Thursday Quotables #22

As I am going to be heading off for University tomorrow, I thought I would choose a theme this week that would honour that and so the theme I have chosen is knowledge, which hopefully I will gain a lot of at uni! These are my favourite quotes about knowledge:

  1. “Knowledge is power. Power to do evil…or power to do good. Power itself is not evil. So knowledge itself is not evil.” -Allegiant, Veronica Roth

I have not yet read this book, but I really like this quote.

2. “Knowledge, like air, is vital to life. Like air, no one should be denied it.” -V For Vendetta, Alan Moore

Once again, not a book that I have read, but I found this quote on Goodreads and thought that it was really beautiful.

3. “Words define us,’ Mom continued, as I struggled to make my clumsy marks look like her elegant script. ‘We must protect our knowledge and pass it on whenever we can. If we are ever to become a society again, we must teach others how to remain human.” The Immortal Rules, Julie Kagawa

This is also not a book that I’ve read, but I loved this quote, thought it was really beautiful and profound, so I wanted to include it here.

4. “Anger has its place, but it will not serve you here, the way of the warrior is the way of knowing. Of that knowledge requires you to use anger, then you use anger, but you cannot wrest forth knowledge by losing your temper.” -Inheritance, Christopher Paolini

I thought this was a really wise and beautiful quote, although I have not read the book that it comes from.

5. “To listen to what I’d heard – as if I’d already learned everything I needed.” -A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J Maas

This was one of my favourite parts of the book because everything comes together here and I love the way how small conversations that occur throughout the book all become important.

That’s all I have for you this week, it’s a short one, since it’s late over here and I am going to University tomorrow! I will be back with another one of these next week, but tomorrow (or maybe Saturday, depending on when I get the chance to use my computer!), I will have a new Friday Favourites post for you so make sure to check it out.

Leave a Reply

