#RockMyTBR January Update

I can’t believe it’s the end of January already! It seemed to go way too fast which is unusual for January because it normally drags! If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that one of the challenges I’m doing this year is the #RockMyTBR Challenge, where I will attempt to shrink my massive TBR just a little! My aim is to read at least one book per month from my list over the next year and I’m pleased to say that things are going well so far, I have read 2 books from the list (not counting Queen of Shadows which I did end up finishing in December 2015!). This is what I’ve read this January:

Allegiant_DemiJacket_WetProofTest.inddAllegiant by Veronica Roth:

I started this one at the end of December and finished it a few days into January. I’m not going to lie, I didn’t love this one, but it’s a relief to finally have finished it after having had it sitting on my shelf for almost two years! Plus now I don’t have to worry about not having read it when the movie comes out. You can check out my review of it here:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/09/allegiant-divergent-trilogy-3/

ink and boneInk and Bone by Rachel Caine:

This is the book I spent the majority of January reading and I enjoyed it so much! Diverse characters who love books? An evil library? Romance that doesn’t take over the book? An intricately built world in Alexandria? Call me impressed! You can check out my review here:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/27/ink-and-bone-the-great-library-1-review/

So that’s what I’ve read this January but what’s coming up in February?

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard-Have started this one recently, having a little trouble getting into it, but hopefully that will change soon.

That’s the only one from my #RockMyTBR list I’m planning to read in February, as I just preordered Rebel of The Sands and am hoping to read that in February as well. I know, I know, I’m not meant to be buying too many books this year, but I’m really excited for that one so I just had to get it!

I’m pretty proud of my reading so far this year and hoping that this trend of two books a month continues! How are you all doing with your 2016 reading goals so far? Let me know!

6 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR January Update

  1. Ali @ Arctic Books January 31, 2016 / 2:51 pm

    Ooh wow! Great reading month! I’ve heard really good things about Ink and Bone, so I’m quite excited to read that one. I actually read 10 books this month, which is my personal best since I’ve started blogging! I made my Goodreads challenge 50 books but I’m thinking of changing it. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx January 31, 2016 / 3:09 pm

      Thanks! Yeah Ink and Bone is amazing, hope you love it as much as I did! Wow, 10 books is amazing! I wish I could read that much, I just don’t have the time! Yeah if you can read 10 books in a month you can definitely manage more than 50 in a year!

      • Ali @ Arctic Books January 31, 2016 / 3:20 pm

        I had a lot of time during winter break and the snow days I had to read, which was really nice. Happy reading! 🙂

  2. Greg Hill January 31, 2016 / 11:57 pm

    I so need to read Allegiant before the movie comes out, I’ve read the first two but just haven’t got around to Allegiant yet. You’re doing good on your challenge so far! Ink and Bone looks good too, such an interesting idea.

    January did fly by, I thought this month would but it’s almost February already. Yay! I’m ready for spring. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx February 1, 2016 / 12:26 pm

      The movie doesn’t come out till March, so you still have a few months left! Thanks! Ink and Bone is amazing, you should definitely try it. Yeah it really did, which is unusual for January, it normally feels so long! Oh me too! I go to University in Scotland and it’s so cold up here during the winter, so I’m definitely ready for some warmer weather!

Leave a Reply

