Top Ten Tuesday #36

image

As Christmas is on Friday (that’s three days people!), this week’s Top Ten Tuesday has a Christmassy theme, and the topic is Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year. Funnily enough, I actually rarely ask for books for Christmas, which I know seems strange for a booklover, but there are so many books on my TBR that it’s kind of hard to narrow it  down to just a few specific books that I’d like and I don’t just want to tell people to get me a book because there are very few people (that I know personally, people who read this blog actually probably know my reading taste pretty well by now), who would know my reading taste well enough to get something I’d really like, so it’s easier just to spend the money I get for Christmas on the books I want instead! Still these are the books I would like for Santa to leave under my tree (otherwise known as the books I will probably buy in the New Year, because even though I’m trying to just read books I currently own next year, I’m sure I will end up buying more):

  1. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken-I’ve been meaning to get started on this trilogy for months now! If I get the time in 2016, I would definitely like to get started on this. I certainly wouldn’t complain if I found it under the tree!
  2. Miss Mabel’s School For Girls by Katie Cross-This is a book I’ve featured in my Wishlist Wednesday posts this year, so if it ended up under the Christmas tree, then I would be very happy!
  3. The Secret Fire by CJ Daugherty and Carina Razenfeld-This book was the topic of the last Wishlist Wednesday post I did and it sounds incredible, so I would love it if I got this Christmas.
  4. A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab-I’ve seen such great reviews of this book and it sounds so wonderful, but I haven’t got the chance to read it yet. If Santa were to bring this for me for Christmas I would be very happy!
  5. The Book of Ivy-Amy Engel-I actually found out about this because I used a quote from it for Thursday Quotables one week, I read the synopsis and thought it actually sounded pretty great, so I would love it if Santa brought me this for Christmas.
  6. Scarlet-AC Gaughen-A Robin Hood retelling, where Will Scarlet is a girl? Give me, give me now! Please Santa?
  7. The Girl on The Train-Paula Hawkins-I’ve heard such great things about this and I really want to see what all the fuss is about and whether it actually lives up to all the hype. This book would be a welcome gift from Santa.
  8. Dreamstrider-Lindsay Smith-This book sounds absolutely brilliant and I would definitely love it if Santa brought it for me this year.
  9. Off The Page-Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer-It has been a while since I last read a Jodi Picoult book and I really enjoyed the first book, Between The Lines, so I would love it if Santa dropped the companion novel off under my tree.
  10. Every Breath-Ellie Marney-I love the sound of this Sherlock retelling, so I would be very happy if Santa brought it for me this Christmas.
  11. Cinder-Marissa Meyer-I’ve been told many times how brilliant the Lunar Chronicles is, so you never know, if Santa dropped this book under my tree, I might actually get around to starting it!

There are probably many more books that I could add to this list, but most of the books I’m looking forward to are 2016 releases, and I’m not sure Santa can make them release any faster (though if you can Santa, could I ask that you by some magic make The Raven King’s release come sooner? The wait is killing me!). What books would you like Santa to leave under your tree? Any of the same ones as me? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with the last Top Ten Tuesday topic of 2015, my Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half Of 2016, which should be a pretty easy list to do, since there are some great new releases coming out next year. In the meantime however, I should have a new Wishlist Wednesday post for you all tomorrow so make sure to check that out.

 

49 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #36

  1. reesiereads December 22, 2015 / 10:45 pm

    Hope you receive at least one of these from Santa! I think I will be adding Girl on the Train to my 2016 plan.

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 11:18 am

      Thanks! That’s good to hear, it does sound amazing, I’m really excited for when I finally get to it. Yeah, they both sound great, so I’m excited for both of them.

  2. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum December 23, 2015 / 3:26 am

    A great list of books for Santa! Though I’m the same way, I hardly ever ask for books for Christmas – so much depends on personal taste! Easier to just get gift cards and use the money/credit on books later on. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 11:17 am

      Thanks! Yeah, I totally agree, much easier to be given money/gift cards and choose the books yourself than asking for books and then facing being given something you don’t like!

  3. Ashley December 23, 2015 / 2:21 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read The Darkest Minds for years now and never got around to it! I am definitely going to read it in 2016!
    I was finally able to get A Darker Shade of Magic this year at a reasonable price. It’s usually so expensive, I can’t wait to read it!
    I just read Cinder last month and really enjoyed it. I haven’t really been enjoying the rest of the series as much as everyone else did. Too much hype and it’s not living up to it for me, sadly. 😦 I hope you enjoy it more!

