Top Ten Tuesday #21

image

I couldn’t really think of that many series that I could use for this week’s topic as I have very few finished series that I haven’t finished yet, most of the series I have yet to finish have books still to be released. So instead of doing ten finished series I have yet to finish, I decided that this week I would do top ten finished series that I have yet to start as I thought that would be a lot easier for me to do because I know I have a lot of these on my TBR.

  1. The Chaos Walking Trilogy-Patrick Ness-I have bought The Knife of Never Letting Go, in fact I’ve had it for a while now, but I haven’t started it and therefore the series yet. I’m really excited to though, because I love dystopian fiction and this book sounds really good. I hope I enjoy this series, when I get around to it.
  2. The Darkest Minds Trilogy-Alexandra Bracken-I’ve had the first book in this series on my TBR for absolutely ages, but just haven’t got around to reading it yet. I’m really looking forward to it though, it seems like just the kind of series that I would absolutely love.
  3. The Mara Dyer Trilogy-Michelle Hodkin-I’m a little bit nervous about reading this series, because whilst I’ve heard good things about the first book, I’ve heard some critical reviews about the other two, people don’t seem to like them as much, which is probably why I have put off starting it until now. The first book has an interesting premise though, so I think I’ll try it and then see what I think after that.
  4. The Inkworld Trilogy-Cornelia Funke-I love the whole idea behind this book, that the main character’s father is able to ‘read’ characters out of books (ie bring them to life), it sounds like so much fun and so magical. My sister has the first book, so when my TBR pile is down a little, I will have to give it a go.
  5. The Graceling Realm Trilogy-Kristin Cashore-I have the first book in this series, so I’m going to try that first before I decide whether I’m going to buy the rest of the books in the series. It seems promising though, I love any books with magic in them and the whole idea of the different graces seem interesting. I’ve heard really good things about this book though, so I have high hopes for it and the other two books in the series.
  6. The Every Trilogy-Ellie Marney-I love Sherlock Holmes and this series is kind of a Sherlock retelling, so it sounds very promising and I love crime and mystery stories as well, so I’m really looking forward to reading this series.
  7. Scarlet Trilogy-AC Gaughen-I said a few weeks ago on one of these lists that I’d love to read a Robin Hood retelling and this is one with Will Scarlet as a female character. I’ve heard some good things about it and it seems like the sort of series that I would like, so I can’t wait to try it out.
  8. The Program duology-Suzanne Young-I like that these books sound different, the whole idea of teen suicide being an epidemic and being put into a treatment program is not something I’ve seen in dystopian fiction before, so I’m really looking forward to trying this series as it seems like someone new.
  9. The Skinjacker Trilogy-Neal Shusterman-This series explores life after death, it sounds kind of weird, but really interesting and I cannot wait to read more Neal Shusterman books after completely falling in love with the Unwind dystology.
  10. The Testing Trilogy-Joelle Charbonneau-This is another dystopian series and basically is a society after a big war (as so many dystopians are) where some elite students are chosen for the “Testing” which picks people who will be allowed a University education and will eventually become the leaders of the government. I’m in two minds about this series, as I have read some not so favourable reviews, but I put it on my TBR initially because I was gripped by the synopsis, so I’ll try the first book and see if my gut feeling was right.

So that’s my list for this week, how about you guys? Have you read any of the series on my list? What did you think? What series were on your lists this week? Did anyone else have to alter the topic? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back with another Top Ten Tuesday post next week, next week’s topic is a freebie, so you’ll have to wait and see what topic I choose! In the meantime, I will have another Wishlist Wednesday post for you all tomorrow, so make sure to check that out!

 

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #21

  1. stephaniesbookreviews September 8, 2015 / 10:36 pm

    Your idea to switch the prompt around a bit is a good idea. I didn’t quite make 10. I’ve heard so many amazing things about the Chaos Walking series, but I tried the first book once and barely made it a couple chapters.

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 9:08 am

      Thanks! I could only think of two series that I had started but not finished which had all the books published so I figured this was a good alternative! Let’s hope I find it better than you did then!

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 9:09 am

      You should, they sound like great series from what I’ve heard.

  2. Zezee September 8, 2015 / 11:52 pm

    The Inkworld books have been collecting dust on my TBR list. Hopefully I work my way to them eventually. I’ve heard they’re really good.

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 9:10 am

      Me too. I don’t know when I will get around to them because my TBR is so long but I hope to eventually.

  3. readerbuzz September 9, 2015 / 12:11 am

    I love how you created an alternate topic. It would make a good Top Ten for all of us!

  4. thenightgirl September 9, 2015 / 12:40 am

    Chaos Walking is one my top favourite trilogies of all time. But honestly, it took me a long time to start it because I struggle with the dialect it was written in. Once I got used to it though, the books just blew me away.

    Darkest Minds, Graceling, and The Testing are some really great reads! I haven’t finished the last book in The Testing trilogy but I loved the first two.

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 9:18 am

      That’s good to hear. I will remember that when I read it. Yeah, they all sound amazing, so I hope I enjoy them as much as you did.

