Top Ten Tuesday #61

image

Hi everyone! I’m back with a new Top Ten Tuesday post for all of you this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Rest of 2016, so basically anything that’s released from June-December this year. I probably won’t read many (if any) of these this year because I have so many books piling up at home that I need to read already! So here we go, these are the books I’m most looking forward to being released in the second half of 2016:

  1. Paper and Fire (5th July)-Rachel Caine-I’ve been looking forward to reading this ever since I read Ink and Bone at the beginning of the year, I can’t wait to see what happens to all of the characters in the sequel!
  2. And I Darken (7th July)-Kiersten White-I preordered this because I was so excited! A female Vlad The Impaler? It sounds incredible!
  3. How To Hang A Witch (26th July)-Adriana Mather-I’ve never read anything about the Salem Witch Trials before and I love learning about new things plus the fact that it’s written by a descendant of Cotton Mather? That’s pretty awesome!
  4. Gemini (26th July)-Sonia Mukherjee-I’ve never read anything about conjoined twins and it’s not something I know very much about, so I’m excited to read this book because I want to learn something new.
  5. Harry Potter and The Cursed Child (31st July)-JK Rowling-Again, one I forgot when I was first making the list, though I can’t believe I did! A new Harry Potter book? Well okay it’s a script, but since I’m probably not going to be able to see the play, this is the next best thing!
  6. American Monsters (25th August)-Derek Landy-Okay, so I totally forgot about this when I first made the list, but there’s no rule saying you can’t add books you forgot later right? I just finished Desolation and I’m really excited to see how this trilogy concludes!
  7. Empire of Storms (6th September)-Sarah J Maas-I am equal parts nervous and excited about this book, excited because I love this world and these characters, but nervous because I didn’t like Queen of Shadows so much and this series is winding down now and I don’t want it to end with me having a bitter taste in my mouth about it. Hopefully QOS was just belated middle book syndrome and this one will be better!
  8. The Reader (13th September)-Traci Chee-I love books that have people who love books in them and it sounds like this will be one of those! Plus there is magic and pirates and assassins (so I’ve heard), which basically equals my perfect book!
  9. The Fever Code (27th September)-James Dashner-Another Maze Runner prequel! And this one actually has the characters from the trilogy in it! Hopefully we will finally get answers about how the Maze came to be!
  10. Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor (4th October)-Rick Riordan-I haven’t actually read the first book in this series yet, I’ll admit, but that doesn’t stop me from being excited for this one. Rick Riordan is one of my favourite authors and I will read whatever he puts out there!
  11. Small Great Things (11th October)-Jodi Picoult-It has been a long time since I’ve read a Jodi Picoult book (actually not since Leaving Time was published almost two years ago) and I can’t wait to read her newest book. I really love her courtroom dramas and whilst I have enjoyed her books getting away from that in recent years, I’m really looking forward to this book getting back to her roots and from the early reviews I’ve read, I’m really excited for it! Sounds like it’s going to be a good one!
  12. Timekeeper (1st November)-Tara Sim-This sounds really intriguing! It’s all about time and time travel and apparently there’s clock spirits involved? And there’s a gay relationship? And it’s in an alternate Victorian world? Okay so I don’t know much, but what I do know, I really like!
  13. Heartless (8th November)-Marissa Meyer-I may not have loved the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series, but this, an origin story of the Queen of Hearts? It sounds right up my alley!
  14. This Is Our Story (15th November)-Ashley Elston-This sounds like an exciting mystery thriller and I haven’t read a really great one since Dangerous Girls, so I’m really excited for this one! Sounds like another potentially great, twisted book.
  15. Of Fire And Stars (22nd November)-Audrey Coulthurst-Okay, this book has everything I could ever want, it has magic, princesses, and f/f romance where the main character falls in love with her fiance’s sister? I hope this book is as good as it sounds!
  16. Scythe (22nd November)-Neal Shusterman-Ahhh! New book from Neal Shusterman! I am totally flailing as I write this! This book, about a perfect world where people have to be gleaned (killed), and two teenagers who have to fight each other for the position of apprentice to the Grim Reaper! It sounds like it’s going to be totally awesome!

I know I went over ten but there are so many books that I’m excited for! 2016 has been a great year for new releases (of the ones that I’ve read I mean, I’ve focused more on backlist books this year than new releases). What books were on your list this week? Do we share any? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is meant to be Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year, but since I’ve been focusing mostly on backlist books this year, I’m going to do a different topic and talk about my Top Ten Favourite Books That I’ve Read Outside My Usual Genre (ie books that aren’t fantasy or dystopia). That’s next week but in the meantime, I will have a new Wishlist Wednesday post for you guys tomorrow.

151 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #61

  1. Riv Chiang June 16, 2016 / 12:57 pm

    Great list! Gemini sounds really interesting, I definitely need to keep an eye out for that!!

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 1:28 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it does, doesn’t it? You definitely should!

  2. Kate @ Mom's Radius June 16, 2016 / 3:34 pm

    Gemini almost made my post. It’s on my list, so I do hope to read it soon. I’m an identical twin, so I really love twin stories. Conjoined twins are even more interesting! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 7:12 pm

      Wow, that’s cool that you’re a twin! They are very interesting πŸ™‚

  3. Ashley June 16, 2016 / 3:44 pm

    When I went to California in March I was given an ARC of Gemini from a bookshop I went to, because the author is a local author to them and they wanted me to review it for my blog. Hopefully I will be reading it this month after my current read. I’ve never read a book about conjoined twins either, but it sounds like an interesting read. So many good books on your list and so many books releasing this year that I NEED! lol

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 7:11 pm

      Wow lucky! I hope you enjoy it, I’ll have to look out for your review. It really does sound very interesting. Thanks! I know same here! I am drowning in books!