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 2:26 pm

      Yeah me too! Let’s hope we both get to it in 2016. Let me know what you think of ADSOM since you will probably get to it before I do. Oh really? That’s a shame. I hope I enjoy the Lunar Chronicles more than you did too.

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 3:30 pm

      That’s good to hear! Thank you, I hope I manage to get to them too. I hope we both enjoy Scarlet!

  4. Thechroniclesofabookworm December 23, 2015 / 4:35 pm

    The Lunar Chronicles is amazing, I’ve only read Scarlet and Cinder and I honestly cannot wait to read Cress, which hopefully should be arriving soon! I WANT THE BOOK OF IVY AND THE DARKEST MINDS TOO! oh and A darker shade of magic! so many books to buy ahhh!

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 4:54 pm

      That’s good to hear! I’ve heard such great things about the series, so I’m really excited to start it. Yeah, they both sound fantastic don’t they? And A Darker Shade of Magic sounds brilliant too. I know! I’m trying to get through the ones I currently own before buying more, but I just know I’m going to fail miserably!

      • Thechroniclesofabookworm December 23, 2015 / 6:43 pm

        I know exactly how you feel, I haven’t read half the books on my shelf and I can’t stop myself buying more!

      • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 6:46 pm

        Yeah, it’s a big problem! I don’t even have enough space on my shelves for the books I buy, but that still doesn’t stop me buying more.

      • Thechroniclesofabookworm December 23, 2015 / 7:18 pm

        exactly! I feel the same! I used to have a 3 shelf bookshelf but all my books were overflowing and I had to keep some in a box under my bed and then I finally bought a 6 shelf bookshelf and theres only little space left!

      • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 7:27 pm

        I have three bookshelves at home which I’ve completely run out of space on, so all my new books have to be stacked and I only have one shelf for books at Uni, so I’ve had to start stacking books there too. It’s a real problem!

      • Thechroniclesofabookworm December 23, 2015 / 7:51 pm

        I wish I had that many shelves, I only have one big one but I’m pretty sure I’ll be needing a new one soon!

      • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 8:03 pm

        Book lovers can always use more shelf space!

  5. The Blog of a Book and Tea Addict December 23, 2015 / 8:51 pm

    The darkest minds is SO GOOD! I hope you read and love it. So are ADSOM and Cinder! All 3 of those are some of my favorite books, actually. I hope you receive some of them for Christmas!

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 8:52 pm

      I hope so too! It sounds exactly like the type of book I would usually love, so I have high hopes. ADSOM and Cinder both sound great too. I never usually get actual books for Christmas, but I do get money and the money I get will definitely be going towards some of these books!

  6. Angelized1st December 23, 2015 / 9:32 pm

    You have some really good books listed. Hopefully you’ll get enough Christmas cash to buy them all 🙂 I’ve had The Darkest Minds for forever it seems, and really plan to read it this winter. I’ve also been dying to read VE Schwab’s books. I hear they’re really great. Happy Holidays!

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 9:38 pm

      Thanks! I probably won’t but I should get enough to buy at least some of them, which is good enough for me! Yeah me too, it was on my summer TBR but I still haven’t get around to it yet. Yeah, I’ve heard good things about her books too, so I’m excited to try it. Thank you, and to you too.

  7. Obikitty December 23, 2015 / 9:46 pm

    I hope you get your wishlist this Christmas! Cinder is amazing, the whole Lunar Chronicles really, so I especially hope you get that, lol.

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 9:50 pm

      Thanks! That’s good to hear. I’ve heard such good things about it so I hope it’s as good as everyone says it is.

  8. Kirstie Ellen December 23, 2015 / 10:07 pm

    Great llist – I hope you manage to get some of these soon! I read The Girl on the Train this year and was pleasantly surprised that it lived up to the hype 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx December 23, 2015 / 10:12 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too. Really? That’s good to hear. I’m slightly nervous to read it because everyone was talking about it for a while and I’m worried I won’t like it as much, so it’s definitely good to hear you say that!

  9. Sarah December 23, 2015 / 11:06 pm

    I keep hearing a lot of really good things about The Darkest Minds, I think I might have to add it to my own TBR… Same goes for Cinder.
    Every Breath is fantastic and I’d definitely recommend it. It’s not a super strict retelling, which I thought worked well.
    Hope you receive some of these for Christmas, or get to read them at some point, at least!

    • iloveheartlandx December 24, 2015 / 9:17 am

      So do I! It’s been on my TBR for absolutely ages and I still haven’t got it yet and the same thing with Cinder. That’s great to hear! Every Breath does sound fantastic and I love Sherlock, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. Thank you! I plan to get some of these with my Christmas money, so I will definitely get to read at least some of them at some point!

