Top Ten Tuesday #48

image

Hey everyone! I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is pretty simple, Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR. I’ve never read all of the books on my seasonal TBR during the season that I plan to read them in, but of the books on my fall TBR, I’ve now read five even if I didn’t read most of them in fall, so I would count that as at least some success! Hopefully I will manage to finish at least some of these this Spring:

  1. Cinder-Marissa Meyer

I was recently sent this in a book exchange, so now I can finally start this series and find out what all the fuss about this book and series in the blogsphere is!

2. Code Name Verity-Elizabeth Wein

This is my #RockMyTBR Challenge book for April and it’s one that I’ve had on my shelf for a while, so it will be nice to finally get around to reading it!

3. Glass Sword-Victoria Aveyard

I bought the sequel to Red Queen just before I finished it as despite my lukewarm feelings towards the first book, I was interested enough to read the sequel, so I’m hoping that the sequel will improve upon the first book.

4. The Raven King-Maggie Stiefvater

This is one that I will have to read as soon as it comes out, a) because I’ve been waiting for it so long that I don’t want to wait any longer than I absolutely have to, to read it and b) because there is no way that I’m getting spoiled before I read it!

5. The Knife of Never Letting Go-Patrick Ness

I’ve had this one for a while too, it’s another of my #RockMyTBR books, this one is my May book, I’ve heard such good things about Patrick Ness’ work, so I’m hoping that this is as good as I’ve heard it is.

6. The Secret Fire-CJ Daugherty and Carina Rozenfeld

This book sounds so good, I’m really excited to read it!

7. Salt To The Sea-Ruta Sepetys

I loved the previous Sepetys book that I read, Between Shades of Grey, so I’m hoping that this one will be equally good.

8. Phoenix Rising-Bryony Pearce

The sequel to this book, Phoenix Burning has just been released, so hopefully I will read this one soon and then if I like it be able to read the sequel afterwards.

9. The Glory-Lauren St John

It’s been ages since I read a good horse book, so I’m looking forward to reading this one.

10. The Shadow Queen-CJ Redwine

I just got this one and it’s supposed to be like a retelling of Snow White I think, which sounds really cool, so I’m really excited to read it.

So that’s my ten for this week, does anyone else share any of the books on my spring TBR? What books were on your list this week? What books are you most excited to read this spring? Let me know! I will be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is Ten Books I Really Love But Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While, I feel like I’m usually pretty vocal about the books I love, but I know there are some that I talk about more than others, so this should be a fun topic to do. Anyway, that’s next week, but in the meantime, I should have a new review post up for you guys really soon as I’m almost done with my most recent read, so look out for that!

 

98 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #48

  1. czai March 15, 2016 / 12:27 pm

    I’m currently reading Salt to the Sea and I’m loving it! If I don’t really have anything important to do, I’ll definitely read it in one sitting! And I hope you enjoy Cinder! It’s one of my fave series! I’ll be reading the finale soon 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 12:28 pm

      Good to hear! I hope so too, I’ve heard such good things 🙂

  2. CJ Dawn March 15, 2016 / 12:48 pm

    I just finished Cinder and really enjoyed it, I hope you do too! I’m excited to continue the rest of that series now. And I really need to read the Red Queen, I’ve heard so many good things about it. Now that The Glass Sword is out it’s all I’m hearing about again. My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 12:50 pm

      Thanks, glad to hear you enjoyed it! I hope you enjoy Red Queen when you do read it.

  3. kaseygiard March 15, 2016 / 12:51 pm

    I’ve got The Raven King and Salt to the Sea on my TTT too! I loved Cinder and Code Name Verity. Definitely need to read Shadow Queen and The Knife of Never Letting Go, too!

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 12:52 pm

      Cool! That’s good to hear. Hope we both enjoy them!

  4. Holly March 15, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    I would say that I’m pumped to read The Raven King– but I still have to read Blue Lily, Lily Blue first!!! AHHH I’m so behind… I have a lot of reading to do this summer! Anyways, great list! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 1:40 pm

      At least you won’t have to suffer through the agonizingly long wait between the release of the two! Thanks!

  5. pennma05 March 15, 2016 / 2:07 pm

    Great choices on your list! I hope you love Cinder! I also had pretty lukewarm feelings about Red Queen but enough to keep me going to Glass Sword (which is on my list this week too). I picked up a copy of Salt to the Sea on my California trip and I’m really looking forward to reading that!

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 8:27 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too. I feel like I don’t mind if I’m not overly keen on a first book in a series if it’s good enough to make me want to read the second one. Ooh, I hope we both love it!

  6. Brown Books and Green Tea March 15, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    I’m not big on YA, but I read Cinder just to see what all the fuss was about. I enjoyed it, but I don’t know if it captivated me enough to buy the rest of the series. Hopefully you like it, too!

