Friday Favourites #23

For this week’s Friday Favourites, I’ve decided to focus on a favourite character of mine, as I haven’t done a favourite character post for a couple of months (I hadn’t even realized how long it had been until I looked back through old Friday Favourites posts!) and so I figured it would be fun to do a character based post this week. The character I’m going to talk about is the lead character in one of my favourite series and that character is Skulduggery Pleasant.

skulduggery pleasantI started reading the Skulduggery Pleasant series when I was around 12 or 13 and it quickly became one of my favourite series, mostly due to the character of Skulduggery Pleasant himself, because he’s all kinds of awesome. I mean, he’s a walking, talking, magical skeleton detective, I’m not sure how much cooler you can get! He’s incredibly funny too, I love his sarcastic sense of humour and his overinflated ego, which on a human character would be annoying, but on a magical skeleton detective, makes him even more lovable. He’s really clever too, an excellent detective and good at formulating plans (that is when he and Valkyrie actually have one, which isn’t often!). I like the complexity of his character, that he’s this sophisticated gentleman (yes it is possible for a skeleton to be a sophisticated gentleman!) and yet this hides the darker side to him, the rage beneath the surface, which I think is great, because it’s boring when the good guy is completely good, with Skulduggery, he’s a good guy so we root for him, but he has a dark past which makes his character even more interesting. He’s sweet too, you can tell that he really cares about the people around him and he tries his best to protect Valkyrie and his other friends. Also he has awesome powers, he’s an elemental so he can do all sorts of cool stuff with fire and air and water (and earth, but that’s a last resort power), plus he learns to fly in the later books which is so cool! He also has pretty mean combat skills, which added to his magic and his intelligence, make him a pretty formidable adversary. Skulduggery is a character that you would love to have by your side, because he’s a pretty awesome dude (and you would get to travel in the Bentley, how cool is that?) but probably not someone you’d want to have as an enemy, given his considerable power and intelligence.

Any other Skulduggery lovers out there? What do you love most about him? Let me know in the comments!

I will have a new Friday Favourites post for you all next week, but tomorrow I will be back with another Sidekick Showcase Saturday post, so make sure to check that out!

Leave a Reply