  10. Nisha Rao December 24, 2015 / 1:15 am

    Cinder is a wonderful book, as well as A Darker Shade of Magic. I hope you get these soon!

    • iloveheartlandx December 24, 2015 / 9:15 am

      That’s great to hear! Thank you, I hope I get these soon too 🙂

  11. bookstacksamber December 24, 2015 / 2:45 am

    ADSOM, The Book of Ivy, and Cinder are all great! Hope you receive some of the books on your list 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx December 24, 2015 / 9:15 am

      That’s good to hear! I usually buy books with money I get for Christmas so there’s a good chance that some of these will be making their way onto my bookshelves 🙂

  12. Gwendolyn December 24, 2015 / 2:52 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love connecting with new to me bloggers! I have to say of all the books you want Santa to bring you I really hope he brings you Cinder. That series is as you have heard – amazing! I’ve read all of them including Fairest. Tomorrow my review of Winter goes up on my blog. Hopefully once you get your hands on a copy you’ll love it as much as the rest of us do. Merry Christmas!

    • iloveheartlandx December 24, 2015 / 9:11 am

      No problem! I love connecting with new bloggers too! Usually Santa doesn’t bring me books, but he does bring me money to buy books later, so Cinder will probably be one of those. I’ve heard so much good stuff about that series that I really have to read it and hopefully I will love it as much as everyone else seems to.

  13. Shon @ Tangled 'N' Books December 24, 2015 / 3:41 am

    Ohh I like your list! I should have put The Darkest Minds on my list too! Thanks for visiting our blog!

    • iloveheartlandx December 24, 2015 / 9:07 am

      Thanks! Yeah, The Darkest Minds sounds great doesn’t it? No problem!

  14. Jen December 26, 2015 / 5:52 am

    I LOVED The Darkest Minds! Here’s hoping you got that series so you can read that soon! It’s a crazy, fun, dark and twisted world. And we had two of the same books – The Book of Ivy and Scarlet. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx December 26, 2015 / 11:11 am

      Great to hear! I actually didn’t get any books for Christmas, but I did get some money, so I will definitely be buying some of these for myself (and Darkest Minds will probably be one!). Oh yeah, Book of Ivy and Scarlet both sound great, hope you got those for Christmas!

      • Jen December 27, 2015 / 4:47 pm

        I am in the same boat as you – I didn’t get any books but I was gifted gift cards which makes me just as happy! I already bought the Book of Ivy and Scarlet, now I just have to find time to read them. Happy reading!

      • iloveheartlandx December 27, 2015 / 10:06 pm

        Yeah, I got money which I am going to spend on books. Got four books already from Waterstones today, not sure when I’m going to read them either! Thanks.

  15. The Girl in Boots December 26, 2015 / 7:32 am

    OH My God, you should definitely try out The Lunar Chronicles. Its so AMAZING!!

    • iloveheartlandx December 26, 2015 / 11:11 am

      I will definitely try to get around to it this year!

  16. Cynthia @ Bingeing On Books December 26, 2015 / 12:53 pm

    I have read The Girl on the Train and it is amazing. And The Lunar Chronicles is my FAVORITE SERIES EVER!!! I hope you get the books that you want. Merry Christmas!

    • iloveheartlandx December 26, 2015 / 5:17 pm

      That’s good to hear! Yeah, lots of people seem to share that opinion, so I’m excited to start it. I actually didn’t get any books for Christmas, but I was expecting that, I did get some money though, so I shall be buying some of the books I want with that!

  17. coloursaur December 26, 2015 / 5:58 pm

    I’ve seen Scarlet on the shelf at work, and I always assumed it was a retelling of Red Riding Hood – I’m much more inclined to pick it up knowing that it’s about Robin Hood. I hope you had a brilliant Christmas! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx December 26, 2015 / 6:23 pm

      Yeah from the name it does seem more like a retelling of Red Riding Hood than Robin Hood doesn’t it? Yeah, Robin Hood is far more exciting than Red Riding Hood! I did, thank you and I hope you had a brilliant Christmas too.

  18. Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf January 5, 2016 / 6:32 pm

    The Lunar Chronicles are so fantastic! I’m sure you hear too much about how good they are 🙂 I got them for Christmas and started Winter! Thanks for stopping by my post before Christmas–I’m sorry I’m late returning the visit! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx January 5, 2016 / 6:33 pm

      I do I hear it very frequently! It makes me more excited to read them though 🙂 No problem, thanks for stopping by mine now!

Leave a Reply