    My TTT: http://wp.me/p6AT1o-VR

  7. Alison Doherty March 15, 2016 / 2:19 pm

    Great list! Obviously v. excited for Raven King! And am working my way through Glass Sword right now.

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 8:25 pm

      Thanks! Obviously, the wait has been so long! Really, how are you liking it?

  8. Reviews In A Pinch March 15, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    I read Cinder and it was okay. I haven’t read the rest of the series, but I’ve heard great things about Scarlet. The Shadow Queen is actually on my list for this spring! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 8:25 pm

      Thanks! Glad that I’m not the only one who hasn’t read it yet! You still have a month to go so I’m sure you can do it! Thanks, Happy reading to you too.

      • Lauren - Wonderless Reviews March 16, 2016 / 1:50 am

        Haha, yes! It seems like absolutely everyone has read that book. Hopefully we’ll both enjoy it. Thank you!

      • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 10:03 am

        I know right! Let’s hope so. No problem.

  9. Lianne @ eclectictales.com March 15, 2016 / 4:10 pm

    Great list! I only got around to Cinder last year as I heard great things about it. Dunno when I’ll get around to the rest of the books in the series though, haha. Anyway, I hope you enjoy reading all of these titles in the coming months! 🙂

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 7:08 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I have no idea either, I have so many books to read, it might be a while after I read the first book before I read the sequel.

  10. AngelErin March 15, 2016 / 5:43 pm

    Great list! I love Cinder and the whole lunar chronicle series. I hope you love it too. I honestly didn’t care for Code Name Verity, but I seem to be in the minority there so hopefully you will like it! 😀

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 7:15 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too. Ah, sad to hear you didn’t like it, I hope I like it better!

  11. Jen @ BookLoversAlliance March 15, 2016 / 7:13 pm

    I loved Salt to the Sea! I haven’t read Between Shades of Grey though, but if its half as good as Salt to the Sea it’ll be great! Cinder is also still on my TBR. I have so many series I need to catch up on it’s getting out of control 🙂

    My TTT 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 7:16 pm

      That’s great to hear! Oh me too and I keep starting new ones, I’m going to be overwhelmed with series soon!

  12. lindseyhabets March 15, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    Great list! I was hesitant to start the Lunar Chronicles at first and Cinder pleasantly surprised me but didn’t wow me either. But then as of Scarlet I fell in love with the series and I started binge reading the rest of the books. So I would definitely recommend it 🙂 The Shadow Queen is also on my TBR, though not necessarily for spring 🙂
    My TTT: http://www.lindseyh.be/2016/03/15/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-on-my-spring-tbr/

    • iloveheartlandx March 15, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      Thanks! That’s good to hear, I like it when the second book in a series is better than the first, it shows good momentum. Yeah, I probably won’t actually get to it in Spring, but I needed more books to fill my list 🙂

  13. Angie March 15, 2016 / 9:21 pm

    I just finished binging all of The Lunar Chronicles. They are a lot of fun, I hope you like them.

    CODE NAME VERITY WILL DESTROY YOUR SOUL IN THE BEST POSSIBLE WAY.

    I was originally planning to read The Raven King when it hit my Kindle at midnight but I’m dumb & scheduled a doctors appointment for 9 a.m. that day so I guess I’ll be reading it after that. Definitely will be deleting the Twitter & Goodreads apps off my phone until I’m done though.

    I’m really excited for The Shadow Queen. I love me a fairytale retelling.

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 10:06 am

      Thanks, I hope so too.That’s good to hear. Oh no! Yeah definitely, there is no way that I’m getting spoiled for it. Yeah me too!

  14. Jess (@LilBookHeaven) March 15, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    I just recently bought Red Queen and I am excited to start that one soon. I am excited that it is a series. Great picks and thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  15. Tracy March 15, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    I love your list. I’ve been wanting to read just about everything on your list. Love it! Thanks for stopping by at My TTT

  16. Kate @ Midnight Book Girl March 16, 2016 / 1:46 am

    Oh, I really want to read Salt to Sea! I loved her Out of the Easy book, and this just looks so good!

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 10:03 am

      Me too! I haven’t read Out of The Easy, but I agree that this one looks so good.

  17. Brandi @ Brandi Janee's Bookshelf March 16, 2016 / 4:08 am

    You have quite a few books by authors that I’ve been wanting to read. Good luck on your spring reading.

  18. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books March 16, 2016 / 6:15 am

    I’m with you on The Raven King. It’s a total MUST READ as soon as it’s out!! Also I hope you read Cinder. It was a pleasant surprise for me bc I don’t usually read dystopians with cyborgs and such. But it definitely lived up to the hype 🙂 Great list… hope you get to read most of these!

