#RockMyTBR May Update

Man these updates seem to come faster and faster each month! As you are all aware by now, if you are a regular reader of my blog, I’m taking part in the #RockMyTBR challenge this year, hosted by Sarah at The YA Book Traveller, where I read one book a month from a list I made at the beginning of the year of books that I own on my TBR which I’ve had lying around for ages! I’m still managing to keep up the pace of two books a month and I’m hoping that now I’m off for summer, I might even be able to do better than that! As I’ve been doing the last few months, I read one book from my list and another from my shelves that wasn’t on the list!

the raven kingThe Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater:

I started this on 30th April and finished it on 10th May. This wasn’t on my #RockMyTBR list but I had to read it as soon as I had finished my last book because a) I was so excited and b) I wanted to avoid the spoiler train! I was so nervous for this book because of the expectations I had built up in my head over the 18 month wait for it, but it was so worth it in the end! You can find my review of it here:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/10/the-raven-king-the-raven-cycle-4/

demon roadDemon Road by Derek Landy:

This was my #RockMyTBR book for May, which I read from 10th May to 26th May. I was incredibly nervous about reading this one because I love Derek Landy’s other series, Skulduggery Pleasant so much but I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Whilst it may not have been on the same level of brilliance as Skulduggery Pleasant, it was still really engaging and enjoyable! Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/26/demon-road-demon-road-1-review/

Coincidentally, I’m actually going to being seeing both of these authors when I go to YALC in July! I love both of their work and whilst I met Derek Landy at YALC last year, this is going to be my first time meeting Maggie Stiefvater, so I’m very excited for that! Anyway, that was a quick tangent, just because I got my tickets today (I’m going Saturday and Sunday this year, so you can expect two recaps just FYI) and I’m incredibly excited as you can tell!

But back to talking about the challenge, that was what I read in May, this is what I have coming up for June:

Desolation-Derek Landy-I’m actually over halfway through this one already, I only started it a few days ago, but I had a lot of reading time over the weekend! I was meaning to start the month with a challenge book, but I already had this, the sequel to Demon Road, so I just wanted to dive straight in after I finished that. It took me a while to get into it, but I am enjoying it at the moment.

Graceling-Kristin Cashore-I’m on a real fantasy/supernatural/paranormal high at the moment, so I wanted to continue the trend with Graceling! Plus it was one of the books I bought at YALC last year and *hangs head in shame* I actually haven’t read any of them yet, so I figure I should change that before I go this year. Plus it’s on my #RockMyTBR list, so I’ll kill two birds with one stone!

A Darker Shade of Magic-VE Schwab-This is perhaps a bit ambitious, but I thought because I’m already quite a way through Desolation, I’d put a third book on my list for this month! I like everything I’ve heard about this book so far, so I’m excited to dig into it!

My reading year just seems to be getting better and better! I haven’t felt bogged down by anything I’ve read this year in the same way that I was last year and the result is me being much happier with the quality of the books I’ve read and the quantity! I’m so excited to get lots of reading done this summer!

How did everyone else’s May reading go? Let me know!

 

 

2 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR May Update

  1. Olivia Ashryver June 1, 2016 / 9:19 pm

    Good luck with your reading goals this month & have fun at YALC! ๐Ÿ˜€ I read 7 books in May. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

