Top Ten Tuesday #64

image

Hi everyone! I’m back with a new Top Ten Tuesday post this week, Β courtesy of the lovely ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads, which is basically a new version of underrated books. So after looking at the ratings on Goodreads, I have picked out my 4 or 5 star reads that have under 2000 Ratings to share with you. I’ll order them in ascending order of number of ratings, not necessarily by which ones I liked the most. So here they are, the top ten (possibly more) books I’ve enjoyed that have under 2000 ratings on Goodreads:

 

  1. Heading Home-Katie Flynn-69 ratings (4 star rating from me)

I wasn’t expecting to like this one because it’s labelled under romance and I’m not a big fan of romance but it reads much more like a coming of age story and I ended up really enjoying it.

2. The Glory-Lauren St John-87 ratings (3.5 star rating from me)

I read and reviewed this one back in April and I really enjoyed it. It’s a story about two characters in a long distance endurance race across 4 states of America and I got swept away with the story and the characters and of course the horses!

3. Cross My Heart-Carmen Reid-233 ratings (5 star rating from me)

I absolutely loved this one! It’s all about the Belgian resistance to the Nazis in WWII and in addition to learning a lot about a part of WWII that I didn’t know about before, the plot was fast paced and extremely enjoyable and whilst yes, parts were sad, it wasn’t quite as distressing as some WWII novels I’ve previously read.

4. Every Second Counts-Sophie McKenzie-241 ratings (4 star rating from me)

This is the sequel to Split Second (which will feature later on this list) about a dystopian London which quite closely resembles our own London, but the economy is totally shot and people are really poor and people have no trust in the government. This book was really action packed and full of lots of twists, classic Sophie McKenzie.

5. Desolation-Derek Landy-347 ratings (3.5 star rating from me)

This is the sequel to Demon Road (and yes that will feature later on the list) and despite it suffering a little from middle book syndrome, I still really enjoyed it and thought it set up nicely for a hopefully exciting conclusion to the series.

6. Race The Wind-Lauren St John-465 ratings (5 star rating from me)

This is the sequel to One Dollar Horse (will also be featured later in the list) and I really enjoyed it, it was exciting and enjoyable and I found the mystery intriguing.

7. The Truth About Celia Frost-Paula Rawsthorne-647 ratings (5 star rating from me)

This was a well written, well paced mystery that kept me thoroughly engaged all the way through as I wanted to know what was up with Celia and her supposed blood condition and I loved the way that Celia grew in confidence throughout the book and it had some interesting twists and turns throughout.

8. Circus Shoes-Noel Streatfeild-652 ratings (4 star rating from me)

This is not my favourite Noel Streatfeild book (that honour goes to Ballet Shoes) but I still really enjoyed it, I loved the circus aspect of it and I liked seeing the two main characters Peter and Santa (yes strange name I know), grow in confidence and adapt to life outside of their sheltered London home that they had previously lived in. I swear this book made me wish I could be part of the circus when I was a kid.

9. Split Second-Sophie McKenzie-742 ratings (5 star rating from me)

As with the sequel to this book, this story was action packed, gripping and full of twists and turns with great main characters, Charlie and Nat, who you really root for.

10. The One Dollar Horse-Lauren St John-935 ratings (4 star from me)

I liked the sequel to this book more, but I really enjoyed this one, I liked seeing the relationship of Casey and Storm (her horse) develop and even though the idea of being able to get to Badminton after 2 years of training is pretty out there (being a horse rider myself I know this) it is still a very inspiring story for those who love horses and riding.

11. Flambards-KM Peyton-1,313 ratings (4 star from me)

I read this one when I was a young teenager and remember loving the coming of age story of Christina and her discovery of her love of horses with the backdrop of pre WWI England. I loved seeing her character develop over the course of the story, which takes place over a number of years preceding WWI. I also loved seeing her relationship with Will develop.

12. Blind Beauty-KM Peyton-1, 412 ratings (5 star rating from me)

This is one of my absolute favourite books, it’s such a heartwarming tale, I loved reading about the development of Tessa and seeing her relationship with her horse Buffoon blossom and I was rooting for her all the way through to achieve her dream of winning the Grand National. It’s one of those great books that shows you that anything is possible if you work hard enough.

13. Demon Road-Derek Landy-1, 704 (4 star rating from me)

I read this one two months ago and I really enjoyed it, the characters were great, the road trip aspect was great and I loved the whole demon aspect of the book. It was well paced, had good action scenes and an awesome scary car!

