Thursday Quotables #30

I know, I know, this post is late, but I wouldn’t be me if didn’t give you at least one late post per week! For this week’s Thursday Quotables, I’ve decided on a theme of grief, which I realise isn’t the most cheery, but I sometimes find that the less cheery themes are easier to find beautiful quotes for! So here are my favourite quotes about grief:

  1. “In times of grief and sorrow I will hold you and rock you and take your grief and make it my own. When you cry I cry and when you hurt I hurt. And together we will try to hold back the floods to tears and despair and make it through the potholed street of life”  -The Notebook, Nicholas Sparks

I guess this quote is kind of cheesy, but I thought it was really pretty too, even though I am not likely to ever read any of Nicholas Sparks, since all of his books are totally romance central and that’s not my type of book at all!

2. “You care so much you feel as though you will bleed to death with the pain of it.” -Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix, JK Rowling

I know I’ve used this one before, but it’s a really pretty quote, so I don’t care, I have to use it again!

3. “My sister will die over and over again for the rest of my life. Grief is forever. It doesn’t go away; it becomes a part of you, step for step, breath for breath. I will never stop grieving Bailey because I will never stop loving her. That’s just how it is. Grief and love are conjoined, you don’t get one without the other. All I can do is love her, and love the world, emulate her by living with daring and spirit and joy.”  -The Sky Is Everywhere, Jandy Nelson

I’ve actually never read this book, but I thought this was a really beautiful quote so I just had to share it here!

4. “There should be a statute of limitation on grief. A rulebook that says it is all right to wake up crying, but only for a month. That after 42 days you will no longer turn with your heart racing, certain you have heard her call out your name. That there will be no fine imposed if you feel the need to clean out her desk; take down her artwork from the refrigerator; turn over a school portrait as you pass – if only because it cuts you fresh again to see it. That it’s okay to measure the time she has been gone, the way we once measured her birthdays.”  -My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult

This book…..I don’t cry at books, never have, but the ending of this book brought me pretty darn close! This quote is just like the book, equally beautiful and heartbreaking.

5. “Words are like nets – we hope they’ll cover what we mean, but we know they can’t possibly hold that much joy, or grief, or wonder.” -Change of Heart, Jodi Picoult

This is actually one of the few Jodi Picoult books that I haven’t read, but I found it on Goodreads and thought it was really beautiful, so I wanted to share it.

6. “Grief is like sinking, like being buried. I am in water the tawny color of kicked-up dirt. Every breath is full of choking. There is nothing to hold on to, no sides, no way to claw myself up. There is nothing to do but let go.

Let go. Feel the weight all around you, feel the squeezing of your lungs, the slow, low pressure. Let yourself go deeper. There is nothing but bottom. There is nothing but the taste of metal, and the echoes of old things, and days that look like darkness.”  -Pandemonium, Lauren Oliver

I’ve never read this book either, but man I saw this quote and I thought it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read, so I just had to include it here.

7. “See, as much as you want to hold on to the bitter sore memory that someone has left this world, you are still in it. And the very act of living is a tide: at first it seems to make no difference at all, and then one day you look down and see how much pain has eroded.” -My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult

This is one of my favourite quotes from this book and it fitted the theme, so I just had to share it this week.

8. “Grief is a curious thing, when it happens unexpectedly. It is a Band-aid being ripped away, taking the top layer off a family. And the underbelly of a household is never pretty, ours no exception.” -My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult

Can you tell that this is one of my favourite books yet? Is it too obvious? I’m not even sorry for including three quotes from this book! This quote is another of my favourites, simple, yet beautiful!

9. ‘Better not give in to it. It takes ten times as long to put yourself together as it does to fall apart.’ -Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins

1 week people! 1 week until Part 2 is going to be out in cinemas! It is going to make me cry. Fact.

10. “What made losing someone you loved bearable was not remembering but forgetting. Forgetting small things first… it’s amazing how much you could forget, and everything you forgot made that person less alive inside you until you could finally endure it. After more time passed you could let yourself remember, even want to remember. But even then what you felt those first days could return and remind you the grief was still there, like old barbed wire embedded in a tree’s heartwood.” -Serena, Ron Rash

I haven’t read this book, only seen the movie (I know cardinal book lover sin, but to be honest, I only watched the movie because Jennifer Lawrence was in it, though it did turn out to be a pretty good movie) but I saw this quote on Goodreads and I really liked it so I wanted to share it.

11. “There are all sorts of losses people suffer- from the small to the large. You can lose your car keys, your glasses, your virginity. You can lose your head, you can lose your heart, you can lose your mind. You can relinquish your home to move into assisted living, or have a child move overseas, or see a spouse vanish into dementia. Loss is more than just death, and grief is the gray shape-shifter of emotion.” -The Storyteller, Jodi Picoult

This is yet another heartbreaker of a book and this quote in my opinion is one of the book’s most beautiful.

12. “How could she trust this man, so imprecise with his words, to take care of the burial? To say there had been a loss was ludicrous; one lost a shoe or a pair of keys. You did not suffer the death of a child and say there was a loss. There was a catastrophe. A devastation. A hell.” -The Pact, Jodi Picoult

This is another book which is difficult to read without crying but it’s one of my personal favourites and this quote fitted the theme, so I wanted to include it.

13. “I learned that even when we’re going through our darkest winter, spring is waiting to appear.” -Glass Girl, Laura Anderson Kurk

I haven’t read this book either but I saw this quote and I thought it was really lovely so I wanted to share it.

14. “I don’t dare touch her. Loss is a knowledge I’m sorry to have. Perhaps the only thing worse than experiencing it, is watching it replay anew in someone else–all the awful stages picking up like a chorus that has to be sung.” -Sever, Lauren DeStefano

I found this quote on Goodreads and thought it was really beautiful so I wanted to include it in this list.

That’s all I have for this week, I will be back next week with another Thursday Quotables post and the theme will be The Hunger Games, in honour of the release of Mockingjay Part 2 and in the meantime, I will have a new Friday Favourites post for you very soon!

2 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables #30

  1. girlinbookland December 3, 2015 / 4:06 pm

    Tge Jandy Nelson one is my favorite. I lost my Nanny (grandmother) this year, and it makes me think of her.

Leave a Reply

