Top Ten Tuesday #54

image

Hey everyone! I have another Top Ten Tuesday for you all this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and Bookish. This week’s prompt was Top Ten Bookworm Delights, so I decided to do a slight twist on that and list the Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Bookworm. Sure I could have easily done a list about things that get me excited as a bookworm, but I liked the idea of listing the reasons why I love reading so I decided to do that. So here we have it, the top ten (possibly more) reasons why I love being a bookworm:

  1. You get to go on adventures without leaving the comfort of your own home-Sure, adventuring out in the real world is fun too and that’s why I love to travel, but travel is expensive and reading allows you to go on adventures without even leaving your house. Thanks to reading, I’ve been able to go on multitudes of adventures, to places both real and fantastical and I love it. It’s the best feeling in the world. You know the line about readers living a thousand different lives? Well it’s true.
  2. You learn about new things-This is a pretty obvious one, reading teaches you stuff. It’s impossible for me to count all of the things that I’ve learned from reading, from historical stuff to life lessons, the amount that you can learn from books is endless.
  3. It’s a great way to de-stress-Reading allows you to escape from your regular stressful life. Whenever work is getting me down, I read for an hour or so and it makes me feel much calmer, because it allows you to get away from your stress for a while and enjoy whatever adventure your book is taking you on this time.
  4. It opens up your imagination-I definitely feel that reading has made me a more creative person. Reading widens your imagination, because if an author is doing their job right then you should be able to imagine their story as vividly in your head as they once did in theirs.
  5. No one ever reads the same book in the same way-We all read books, sure, but the thing I love about books is that they can be so different to different people. Some people love certain books, some people hate them, we all read the same physical book, but to each person, the story inside that book can be something different and I think that’s incredible!
  6. You always have something to do-If I ever get bored and have nothing to do, I just pick up a book and I’m entertained for hours! If you’re a bookworm then you never have to worry about running out of things to do, because chances are you have a book pile the size of the leaning tower of Pisa!
  7. You have a community of people to fangirl with-This is more if you’re a blogger, than just simply a bookworm, but being a bookworm for me, lead to being a blogger and it means I have a community of other bookworms to fangirl with about books who understand and appreciate my nerdiness.
  8. You are never alone-People seem to think that being a bookworm means that we’re solitary introverts who never leave the house or communicate with other people. This is a completely untrue. I’m going to use a quote from Matilda here to illustrate my point.

    -β€œSo Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”

    Reading to me, ensures that I am never alone. Because while it might look like I’m just sitting there with my book, really, I’m experiencing the adventure alongside the characters and we get to see characters experiencing the same things as we do in real life and see that we are not alone, other people feel the same way we do (even if they are fictional characters).

  9. You get to experience other people’s perspectives-We only get to live our lives as ourselves, we never get to experience life from someone else’s perspective, but when we read, we get to read from different people’s perspectives and in a small way, it allows us to see what it would be like to be someone else.
  10. Reading is like falling in love over and over again-Okay, I’ll admit, I’ve never actually been in love with a real live human being (lots of fictional boyfriends but no real ones), but I imagine it’s the same way that I feel when I read something that I really love, that same kind of indescribable joy.
  11. Reading makes me feel alive-It allows you to go on adventures to far off places, places that only exist in your imagination, it allows you to time travel and go back in time to things you weren’t even alive for and there’s something about that which really makes me feel alive.
  12. It’s fun-Seems pretty obvious, but reading is fun. I wouldn’t do it if it wasn’t.
  13. It’s the closest thing to magic that we have-We might not be able to have real magic like the kind we all read about, but books can take you to fantasy worlds, times that have already passed, places you’ve never even imagined and that’s the closest thing to magic that we’re ever going to get.

I could go on, but I think that last one was a pretty great one to end on, so I’m going to stop here, otherwise I’ll be here writing this list all day! Why do you love reading and being bookworm? Do we share any? What was on your list this week? Let me know! Next week’s topic is Top Ten Childhood Characters I’d Like To Revisit but I’m going to do one of the suggested variations, Top Ten YA Characters I’d Like To Revisit In Ten Years. That’s next week, but in the meantime, I will have another discussion post, my second one of April for you on Saturday, so stay tuned for that.

90 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #54

  1. Brown Books and Green Tea April 26, 2016 / 3:45 pm

    My favorite part of being a bookworm is the constant reinforcement that I’m not alone in my own personal experiences. Conversely, there’s the idea that there are infinite people out there who write an infinite number of books. I love that. There’s always something else out there.

  2. lry93 April 26, 2016 / 4:37 pm

    Definitely agree with all of these πŸ™‚ a reader lives 1,000 lives πŸ™‚

  3. Amy April 26, 2016 / 5:43 pm

    Great list! A lot of these are the same reasons I love reading. πŸ˜€

  4. lindseyhabets April 26, 2016 / 5:49 pm

    YES to all these, great list! I also forgot about that Matilda quote, but it’s soo good πŸ™‚

  5. Barb B (boxermommyreads) April 26, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    I love your statement that it’s the closest thing to magic we have – I definitely agree. Thanks for sharing a well thought out and put together list and you are sooooo right on all of them!

