Thursday Quotables #34

I know, I know, it’s been a while since I last did one of these, I just haven’t been feeling all that inspired to do one of these posts lately, but inspired by my favourite read of this year Rebel of The Sands and all the girl power in that book, I decided to do a post of quotes that I love about women. So here we go, some great quotes about women:

  1. “I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”  -Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte

Whilst I freely admit that I don’t like the book that this comes from and I got bored of it halfway through, I have to admit that this is a really inspiring quote.

2. “You educate a man; you educate a man. You educate a woman; you educate a generation.” -Brigham Young

I mean admittedly this guy was a polygamist with 56 children, so I’m not entirely sure if he’s the most reliable voice to speak about women, but I do like this quote.

3. “There are women who make things better… simply by showing up. There are women who make things happen. There are women who make their way. There are women who make a difference. And women who make us smile. There are women of wit and wisdom who- through strength and courage- make it through. There are women who change the world everyday… Women like you.” -Ashley Rice

I’m not sure where this is from, but I think it’s really beautiful and inspiring.

4. “Some women are meant to change the world, while others are meant to hold it together. And then there are those of us who simply don’t want to be in it, because we know no matter how much we struggle, we can’t comfortably fit.” -Second Glance, Jodi Picoult

If you’ve read this book then you will understand how truly sad this is. Poor Lia, she had such a difficult life.

5. “My father might not have held my hand or expressed his love openly, but he taught Callie and me that we had inherent values, that we were fully formed human beings without a boy by our side.” -The Book of Ivy, Amy Engel

I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiments expressed by this quote, it is very important to teach girls that they have values of their own and their worth is not defined by whether or not they have a guy.

That’s all I have for you guys this week! I did mean to get this up on Thursday, but ah well, turns out it’s going to be up on Friday instead! Anyway, I will actually have a new post for you guys tomorrow, my Winter Quarterly Rewind. So excited that spring is almost officially upon us.

4 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables #34

  1. AngelErin March 19, 2016 / 9:02 am

    Great quotes! I love the Jane Eyre one and it’s one of my favorite books.

    • iloveheartlandx March 19, 2016 / 12:57 pm

      Thanks! I may not have liked Jane Eyre, but I did like that quote.

Leave a Reply

