Gossip Girl Book Tag

Hey guys! It’s been a while since I’ve done a book tag post, I’ve been so busy with Uni, that I haven’t had the time to do as many posts as I would have liked to, but now that I’m back for summer, it’s the perfect chance! I saw this over on Zeezee with Book’s website and she tagged all fans of Gossip Girl to do it and I figured since Gossip Girl is one of my favourite shows, it would be a good tag for me to do. You can check out her post here:

https://zezeewithbooks.wordpress.com/2016/05/22/gossip-girl-book-tag/

So here we go with the tag:

Serena Van Der Woodsen: The “It” Book of YA fiction

twilightI’ll admit this now, I never have nor will I ever read Twilight. I like my vampires to be scary, not sparkly and I’m not big into vampire books anyway. Plus from what I’ve heard about this book, Bella and Edward is a classic example of an abusive relationship which I’m not at cool with. Still you can’t deny how big this book is in YA fiction, it’s one of the books that made it so popular, so I felt I had to include it for this one, even if it’s not to my personal taste.

Blair Waldorf: A book/character you love to hate

I actually like Blair, so I don’t entirely agree with the character chosen for this category, personally I love to hate Dan! But anyway, the character I picked for this is Jason Grace from Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus series. I find him seriously annoying!

Chuck Bass: A roller coaster ride of a book

dangerous girlsI breezed through this book, and I didn’t know where to turn the whole time, was Anna guilty, wasn’t she? What really happened to Elise? It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time and the ending is the like the part on the roller coaster when you come down from a massive drop!

I love Chuck Bass! Him and Blair are my favourites from the show. I reckon anyone who’s watched Gossip Girl and tells you they don’t have a crush on Chuck Bass is probably lying!

Nate Archibald: A book cover eye candy

the raven kingLet’s face it, all of Maggie Stiefvater’s books are book cover eye candy, but I think that this one is particularly eye catching!

Dan: A Book You Think Deserves More Love Than It Gets

Again, I think the category is wrong here, if anything I would have switched Dan and Blair around! He’s such a judgemental, self-righteous ass. And okay, all of the characters on the show were morally dubious but at least they admitted it. Dan always thought he had some kind of moral high ground and I hated that.

But anyway back to the category, the book I think deserves more love than it gets is Neal Shusterman’s Unwind. It’s such a brilliant book and yet I don’t think it’s as highly rated as it deserves to be! More people should read this book for sure!

image

Jenny Humphrey: A character who went through a drastic transformation, for better or worse

celaenaThe first character I thought of for this was Aelin Galathynius/Celaena Sardothien. Her character change between Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows was quite sudden and to be honest I didn’t like it too much. I’m all for her accepting her identity as Queen of Terrasen but in QOS she seemed to give up all the parts of her that were great as Celaena and I didn’t like that. She was Celaena for the best half of her life and I didn’t like that she acted like she wanted to forget everything she was when she was Celaena.

Vanessa Abrams: A book that doesn’t have a lasting impression

IMG_0165I DNF’ed this book, so naturally it didn’t really leave a lasting impression on me. I know people say it gets better if you get through the first bit, but the main character was so unbearable I couldn’t make it past the first fifty pages.

Rufus and Lily: An OTP that could have been

pureWhen I first started reading Pure, I assumed that Pressia and Partridge were going to be involved, they had the whole both names beginning with P thing going on, one was a pure, the other a wretch, it seemed like another star crossed lovers romance was in the cards. As it turned out however, they’re half brother and sister!

A villain who’s killing it with villainy

imageDivan, the black market organ harvester in this book, is a pretty creepy, but also pretty awesome villain.

Dorota: A favourite sidekick character

imageOkay so I’m cheating a little here by choosing two characters, but I can’t pick one favourite Weasley twin. Fred and George both made me laugh so hard! Damn JK Rowling for what she did to Fred!

Ivy Dickens: A Book You Always Mistake For Something Else

Panic_HC_JKT_des4.inddOkay I think the point of this one was to compare two books that you are always confusing, but I don’t exactly have any of those, so instead I chose a book that I mistakenly thought would be something else when I bought it. From the blurb, I thought Panic would be kind of like a contemporary Hunger Games, and it was contemporary all right but it was nothing like The Hunger Games.

Lola Rhodes: A book/character you wanted to like more than you actually do

imageI love Sarah J Maas and her other series Throne of Glass was one of my favourites, plus everyone was raving about this book before I read it, so I had high expectations, but I didn’t love this book as much as I wanted it to, most of it was kind of a drag for me and I wasn’t really convinced by the romance. Still, I have the second book in the series, hopefully, I’ll like that one better.

Prince Louis: A Prince Charming Turned A-Plus Jerk Character

I can’t actually think of anyone for this off the top of my head! I think that’s a good thing though, I clearly don’t read about too many jerks!

Who do I tag?

Like Zeezee, I tag anyone who loves Gossip Girl!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Gossip Girl Book Tag

  1. chapteradventures May 23, 2016 / 6:25 pm

    Unwind is actually on my TBR and I had forgotten about it! I’m glad to hear it’s actually good, I have to get to it at one point.
    Also, you’re right about Blair and Dan. He thought he was better than everyone else, blagh.

    • iloveheartlandx May 23, 2016 / 6:50 pm

      Glad to have reminded you! Yes it is great, you definitely should read it. Ugh, I know, I never understand people who like Dan!

  2. Zezee May 23, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    Totally agree with you about Dan. He was so annoying and full of himself though he thinks he isn’t.

Leave a Reply