14. Red Leech-Andrew Lane-1, 976 (4 star rating from me)

I loved the American Civil War setting of this book and I liked seeing the development of Sherlock’s character and him showing some of the traits as a teenager that Conan Doyle’s Sherlock shows as an adult. It was a very engaging story and I found the mystery very exciting and the villains were very creepy, overall a really enjoyable book (and series!).

I went a little over this week, but there are lots of underrated books that I love! I really liked this topic, it’s nice to share underrated books and I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone else has on their lists and finding more underrated books to read. What books were on your lists this week? Have any of you read any of these? Let me know in the comments! Next’s week’s topic is Ten Facts About Me, which will probably end up being stuff that I’ve shared in award posts before, but hopefully I can think up some stuff that I haven’t shared on here before! In the meantime, I will hopefully have a Wishlist Wednesday post for you guys tomorrow and a new discussion post at some point later on it the week, so look out for those!

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #64

  1. lry93 July 5, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    I haven’t heard of any of these, but I am glad you liked them πŸ™‚

  2. Diana Prince Reviews July 5, 2016 / 7:02 pm

    Oh, I loved Ballet Shoes as a kid! I didn’t know Circus Shoes had such a low number of ratings. Great list for this week! Feel free to check out my TTT.

  3. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense July 5, 2016 / 7:08 pm

    I’ve never read a Noel Streatfeild book before, but I have heard of them. Maybe I’ll look them up for my niece, I’m sure she’d love them. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx July 5, 2016 / 7:30 pm

      They’re great and perfect for young girls, she definitely would love them. Thanks πŸ™‚

  4. lindseyhabets July 5, 2016 / 7:49 pm

    I hadn’t heard of these books before but will have to check them out! I love that we get to discover so many hidden gems this week πŸ™‚

  5. ChrissiReads July 5, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    I’m always happy to see Cross My Heart on people’s lists as I loved them!

    • iloveheartlandx July 5, 2016 / 9:03 pm

      Yeah, it’s been a great week for discovering new books!

  6. Erin Bowen (@erinld2005) July 5, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these! This is such a great topic this week. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx July 5, 2016 / 10:44 pm

      Glad to have introduced you to some new books! I think so too πŸ™‚

  7. Cindy Da Readaholic July 5, 2016 / 10:37 pm

    I’ve heard about a few of them, but haven’t read it. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx July 5, 2016 / 10:45 pm

      Oh you should, they’re all great! Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. Amy July 5, 2016 / 10:43 pm

    I finally got Demon Road and I’m really excited to start reading it! I haven’t read any of the other books either, but they look interesting, especially Red Leech.

    • iloveheartlandx July 5, 2016 / 10:46 pm

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Red Leech is great, it is however, the second book in a series, so you need to read the first book, Death Cloud first.

      • Amy July 5, 2016 / 10:54 pm

        Okay, thanks! πŸ™‚

  9. kaseygiard July 6, 2016 / 12:18 am

    Fun list! I also love Ballet Shoes. I think I really liked Theatre Shoes, too, but I can’t remember that I’ve read Circus Shoes! I have to check it out. (And add my rating on Goodreads…) My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx July 6, 2016 / 2:24 pm

      Thanks! Yeah me too, but I never read Theatre Shoes. You definitely should add your rating for Circus Shoes on Goodreads, if you’ve read it πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx July 6, 2016 / 2:24 pm

      Well I hope you enjoy that when you read it. You definitely should, there’s some great books on here πŸ™‚

  10. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) July 6, 2016 / 2:18 am

    These are all new to me, but Demon Road definitely sounds up my alley! Thanks for sharing these! πŸ˜€

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx July 6, 2016 / 2:25 pm

      You should check it out, it’s great! No problem πŸ™‚

  11. justanothercreativewriter July 6, 2016 / 3:10 am

    Demon’s Road and Desolation are on my TBR. I am quite surprised that they haven’t gotten more attention.

    • iloveheartlandx July 6, 2016 / 2:26 pm

      Hope you enjoy them! Me too, but they’re relatively recent so I’m sure they’ll get more once they’ve been out a bit longer.

  12. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews July 8, 2016 / 7:00 am

    I’m hoping to read Demon Road soon! It sounds really fun and interesting. I’m glad you enjoyed it 😊

  13. Broc's Bookcase (@BrocsBookcase) July 8, 2016 / 9:12 am

    I haven’t read any of these, but I really like the look of Split Second and Every Second Counts. May have to add them to my TBR πŸ™‚

  14. Petra July 9, 2016 / 11:48 am

    I haven’t read any of these, except Demon Road and Desolation. Both which I adored. Will definitely check some of these titles out, though. Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my TTT earlier. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx July 9, 2016 / 9:05 pm

      Glad you enjoyed those! You definitely should, they are great πŸ™‚ No problem!

Leave a Reply

