Sidekick Showcase Saturday #25

For this week’s Sidekick Showcase, I’m going to focus on another Percy Jackson character, as I haven’t done that for a while and Percy Jackson does have a great supporting cast. The character that I have chosen to focus on this week is Rachel Elizabeth Dare.

Rachel_Elizabeth_DareRachel didn’t really make much of an impression on me in the first book, she wasn’t in it for very long, although I will admit I was intrigued by the fact that she could see through the mist and wanted to learn more about her. I grew to like her more in the fourth book where we got to see more of her personality, she’s this bold, loud mouthed, witty girl, who talks at a mile a minute and she’s very clever. The part where she throws her blue plastic hairbrush at Luke/Kronos, is one of my favourite moments of the series, it’s hilarious. I love that she’s very passionate about things, like her art and saving the environment. I also like that she’s blunt and honest and says what she thinks. I didn’t even mind her crush on Percy, because it was clear that she knew that Annabeth liked him (and that he liked Annabeth) and she didn’t try to get between them. She’s not just a fun, loud mouthed, outgoing girl, she’s willing to take on serious responsibility, like helping out the group through Daedalus’s labryinth and taking on the responsibility of being the Oracle. All in all, she’s a pretty awesome girl!

I will have another one of these for you next week, but in the meantime, I still have a couple more posts to catch up on tonight, so make sure you check them out!

Leave a Reply