  6. ChrissiReads April 26, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    Fantastic list. I love that quote from Matilda!

  7. Yulia K. April 26, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    I absolutely agree with everything you’ve said.Nice list πŸ™‚

  8. Greg April 26, 2016 / 7:52 pm

    These are all great. I love traveling to other worlds in a book, and #5 too. We all imagine a book differently, so it’s like having our own personal journey. Sounds corny but it’s true.

    And I always feel kinda sad when people say they’re bored but they don’t read. I can’y imagine not reading!

    • iloveheartlandx April 26, 2016 / 7:56 pm

      Thanks! Yeah that’s my favourite thing about reading and I find #5 particularly cool, that no two people will actually ever read the same story how awesome is that? People who say they don’t read make me very sad too!

  9. shelfwornbooks April 26, 2016 / 8:55 pm

    Great list! It is definitely the closest thing we have to magic – how rubbish would life be without it?

  10. Trisha Jenn Loehr April 27, 2016 / 4:11 am

    Yes to learning! So many people discount reading fiction because you aren’t learning something. I say, poppycock! Like you wrote, you learn so much about history and the way others have lived and do live. I love the random things I’ve learned by reading fiction. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx April 27, 2016 / 9:56 am

      I know right? People are like, what do you learn by reading fiction and I’m like, I’ve learned most things by reading fiction!

      • Trisha Jenn Loehr April 27, 2016 / 1:23 pm

        Totally! I listened in on a date that went sour because the guy straight up told the girl (a friend of mine who loves fiction and writes it) that he doesn’t read fiction because he wants to learn when he reads. He didn’t get a second date.

      • iloveheartlandx April 27, 2016 / 1:25 pm

        Yeah I can imagine he wouldn’t! What an idiot.

  11. Lauren @ Always Me April 27, 2016 / 4:24 am

    Brilliant list! I couldn’t have put it any better! πŸ™‚

    Check out my TTT.

  12. Diana April 27, 2016 / 5:21 am

    Great list, I love how you did your TTT. I agree with everything you listed. These are the reasons why I love being a bookworm too. I especially love the adventures. I have been to different parts of the world, met all kinds of people, even traveled back in time thanks to my books. Happy reading πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx April 27, 2016 / 9:58 am

      Thanks! Yeah me too, being a bookworm is the biggest adventure of all. Happy reading to you too.

  13. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas April 27, 2016 / 8:03 am

    I have neither the money to travel. I do, however, have the money to buy three books at once. πŸ˜‰

    • Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas April 27, 2016 / 8:05 am

      That should be “I do not have,” not “neither”. Sorry – I changed what I was going to say but didn’t change the sentence.

  14. rhodak April 27, 2016 / 10:33 am

    This is a great list! Personally, I love number 1. Ill health means I don’t get out of the house very often, yet I can pick up a book and travel the world! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx April 27, 2016 / 10:43 am

      Thank you! Exactly! Even when you can’t leave the house, you can still have adventures through reading πŸ™‚

  15. The Lovely Pages Reviews April 27, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    Aww yes to all of these! It is the closest thing to magic, such a great list and so on spot β™₯

  16. starryeyedjen29 April 27, 2016 / 1:32 pm

    Sooo true. You’re never truly alone if you have a book. πŸ™‚ Such magical things, aren’t they? Great list!

  17. Miss Mimz April 27, 2016 / 1:33 pm

    Awww β™₯ I love all of these^^ but I think my favorite is that: no one ever reads the same book in the same way. That is so true and speaks volumes to the magic that is reading *sigh* So happy making! Thanks for stopping by earlier too! xx

    • iloveheartlandx April 27, 2016 / 1:38 pm

      Thanks! Yup reading is definitely magic! No problem.

  18. Kate @ Mom's Radius April 27, 2016 / 3:48 pm

    Great list! Reading is relief and adventure and everything else you described. I agree that reading isn’t really a solitary activity. I love being in others’ heads and experience things along side the characters. Your list is so insightful!

  19. dreamingthroughliterature April 27, 2016 / 4:22 pm

    These are all perfect reasons to be a bookworm!

  20. Hannah @ The Inky Bumblebee April 27, 2016 / 7:11 pm

    #13 is such a lovely thought! It’d never occurred to me to think of books in that way, but you’re right – they are the closest thing to magic we have. Fab list!

  21. Rayna April 27, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    I agree that it’s definitely like falling in love over and over again. As someone who is married, I get this in a way because I still get giddy butterfly feelings when reading sometimes the same way I would if my husband did something sweet or romantic or whathaveyou.

    • iloveheartlandx April 27, 2016 / 9:07 pm

      I’ve definitely experienced that feeling when reading, still waiting for a person who makes me feel like that!