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 10:02 am

      Oh definitely! Cinder is going to be my next read. I like dystopians but I’ve never read anything with cyborgs in it before, so I’m intrigued about that. It certainly sounds different from other stuff that I’ve read. That’s good to hear! Thank you!

  19. Angel (@angel_reads) March 16, 2016 / 9:10 am

    Salt to the Sea is beautiful – I read it for review and gosh it broke me. Yes! read Cinder, the series is soo good. I think you will enjoy it.

    Thanks for the post.

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 9:48 am

      That’s so good to hear! Well Cinder is my next read, so I’ll let you know how I enjoy it! No problem.

  20. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas March 16, 2016 / 9:39 am

    I am buying The Raven King the day it comes out and reading it the same day. I don’t care if that means I’m up until 6am finishing an essay, or forced to live on rice for the next four weeks, I NEED to read that book. XD

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 9:47 am

      Same here! It has been such a long wait for it, I don’t want to wait any longer than I absolutely have to!

  21. Kirstie Ellen March 16, 2016 / 3:55 pm

    I hope you enjoy The Shadow Queen!! I really did 🙂 Code Name Verity has been on my shelf for ages too – I’ve barely seen any negativity about that book so I’m excited to get around to reading that soon as well!

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 4:15 pm

      That’s good to hear. Thanks, I hope so too. Let’s hope we both enjoy it!

  22. Christina March 16, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    Ooh, I LOVED Code Name Verity! It starts off a bit slow but soon becomes utterly compelling! And good point about TRK spoilers…I’ll make a mental note to avoid social media for a few days after its release!

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 5:16 pm

      Good to hear! Yeah you can tell with such a highly anticipated release spoilers will abound! Definitely a good idea to avoid social media for a bit after it has been released.

  23. alicerosesimmons March 16, 2016 / 5:34 pm

    Great list! Code Name Verity is also my Spring TBR as its been sitting on my shelf for so long now that I just need to get round to reading it. Cinder is also one that I am tempted to pick up just for the amount of hype it gets – everyone seems to love this series!
    Hope you enjoy all of these and heres my TTT

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 5:36 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, same here, I’ve had it for over a year now, it’s definitely time to read it. Everyone does, I’m curious to see how I enjoy it.

  24. therebelliousreader March 16, 2016 / 5:42 pm

    I really hope you enjoy Cinder and Salt to the Sea. Those two are really good. I need to start to start the Red Queen series eventually just to see what all the hype is about. Awesome list!

  25. Hannah Moore March 16, 2016 / 5:55 pm

    Yes yes to The Raven King! Some of these are on my TBR- it’s soooo hard to get through it!

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 6:56 pm

      So excited for it! Oh I know right, the minute I seem to be making headway with my TBR, it just grows bigger!

  26. Eve L (Evilous) March 16, 2016 / 6:06 pm

    I recently finished the Lunar Chronicles and LOVED them! I hope you enjoy Cinder! I need to read Glass Sword and The Shadow Queen soon as well but am stoked to re-read and finish the Raven Cycle! Good luck and happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 7:02 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too. If I had time to reread Blue Lily, Lily Blue before The Raven King’s release then I would, but I have so many new books that I need to read! Happy reading to you too.

  27. sparklingbooks March 16, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    I’m super excited for the Shadow queen 🙂 Thanks for stopping by on my post!

  28. Silent Seasons March 16, 2016 / 8:12 pm

    I’ve read Sword Glass can’t say my opinion of the series changed that much.. I also wasn’t a fan of the first book.. hope you enjoy it though! the other books I’ve read from your list are Cinder & The Knife of Never Letting Go.. Thanks for your comment on my blog 🙂

  29. A Stranger's Guide to Novels March 16, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    Salt to the Sea is definitely a book that I am keeping my eye on as everyone seems to be loving it!
    The Knife of Letting Go is on my general TBR- it sounds so interesting and it’s by Patrick Ness and I love his writing!
    Great list 😉

    • iloveheartlandx March 16, 2016 / 11:06 pm

      Yeah so I’ve seen. I’m hoping I’ll love it just as much! It does sound great, I’ve heard so much about Patrick Ness and how good his books are, so I’m excited to get into it. Thanks!

  30. Kelly March 17, 2016 / 1:47 am

    The Raven King is on my list too, and I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of Cinder, too, now that you’re getting the chance to read it!

    • iloveheartlandx March 17, 2016 / 10:42 am

      Seems like The Raven King has been on nearly everyone’s lists (not that I’m surprised!). Well I’m starting Cinder today hopefully, so I should have a review of it up on the blog by the end of March, that’s the plan anyway!

