Thursday Quotables #24

For this week’s Thursday Quotables, I decided that I would choose a theme of forgiveness, as it seemed like a nice theme to do and I thought I might be able to find some lovely quotes about it. So here we are, these are my favourite quotes about forgiveness:

  1. “Dumbledore says people find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right.”  -Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince, JK Rowling

I like this quote because it’s simple and truthful, we do find it a lot easier to forgive people for being wrong than for being right.

2. “What was the point of being able to forgive, when deep down, you both had to admit you’d never forget?” -The Tenth Circle, Jodi Picoult

I haven’t read this book, one of the few Jodi Picoult books I haven’t read, but I thought this quote was really beautiful.

3. “The English judged a person so that they’d be justified in casting her out. The Amish judged a person so that they’d be justified in welcoming her back. Where I’m from, if someone is accused of sinning, it’s not so that others can place blame. It’s so that the person can make amends and move on.” -Plain Truth, Jodi Picoult

I chose this quote because the Amish are all about forgiveness so it seemed fitting for this week’s topic and I like it because the Amish way of judging people seems far kinder than our way.

4. “Forgiveness means letting go of the hope for a better past. You won’t be able to forgive yourself for not doing things differently until you stop wishing things were different” -Love On A Spring Morning, Zoe York

I have never read this book, but I thought this quote was really beautiful and insightful, so I wanted to include it here.

5. “But remember that forgiveness, too, is a power. To beg for it is a power, and to withhold or bestow it is a power, perhaps the greatest.” -The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood

Another book that I have never read, but I found this quote on Goodreads and I thought it was really beautiful and inspirational so I had to include it.

6. “I guess we’ll never know exactly what … the reasons behind the losses we experience in this life. But being angry doesn’t make them any less devastating. It only robs us of the happiness and love we can experience. Only forgiveness can set us free.” -A Heart So Broken, Christene Houston

I haven’t read this book either, but I found this quote and really loved it, it’s such a beautiful quote that I wanted to share it.

7. “When someone wrongs you, you both share the burden of that wrongdoing – the pain of it weighs on both of you. Forgiveness, then, means choosing to bear the full weight all by yourself.” -Allegiant, Veronica Roth

I’m hoping to read this, this autumn as it is on my autumn TBR (whether I will or not, is yet to be seen). I found this quote on Goodreads and thought that it was really beautiful.

8. “You need to understand something. Forgiveness isn’t an emotion. It’s an action, and it’s a choice.” -Unforgiven, Elizabeth Finn

I haven’t read this book either, but I really liked this simple definition of forgiveness.

9. “What I’ve learned over the years is that people shouldn’t be defined by a single mistake. Everyone messes up,” she said. “You have to forgive yourself and move on” -Beauty Awakened, Gena Sholwater

Another book that I haven’t read, but as with the previous quote, I love the beautiful simplicity of this quote.

10. “But I was learning forgiveness didn’t have to be about granting absolution for sins but being able to find freedom from pain.” -Falling For Autumn, Heather Topham Wood

I have not read this book, but I thought this quote was lovely, a beautiful way to look at forgiveness.

11. “Peace is such hard work. Harder than war. It takes way more effort to forgive than to kill.” -The Bitter Kingdom, Rae Carson

I included this one, although I haven’t read the book because the truth of it makes me sad, that it is easier for us to kill people than to forgive them, that it takes more effort to forgive someone that it does to kill them.

12. “But if you seek forgiveness, doesn’t that automatically mean you cannot be a monster? By definition, doesn’t that desperation make you human again?” -The Storyteller, Jodi Picoult

I had to include a quote from this book this week, given that the theme of the week is forgiveness and one of the major themes of this book is forgiveness.

That’s all I have for you this week, but I will be back next week with another Thursday Quotables post for you all and in the meantime, I will have a new Friday Favourites post up later today, so make sure to check that out!

Leave a Reply