  22. kellyfbarr April 27, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    Great list! I agree with most of these. I have loved to read ever since I learned how. I am one of those people who is so obsessed with reading that I will read whatever I see that has words on it! πŸ™‚

  23. bookloversalliance April 27, 2016 / 11:53 pm

    Reading is my go-to for stress relief. Nothing helps you forget about your worries better than throwing yourself into a story! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx April 28, 2016 / 11:28 am

      Same here! Much more healthy than alcohol! Thanks.

  24. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense April 28, 2016 / 3:08 am

    I love that writing has a way of teaching you new things. It’s a fun hobby, but it also improved the mind (and the heart!). Great list!

  25. marineko April 28, 2016 / 7:32 am

    Great list! Love #2 and #8 especially – thanks to books, I am always learning, and never alone πŸ™‚

  26. Annemieke April 28, 2016 / 8:09 am

    I love how books can de-stress us. πŸ™‚

  27. rachelburden April 28, 2016 / 12:17 pm

    Aww I love your list! I found myself nodding to every single one. You are definitely not alone πŸ˜›

    I always tell the husband to read if he’s stressed, but he’d rather watch TV. I don’t find TV as therapeutic though because my brain is always still ticking through things. With a book, you can’t help but be completely immersed in the story, everything just disappears.

    Great list, Thanks for sharing, I think you put into words exactly how everyone else feels about reading πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx April 28, 2016 / 12:38 pm

      Thanks! Nah, you definitely can’t get as immersed in TV as you can in a book!

  28. Marianne April 28, 2016 / 12:52 pm

    What a lovely list of all the things we all love about being avid readers. I loved everyone of your points. And thank you so much for stopping by my TTT earlier.

    Marianne from
    Let’s Read

    http://momobookblog.blogspot.com/

  29. Ruthsic April 28, 2016 / 1:56 pm

    Oh this is a brilliant post. I agree to every reason -feel the same way about it all, particularly the destressing one. Reading for me is often escapism – to live another life for a few hours, when my own feels burdened with worries or anxiety.

  30. meyan April 28, 2016 / 5:14 pm

    This. THIS! Big thumbs up to everything you just said! I could totally relate to everything!

  31. AngelErin April 28, 2016 / 6:52 pm

    Wow great list!! You are so right no one ever reads the same book the same way. I’ve always thought that is so cool. Seriously, I love all of these on your list!

    • iloveheartlandx April 28, 2016 / 7:11 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I’ve always thought that was really cool as well.

  32. Adventures with a Book Nerd April 28, 2016 / 9:43 pm

    I love the first one! I agree with it 100%. It was actually one of the inspirations for the name of my blog. Great list!

    ~Anna @Adventures with a Book Nerd

  33. Alisha Webster April 28, 2016 / 11:07 pm

    #10! Every book is a new love πŸ™‚ Great post!

    Alisha @ The Bohemian Housewife

  34. thecalicobooks April 29, 2016 / 12:20 am

    Great post! I really enjoyed reading your twist on this week’s topic! πŸ™‚

  35. Rissi April 29, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    Adventuring without leaving the house!? YES! Although I do wish I read MORE armchair adventure books. I think the primary genres I read are “afraid” of travelling outside the safety of the U.S., but when they do, golly, it’s fun. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx April 29, 2016 / 11:13 pm

      Yeah it’s the best, right? I agree a lot of the books I read are afraid of venturing outside the US as well, but I do love it when I find books that do.

  36. typewriterink April 29, 2016 / 5:55 pm

    Ah, yes, the “Leaning Tower of Pisa” TBR pile. And often it’s literally leaning, and threatening to squash you beneath it’s impressive weight. I’ve got little piles of books around my room instead of one big pile because that one big pile was so wobbly it would tip over if I closed my door. I wouldn’t even have to slam the door, either; just shut it.

    I seriously need another bookshelf.

    Thanks for stopping by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter.

    • iloveheartlandx April 29, 2016 / 11:10 pm

      Yup, everyone’s familiar with that one! I tend to stick with smaller, scattered piles as well, much less dangerous! Oh me too! I have no space for it in my room, but I definitely could use one.

  37. Beth (Reading Every Night) April 29, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    Great list! I think going on adventures without leaving the comfort of my home and opening up my imagination are two of the main reasons I actually read πŸ˜€

  38. BringMyBooks October 17, 2016 / 7:06 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this list, and so so so many of them are things I can absolutely relate to!! Crazy belated reply to this post, but I’m going to share it in my October recap because I just love it that much! (I’m sitting here trying to figure out which one is my favorite and I honestly can’t – is it the one about the magic we experience as readers? the community we’ve found to fangirl over books in? the amount of things reading can teach us? the fact that we get to experience so much through the written word?? I just don’t know!)

    Thanks for a great post!

    • iloveheartlandx October 17, 2016 / 9:56 pm

      Awww thanks, that’s really sweet! I don’t mind the late reply, I love comments, no matter how much after the post is published they come! No problem πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