  31. Mallory @ The Local Muse March 17, 2016 / 3:46 pm

    So glad to see Code Name Verity on your list! Both Code Name and Rose Under Fire are absolutely amazing! Hope you enjoy reading these.
    Thanks for stopping by The Local Muse

  32. Emma @ Emma Likes Books March 17, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    I’m hoping to catch up on some books that I’ve been meaning to read for a while now. I hope you can get to Cinder soon. I’ve only read the first two in that series, but that one is my favorite so far.

    • iloveheartlandx March 17, 2016 / 7:45 pm

      Yeah me too! Cinder is going to be my next read. That’s good to hear!

  33. Kathy March 17, 2016 / 8:38 pm

    Cinder and Red Queen have been on my TBR list for SO long, now. Eventually I’ll get to them because everyone is raving about how much I need to read Cinder and the entire Lunar Chronicles series. I also have Salt to the Sea and thought it would be my next read after it released, but it got bumped back like so many others. I think your list could be my TBR, too. 😉

    • iloveheartlandx March 18, 2016 / 3:45 am

      Cinder has been on my list for ages, it’s definitely time for me to read. Oh, I know, every single blogger out there seems to love it, so I hope it will be the same for me. Oh I know the feeling! Really? You have good taste 🙂

  34. Cameran March 17, 2016 / 10:28 pm

    I may or may not have squawked a little when I saw that you haven’t read Cinder yet! It is such a wonderful series, you are in for such a treat being able to experience it all for the first time! Code Name Verity is also excellent; the payoff at the end of the book as everything is revealed…

    • iloveheartlandx March 18, 2016 / 3:47 am

      It’s my next read, I’ll be starting it later today! I’m glad I’m starting it after the whole series has been released, so I don’t have to wait so long to read the others! That’s good to hear.

  35. rlhendrian March 18, 2016 / 3:41 pm

    I really enjoyed Cinder 🙂 It’s a lot of fun.

    I also have Glass Sword sitting on my physical TBR pile and Code Name Verity (I almost had them on my list), and I’m currently reading Salt to the Sea (good so far!).

    Anyhow, these are some great picks – good luck getting to them all!

    -R @ Wordsmithing and Worldbuilding/rlhendrian.com

    • iloveheartlandx March 18, 2016 / 4:20 pm

      That’s good to hear. Hope you enjoy all of them! Thanks!

  36. The Girl in Boots March 19, 2016 / 6:40 am

    The Lunar Chronicles is amazing! Even if you don’t like Cinder, continue with the series. It gets better each time! 🙂

  37. Jamie @ Vailia's Page Turner March 19, 2016 / 6:59 am

    Salt to the Sea! Oh this would have been on mine except I don’t have it, my library doesn’t have it and I am dead broke right now. Oh, but I LOVE her books! Cinder was a really fun read as well. I hope your spring is filled with amazing reads!

    • iloveheartlandx March 19, 2016 / 12:56 pm

      Oh that’s a shame! Hope you manage to get it soon. Me too (well the one I’ve read anyway). That’s good to hear. Thanks, I hope yours is too.

  38. rhodak March 19, 2016 / 2:47 pm

    You’ve got some great books on there. I hope you enjoy The Lunar Chronicles. I was worried it wouldn’t live up to the hype but it totally did for me. Happy reading.

  39. Bookenstein March 22, 2016 / 1:55 am

    This is such a great list! Quite a few of these are in one of my many TBR piles. I’ve been staring at The Knife of Never Letting Go for about a month now. I love Ness’ writing style, but I just haven’t been in the right “mood” for it. Also, The Raven King! I don’t think I’ve been waiting as long as you have since I just started the series in January, but I’m excited to see how this all plays out (of course, this means I should actually work on finishing Blue Lily, Lily Blue sometime soon).

    • iloveheartlandx March 22, 2016 / 10:23 am

      Thanks! Yeah I get that, sometimes you just have to be in a particular mood for certain books. Yeah I read it last January, so I’ve been waiting over a year now, but it’s not as bad as those who read BLLB back when it first came out in 2014! Yeah you probably should, the release date’s getting close now!

  40. Michele | Just a Lil Lost March 24, 2016 / 12:59 am

    Ooh I hope you enjoy Cinder! I’ve only read the first two of the series, and meaning to get to the rest of it!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 1:02 am

      Thanks! It’s okay so far, I’m thinking it will get better though. Yeah I probably won’t get to the rest of the series for a while after this one, so many books, not enough time! Hope you enjoy the other two! No problem.

      • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 1:04 am

        Good to hear, not that the first one’s bad, but I like it when series get progressively better!

  41. Tracy March 24, 2016 / 3:16 pm

    Awesome list! Code Name Verity is amazing and I also can’t wait to read Salt to the Sea. Thanks for stopping by at My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx March 24, 2016 / 7:20 pm

      Thanks! Glad to hear it. Hope we both enjoy Salt To The Sea.

Leave a Reply

