Friday Favourites #24

For this week’s Friday Favourites post, I decided to focus on another one of my favourite authors, I started reading his books five years ago and he is the creator of one of my favourite fictional characters ever, Percy Jackson. The author I’m going to be talking about this week is Rick Riordan.

rick riordanRick Riordan is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of many books, including Percy Jackson, the Kane Chronicles, Heroes of Olympus and Magnus Chase.

I love both the Percy Jackson series and the Heroes of Olympus series, the original series maybe slightly more than the Heroes of Olympus series, but like the Skulduggery Pleasant books, I’ve spent most of my teenage years reading these series, so they really mean a lot to me. I’ve always loved Greek mythology and reading the Percy Jackson series has only strengthened that love. I love the way he skillfully combines mythology with the modern world and the wonderful sense of humour that runs through all of his books, plus he created Percy who is my favourite male fictional character ever. His stories are so much fun and I’ve found that his writing style has a really addictive quality, once I start reading one of his books, I find it really hard to put the book down! He created characters in both the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series that I became very connected to and I’m sure that this is a series that will always mean a lot to me. I’m torn as to whether I want to read his new series or not, because whilst I love his writing, I don’t have the same connection to Norse mythology as I do to Greek mythology (I’ve always loved Greek mythology and visiting Greece has been a dream of mine for a very long time) and I won’t have the same connection to the characters as with the Percy Jackson series characters and I’m kind of nervous that this new series won’t live up to the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus books. I suppose I will decide once I’ve read some reviews of the first book in his new Norse series! He will definitely always be one of my favourite authors though!

I will be back with another Friday Favourites post next week, but in the meantime, I will have a new Sidekick Showcase Saturday post for you soon.

2 thoughts on “Friday Favourites #24

  1. Baggins September 27, 2015 / 5:43 am

    You have some great features here! Such fun! ๐Ÿ˜€ I really have to read more Rick Riordan. I’ve only read the first Percy Jackson book so far and I did really enjoy it. I don’t doubt I’m missing out not reading the rest. Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 27, 2015 / 11:00 am

      Thanks! Yes, you definitely should read the rest of the series! No problem.

Leave a Reply

