Sidekick Showcase Saturday #23

I know, I know, I’m terrible, once again, I have several updates for you at once because I’m behind on my posts! I’ve just started Uni and I was kind of busy over the weekend, so I didn’t get the chance to write anything! For this week’s Sidekick Showcase, I have chosen to focus on a character from one of my favourite books, Hans Hubermann from The Book Thief.

hansI’m sure that anyone who has read The Book Thief will understand why Hans is an amazing supporting character and why I love him. He loves Liesel as if she was his own daughter, he teaches her to read and write and the bond between them is very special, it’s heartwarming to see their interactions in the book. Hans is kind and gentle and patient, he’s a very sympathetic character and you instantly fall in love with him because he is so lovely. He is a brave man, shown by the fact that he is willing to hide Max (a Jew) in his basement, at great personal risk to himself if he is caught and he does challenge Hitler’s regime. He has great empathy for people, does not like to see them in pain, which can get him into trouble. He also clearly loves his family and is very protective of them as shown by his actions towards Liesel and his wife. He and his wife are polar opposites, him being quiet and gentle and her being loud and strict but they work well together. Hans is such a kind, loving, compassionate man that it is impossible to read this book and not fall in love with him!

I will have another Sidekick Showcase Saturday post for you next week, but in the meantime, I will hopefully have both my Swoonworthy Sunday and Monday Recommendations posts for you as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

