Thursday Quotables #38

Hey everyone! I’m back! I’m sorry I didn’t manage to get a post up for this last Thursday, but you know how it is, other things get in the way of blogging! But I’m here this week with another Thursday Quotables, which as you all probably know by now is the feature where I pick a theme and chose some great quotes which reflect that theme. I’ve decided to do an Inside Out theme for the next few weeks, so I’m going to pick quotes that reflect the emotions from that film. I’ve already done Fear (a while ago), so I’m going to do posts with quotes about Sadness, Joy, Disgust and Anger. We’re starting off with sadness this week since I always find that sad quotes are actually very beautiful! So here we are, my favourite quotes that are sad/about sadness:

  1. “You cannot protect yourself from sadness without protecting yourself from happiness.”  -Jonathan Safran Foer

This isn’t from a book, but I really liked this quote so I wanted to share it with you guys.

2. “I didn’t want to wake up. I was having a much better time asleep. And that’s really sad. It was almost like a reverse nightmare, like when you wake up from a nightmare you’re so relieved. I woke up into a nightmare.” -It’s Kind Of A Funny Story, Ned Vizzini

I haven’t read this book (seen the film) but this quote is just so sad, I really wanted to share it. It makes me feel even more sad that there are people out there who probably feel this way (and even worse when you know that the author himself committed suicide).

3. “The way sadness works is one of the strange riddles of the world. If you are stricken with a great sadness, you may feel as if you have been set aflame, not only because of the enormous pain, but also because your sadness may spread over your life, like smoke from an enormous fire. You might find it difficult to see anything but your own sadness, the way smoke can cover a landscape so that all anyone can see is black. You may find that if someone pours water all over you, you are damp and distracted, but not cured of your sadness, the way a fire department can douse a fire but never recover what has been burnt down.” -The Grim Grotto, Lemony Snicket

Given that one of the major themes in this series is fire and putting out fires and misery is also a major theme too, this quote is kind of a great summary of the series!

4. “I told myself that if I didn’t care, this wouldn’t have hurt so much – surely that proved I was alive and human and all those touchy-feely things, for once and for all. But that wasn’t a relief, not when I felt like a skyscraper with dynamite on every floor.” -Handle With Care, Jodi Picoult

I just love Jodi Picoult’s writing, it’s so beautiful.

5. “You really didn’t see the sadness or the longing unless you already knew it was there. But that was the trick, wasn’t it? Everyone had their disappointment and their baggage; only, some people carried it in their inside pockets and not on their backs.” -The Dream Thieves, Maggie Stiefvater

I love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing, it’s so beautiful and magical and whimsical.

6. “Is this what sadness is all about? Is it what comes over us when beautiful memories shatter in hindsight because the remembered happiness fed not just on actual circumstances but on a promise that was not kept?” -The Reader, Bernard Schlink

I have not read this book (another one where I’ve seen the movie, damn, it made me cry!) but this quote is beautiful.

7. “She was like a lone angel floating above the surface of the earth, laughing with delight because she could fly but crying out of loneliness.” -The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

It would not be a list of quotes about sadness without including at least one quote from this book!

8. “What made losing someone you loved bearable was not remembering but forgetting. Forgetting small things first… it’s amazing how much you could forget, and everything you forgot made that person less alive inside you until you could finally endure it. After more time passed you could let yourself remember, even want to remember. But even then what you felt those first days could return and remind you the grief was still there, like old barbed wire embedded in a tree’s heartwood.” -Serena, Ron Rash

I haven’t read this book (again seen the movie) but this quote nearly made me cry when I saw it, so I thought it was perfect to include in this list.

9. “How could she trust this man, so imprecise with his words, to take care of the burial? To say there had been a loss was ludicrous; one lost a shoe or a pair of keys. You did not suffer the death of a child and say there was a loss. There was a catastrophe. A devastation. A hell.” -The Pact, Jodi Picoult

I felt so bad for Mel at this point in the book, I can’t even imagine how horrible your child dying is.

That’s all I’ve got for this week! Hopefully I’ll have another one of these for you guys next week, but in the meantime, I’m planning on having another discussion post up in the next few days so stay tuned for that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

