Wishlist Wednesday #26

I meant to have this done yesterday, but I went out in the evening and then completely forgot that I hadn’t done this post! Anyway, as usual, I’d like to thank everyone for their lovely comments on my Top Ten Tuesday post this week, I’m still working my way through everyone’s posts (as usual!) but from those of seen so far, people have come up with some great lists this week. Second of all, I’m back with another Wishlist Wednesday post, this week, I have chosen to focus on a book I added to my TBR a while ago, that book is Scarlet, from the Scarlet trilogy.

ScarletUS.inddWill Scarlet is good at two things: stealing from the rich and keeping secrets – skills that are in high demand in Robin Hood’s band of thieves, who protect the people of Nottingham from the evil sheriff. Scarlet’s biggest secret of all is one only Robin and his men know…that she is posing as a thief; that the slip of a boy who is fast with sharp knives is really a girl.

The terrible events in her past that led Scarlet to hide her real identity are in danger of being exposed when the thief taker Lord Gisbourne arrives in town to rid Nottingham of the Hood and his men once and for all. As Gisbourne closes in a put innocent lives at risk, Scarlet must decide how much the people of Nottingham mean to her, especially John Little, a flirtatious fellow outlaw, and Robin, whose quick smiles have the rare power to unsettle her. There is real honor among these thieves and so much more – making this a fight worth dying for.

I read a review of this series, that said these books were really good and I have to admit the idea of a Robin Hood retelling intrigued me. On my Top Ten Tuesday back at the beginning of August, when we did the topic of fairytale retellings, I said I’d like to read a retelling of Robin Hood, where Robin was a girl. Admittedly, this isn’t quite the same, but I’d still like to see how having a girl in the group would change the dynamic of Robin Hood’s band of thieves. From what I’ve heard about this book, Scarlet is a feisty, awesome character, so I hope that what I’ve heard is true and she really is a kick ass female character, because sometimes, you get told that and the character is actually a real whiner (see #10 on my Top Ten Tuesday post this week). It sounds like an interesting book anway, so I’m interested to see whether I like it or not.

I will have another Wishlist Wednesday for you next week but in the meantime, I will hopefully get my Thursday Quotables post up as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

