Friday Favourites #26

For this week’s Friday Favourites, I’ve decided to focus on one of my favourite fictional characters, although I have not actually read the original fairytale that she is featured in, only the Disney movie! The character I have chosen to focus on is my favourite Disney princess Belle.

belleIt’s probably pretty obvious why I love Belle, given what a huge bookworm she is, she was the one Disney princess that I could really relate to as a kid because I could see myself in her, she loves to read, she longs for adventure, she isn’t specifically looking for a guy to make her happy and she falls for the Beast and sees the kind hearted prince beneath the ugly exterior, rather than the vain, narcissistic Gaston. She has a kind, caring heart, shown by the fact that she loves her father enough to switch places with him and become the Beast’s captive. I loved that she was independent and feisty and brave, all things I love to see in female heroines and traits that I myself aspire to have. She’s refreshingly different from the other Disney princesses, not longing to find her true love, merely longing for knowledge and adventure. Added to that, she’s definitely the most feminist of Disney’s princesses, which as a fellow feminist, I love to see. She knows who she is and she’s not ashamed of it, she knows what she wants and she doesn’t need a man to save her, she’s not the typical damsel in distress type of princess. As far as fictional role models go, Belle is definitely one of mine and I think she’s a great example to young girls.

I will be back with another Friday Favourites post next week (hopefully actually on Friday this time!) but in the meantime, I will have my latest Sidekick Showcase Saturday post for you all as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

