. If I don’t, it’s going to have to wait ’til Christmas…

    • iloveheartlandx August 4, 2016 / 1:51 pm

      Sometimes that happens, summer can be really busy! I hope you manage to get back on track with your goals this month. Oh I hope you do, I may need someone to fangirl with after I’m done!

Leave a Reply