  4. Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction June 16, 2016 / 4:46 pm

    I can’t believe I forgot Harry Potter! Gemini sounds really interesting too – I’m kind of fascinated by the idea of conjoined twins.

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 7:09 pm

      It’s alright, I did too at first! It does, doesn’t it? Me too, I don’t really know anything about it, so I’d be interested to learn.

  5. bookloversalliance June 16, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    I’m hoping that by the time September rolls around I’ll be caught up with the Throne of Glass series so that I can read Empire of Storms! So far I’m loving it but I haven’t gotten to Queen of Shadows yet so we shall see! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 7:08 pm

      You still have a few months, I’m sure you can do it! Hopefully you like QOS more than I did!

  6. Creatyvebooks June 16, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Wow such a great list. I see some books that I need to checkout and add to my list. Let’s hope my bank account will be kind to me πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 8:44 pm

      Thanks! That’s great, glad to have helped you find some new things! Let’s hope!

  7. Hannah Brown // SPW June 16, 2016 / 8:59 pm

    I didn’t even know Magnus Chase #2 was coming out this year! SO EXCITED EEEK! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 9:02 pm

      Yeah apparently so! I will have to get caught up with the first book by October! Thanks!

      • Hannah Brown // SPW June 16, 2016 / 9:16 pm

        I can’t wait! I really enjoyed the first book. I missed Percy but it was so awesome. The secondary characters were my favourite!

      • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2016 / 9:28 pm

        That’s great to hear! I hope I enjoy it as much πŸ™‚

  8. Eve L (Evilous) June 16, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    I love the list! We have several in common. I’m currently reading an ARC of And I Darken and so far I’m enjoying it!

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2016 / 9:19 am

      Thanks! Yeah we do πŸ™‚ That’s great to hear! You’re so lucky to have an ARC!

  9. Lois June 16, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    Scythe definitely sounds like an intense book. I’ll be sure to keep my eye out for that one. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2016 / 9:20 am

      It really does right? Hopefully we both enjoy it πŸ™‚

  10. Karen B (@KissinBlueKaren) June 16, 2016 / 10:47 pm

    This is an awesome list! You are right, we have a lot of the same books. Gemini is something I haven’t heard about, I am gonna go check that out.

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2016 / 9:22 am

      Thanks! Great minds clearly think alike πŸ™‚ Glad to have helped you find something new as well!

  11. Bonnie @ For the Love of Words June 17, 2016 / 4:12 am

    I’m so insanely excited about Empire of Storms I can barely stand it. lol And Heartless! And oh man, Scythe too. Excellent books still to look forward to!

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2016 / 9:18 am

      I know same here! Yeah, this year is filled with great books still to be released!

  12. Petra June 17, 2016 / 4:05 pm

    So many great books. I’m just dying to read Scythe, I love Neal Shusterman. I hope you enjoy all of these. Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my TTT earlier. πŸ™‚

  13. Amy @ Pages of Starlight June 17, 2016 / 5:02 pm

    I’d never even heard of Of Fire and Stars before, but it sounds really awesome. Definitely an add to my ‘Not-Yet-Released TBR’. Also, The Reader just missed my list. It sounds really great, though. Also, really looking forward to Paper and Fire – at least we’ve only got to wait until next month! – and Timepiece.

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2016 / 7:30 pm

      Great to have helped you find something new! It’s so hard to narrow down, what with all the great releases coming out in the next few months! Yeah, can’t wait for Paper and Fire, not long now! No problem πŸ™‚

  14. Rayna June 18, 2016 / 12:49 am

    How to Hang a Witch sounds interesting! I live in MA and I’ve never really read anything based around the Salem Witch Trials, either!
    I’m sooooo pumped for Empire of Storms! Ahhh!

    • iloveheartlandx June 19, 2016 / 12:06 pm

      It does right! It’s not something that seems to be written about much, which is a shame because I reckon it’s really interesting (not that I know much about it!). I know!!! Just over 2 months to go!

  15. Rissi June 18, 2016 / 2:17 am

    Hooray for the “And I Darken” shout-out! That one does sound really interesting. I almost added Sarah J. Maas’ new book, but then had to tell myself to skip that one since I’ve read NONE of the TOG (or any of Sarah’s books) series. Still, I get caught up in the excitement and anticipate it. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland this week!

    • iloveheartlandx June 19, 2016 / 12:07 pm

      It really does! Ha! You should definitely try her books, they’re really good! I can definitely understand getting caught up in the excitement, it seems like the whole blogosphere is talking about it. No problem πŸ™‚

  16. Zoey @ Uncreatively Zoey June 18, 2016 / 5:18 pm

    I had no idea what Scythe was before but TWO TEENS FIGHTING FOR THE POSITION OF APPRENTICE TO THE GRIM REAPER? OKAY. YES. NEED.

  17. blackbeakbooks June 25, 2016 / 9:59 pm

    Oh Gemini I’ve seen around and added to my TBR.How To Hang a Witch sounds so good, I never read a witchy book before and I need to get to one at least this year. And I think we are reading Heartless with my book club Bibliophile Academy in November. I hope it’ll be good!

    • iloveheartlandx June 25, 2016 / 10:40 pm

      Yeah it sounds good right? Oh I know, I can’t wait to read it! Oh hope you enjoy it.

  18. ZoΓ« (@readabilitea) June 26, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    I can’t wait for Empire of Storms either! I actually really enjoyed Queen of Shadows, I think it was my favourite book so far, hopefully Empire of Storms lives up to expectations! Thanks for leading me to your blog πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx June 26, 2016 / 7:17 pm

      Some people did, personally it wasn’t my favourite (though I still enjoyed it), I think it’s one of those books that isn’t for everyone. Let’s hope so! No problem πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

