Mid Year Check In

Hey everyone! As you may have guessed, this is a new feature for my blog and it’s going to become a regular one (hopefully).  Last year I didn’t have any bookish resolutions, but thanks to starting Top Ten Tuesday in April of last year, I made some bookish resolutions at the beginning of the year. Since it’s June now and we’re getting towards the mid-point of the year, I thought I’d do a check in as to how I’m getting on with the resolutions I made at the beginning of the year, a kind of mid year report if you will. So here we go, this is how I’ve done on my resolutions so far this year:

  1. Complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge

My goodreads challenge for the year is 20 books and so far this year I’ve read 10 and am halfway through my eleventh which is right where I should be at this point in the year, so I’m really happy about that. Here’s hoping that I keep doing as well for the rest of the year and that by the end I’ve completed the challenge I set for myself!

2. Start doing discussion posts

This one has been going really well for me! Since January I’ve done at least two discussion posts a month and some months even more than that and you guys seem to have been enjoying them so far, so thank you for the positive feedback! I’m really glad I decided to start doing them, because it turns out writing discussion posts, whilst being a lot of work, are also a lot of fun to do.

3. Complete the #RockMyTBR Challenge

I have to say this one’s gone really well for me too! I’ve read 6 books from the list so far, so that’s exactly where I should be at this point in the year (in fact, a little bit ahead because I read two books from the list in January!) and I’m confident that I should be able to read the other six books by the end of the year.

4. Stop buying so many books when I already have a ton of books on my shelves

Okay confession time. This one has gone horribly, horribly badly. It was probably wishful thinking on my part making this resolution at the beginning of the year. I’ve acquired more books than I’d care to admit so far this year and with YALC coming up in July, I highly doubt this is going to get better. It may be time to admit defeat on this one! I am a bookworm and my acquiring books faster than I can read them is one thing I don’t think is ever going to change!

5. Stop feeling bad when people read more books than I do

This is a hard one to measure, but I think I’m doing okay on it. I know that I’m feeling good about how much I’ve read this year and that’s what I’ve been trying to focus on!

6. Don’t feel bad that I can’t post every day

This is another hard one to objectively measure, but I think I’ve done alright on it, I’ve posted as much as I was able to whilst I’ve been at Uni and whilst I’ll probably always want to post more, I’m pretty pleased with how much I’ve done this year and I’m even happier that I’m now back from Uni and I can post a lot more, because I love blogging!

7. Keep up with connecting to other bloggers

I’ve been keeping up with Top Ten Tuesday this year, which has enabled me to keep connecting to lots of other bloggers, I also participated in Armchair BEA again this year, though I wasn’t able to take part in the Twitter chats as they were mostly at ridiculous times in the morning here! I have participated in other twitter chats though and gained new followers for my blog, so I’m pretty happy that I’m doing okay with this one!

8. Making a note of the blog posts that I read and enjoy

I now have a dedicated bookmark folder for blog posts that I enjoy reading which I use to help me with the section of my Quarterly Rewinds where I’m meant to talk about the blog posts that I’ve read and enjoyed over the past 3 months, so I’m happy that I’m doing reasonably well on this one.

9. To try and explore some books outside of the YA fantasy/dystopia genre

Haven’t exactly done brilliantly on this! In fact most of the books I’ve read this year have been fantasy/dystopia, although a lot of those books do fit into other genres as well! I’ve read a historical fiction book (Code Name Verity) and a contemporary (The Glory), so I suppose that’s something! I’m afraid the rest though have all either been dystopia or some form of fantasy or another! What can I say? Fantasy is my favourite genre, it’s hard to steer away from (and to be honest, I don’t really want to!).

10. To catch up on at least some of the 2015 releases I was really excited for, but never got around to

There was actually a Top Ten Tuesday topic about this, way back in January and out of my list of 10, I’ve read 5 of them so far this year, which I’m pretty happy with, considering that when I make TBR lists I usually only read about two or three of the books on there, so 5 is an accomplishment! Hopefully by the end of 2016, I’ll have read more 2015 releases I was excited for, both those that were on my TTT for that and those that weren’t!

So that’s how my year is shaping up so far! 8/10 resolutions going well, 1 resolution a little bit iffy and 1 resolution basically completely abandoned because it was totally unrealistic! Still for a girl that usually keeps no resolutions, 8/10 definitely kept ones is really good and I’m really pleased with how my bookish goals for this year have gone so far. How about you guys? Did you make bookish resolutions at the beginning of the year? If so, how are they going for you so far? Let me know in the comments!

I will have a new discussion post for you guys, my first one of June, either tomorrow or Sunday, so stay tuned for that!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mid Year Check In

  1. Serena June 3, 2016 / 9:51 pm

    Congratulations on the 8/10! That’s great for even just the halfway mark — most people don’t even get that far with resolutions. 🙂 And I totally understand the “feeling bad when other people read more books than I do.” I’m a pretty average speed reader, and I only read for about an hour each day, max, so that averages out to one book every two weeks. Except I’m drowning in Les Mis right now, which is taking months

    • iloveheartlandx June 4, 2016 / 8:52 pm

      Thanks! Yeah usually I’m one of those people who doesn’t get that far with resolutions! Yeah I’m about the same actually! Ooh brave to try something so long! Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

