Wishlist Wednesday #29

I am so, so, so sorry! I know I have been completely terrible at updating this blog this week, I was at home for reading week, but I’ve had an insanely busy week, what with going to see my friend in Southampton on Wednesday, going to my aunt and uncle’s house on Thursday and then heading back to Uni on Friday! I swear, I do try to get these posts done on time for you guys but sometimes life gets in the way and I can’t help that! Anyway for this week’s (well technically last week’s now!) Wishlist Wednesday, is a book that I’ve had on my Wishlist for a while, I added it when I saw it on someone else’s Top Ten Tuesday list and I thought it sounded awesome, so added it to my TBR, but of course, with so many books on there I haven’t got around to it yet! Still, I hope to, one day! The book is Pretending To Be Erica.

pretending to be ericaWe Were Liars meets Heist Society in a riveting debut!

Seventeen-year-old Violet’s entire life has revolved around one thing: becoming Erica Silverman, an heiress kidnapped at age five and never seen again.

Violet’s father, the best con man in Las Vegas, has a plan, chilling in its very specific precision. Violet shares a blood type with Erica; soon, thanks to surgery and blackmail, she has the same face, body, and DNA. She knows every detail of the Silvermans’ lives, as well as the PTSD she will have to fake around them. And then, when the time is right, she “reappears”—Erica Silverman, brought home by some kind of miracle.

But she is also Violet, and she has a job: Stay long enough to steal the Silverman Painting, an Old Master legendary in the Vegas crime world. Walking a razor’s edge, calculating every decision, not sure sometimes who she is or what she is doing it for, Violet is an unforgettable heroine, and Pretending to be Erica is a killer debut.

Now I’ve never read We Were Liars, but I have read and loved the Heist Society books, so that comparison alone gives me hope for this book. The premise sounds so intriguing, a girl who literally becomes someone else in order to pull of a con, what is not cool about that? I get the feeling that maybe Violet suffers from some kind of split personality disorder where she actually ends up thinking that she really is Erica, but I could be wrong! I’d also love to see how the con is pulled off, going back to the Heist Society comparison here, the cons are always done brilliantly well and I never actually work out how they did it, until it’s explained, so I hope that’s the same here. Basically this book sounds really interesting and I can’t wait to get around to it (eventually!).

I will be trying to catch up on all of the posts I missed last week, today, so expect a huge influx of posts today!

Leave a Reply

