Wishlist Wednesday #24

As I always do, I’d like to start this post by thanking everyone for their lovely comments on my most recent Top Ten Tuesday post. I am still working my way through people’s posts, but from those I’ve read so far it seems like everyone has a great autumn of reading ahead of them! For this week’s Wishlist Wednesday, I’ve chosen an older book, which for whatever reason I didn’t read when I was younger, even though it sounds like exactly my kind of book. I hope I will get around to it soon as my sister owns this book, so I’ll just borrow it off her, when I’ve worked my way through my current TBR pile.

inkheartTwelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can “read” fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.

Characters from books literally leap off the page in this engrossing fantasy. Meggie has had her father to herself since her mother went away when she was young. Mo taught her to read when she was five, and the two share a mutual love of books. He can “read” characters out of books. When she was three, he read aloud from a book called Inkheart and released characters into the real world. At the same time, Meggie’s mother disappeared into the story. This “story within a story” will delight not just fantasy fans, but all readers who like an exciting plot with larger-than-life characters.

This story sounds like so much fun! I love the idea of characters coming to life from a book, I mean how many of us haven’t wished we could meet our favourite characters from our favourite books? I also love books which have characters who are bookworms and it seems that Meggie and Mo fit that description perfectly. I love any books which have any element of magic and of course, you all know how much I love fantasy, so I am hoping that this book and I will be a perfect fit. I know there is a movie version of this, but I’ve heard that it’s terrible, so I would definitely rather read the book!

I will have another Wishlist Wednesday post for you all next week, but in the meantime, tomorrow I will have a new Thursday Quotables post for you, so make sure to check that out.

8 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday #24

  1. Magini - books September 24, 2015 / 7:43 am

    I really enjoyed Inkheart. It’s a nice read

  2. Sam Whitehouse September 24, 2015 / 7:59 am

    I tried reading Inkheart once, but could never get into it. May try again one day.

  3. Jan @ Notes from a Readerholic September 24, 2015 / 3:44 pm

    I haven’t read Inkheart either, but my husband loves Cornelia Funke’s books. Keeps telling me I should read them!

  4. Ayunda September 25, 2015 / 7:39 pm

    I loved this series as a child, the last time I read them was probably around 4 years ago but I still remember loving them.

Leave a Reply