  5. dreamingthroughliterature September 9, 2015 / 3:42 am

    Most of these are on my TBR, only I haven’t started any of them yet. I have so much reading to get to someday! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 9:12 am

      Yeah me too! So many books to read, not enough time, that’s always the problem!

      • dreamingthroughliterature September 9, 2015 / 3:25 pm

        Exactly!

  6. signourney September 9, 2015 / 7:39 am

    Start The Darkest Minds. I think you’d really it. I’ve heard similair things about Mara Dyer’s other books, but you won’t really know until you try it.
    I liked Graceling, but I thought it could have been better.

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 9:15 am

      I think so too, I can’t wait to read it, it sounds amazing. Yeah I know, that’s what I usually do, even of a book doesn’t have the best reviews, if I think I’ll like it, I still try it and sometimes I am pleasantly surprised. Ok, interesting. I’ll have to see what I think.

  7. whimsywriter3 September 9, 2015 / 7:01 pm

    I’ve heard so much about Patrick Ness, I really need to read some of his books. What would you recommend starting with?

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 7:52 pm

      I have no idea, I haven’t read any of his books either, The Chaos Walking trilogy will be my first!

  8. literacious September 9, 2015 / 8:01 pm

    I absolutely loved The Inkheart Trilogy (don’t waste your time on the movie), but the books are amazing!

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2015 / 8:21 pm

      Good to hear. Yeah I had heard that the movie wasn’t very good.

  9. Clare September 9, 2015 / 9:52 pm

    I love Graceling and Fire but I thought the third book Bitterblue wasn’t as good, and I had the same problem with the Inkheart trilogy. But I absolutely love The Program duology!

  10. acps927 September 9, 2015 / 11:00 pm

    I decided to not continue with The Testing trilogy after the first book, personally, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to give it a try and see how you feel about it!

  11. thebrightspark September 9, 2015 / 11:36 pm

    I need to read A.C. Gaughen’s books, too! They sound like fun.

  12. Amanda K Thompson September 10, 2015 / 1:30 am

    I’ve heard the Skinjacker books are good, but I’ve never read them. I’ve got the Ink series on my list, too; I think Inkdeath is the only one I haven’t read, but that was seven or eight years ago.

  13. Nicolette Hampton @ A Read-aholic September 10, 2015 / 2:36 am

    I haven’t finished the Darkest Minds either! That’s mostly because I was not into the first book. think I’m going to give it another try at some point

    • iloveheartlandx September 10, 2015 / 6:11 am

      I have not even started Darkest Minds yet, so you’re ahead of me! I hope you enjoy it more second time around though.

  14. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know September 10, 2015 / 12:08 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier! I just finished the Mara Dyer series. I thought the whole series was really good. And then I loved Graceling and Fire, but Bitterblue wasn’t my favorite at all. Hope you get a chance to check some of these out.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    • iloveheartlandx September 10, 2015 / 7:17 pm

      No problem. That’s great to hear! Really? What was not so enjoyable about Bitterblue? I hope so too!

  15. Ashley September 10, 2015 / 1:08 pm

    Great list! I really want to read The Darkest Minds series and the Mara Dyer series as well.
    I may actually try to read The Darkest Minds after my current read.
    I recently finished The Knife of Never Letting Go and it was SO amazing!
    I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

    • iloveheartlandx September 10, 2015 / 7:16 pm

      Thanks! I really want to read both of them too, though it might be a while, I have a huge pile of books waiting to be read at the moment. Really? That’s great to hear!

  16. emmilobb September 10, 2015 / 7:34 pm

    Ooh, intriguing list! The only one I’ve read is Inkworld, which I LOVE and am planning to reread very soon. I’ve also read a book by Ness called A Monster Calls which was really good.

    Thanks for stopping by Emily Etc.! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 10, 2015 / 7:35 pm

      Thanks! That’s good to hear, I have to say it does sound like a brilliant series. I have heard that one is good, I hope Chaos Walking is as good. No problem!

  17. Kay @ It's a Book Life September 11, 2015 / 6:24 pm

    I LOVE Graceling and the Every trilogy. I hope you get around to reading them. So very good!

  18. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf September 11, 2015 / 10:12 pm

    I enjoyed the Darkest Minds. I think the second was the best one and I wasn’t a big fan of how the trilogy ended. I would have to agree and say that the first Mara Dyer book was the best. I still really enjoyed the 2nd one and the 3rd was alright now I think about it. I hope you enjoy Graveling! I love that book!

    • iloveheartlandx September 12, 2015 / 5:32 pm

      Good to hear. Oh that’s good, I’ve heard mixed things about books 2 and 3 so it’s nice to hear from someone who liked them! I hope so too!

  19. Elizabeth September 12, 2015 / 2:21 am

    The Graceling series is one of my favourite fantasies EVER. I do want to warn you – since it was a big complaint and that’s why I feel like the second book had lower ratings – the books are more like companions to each other rather than direct sequels. They are all connected, but it has more to do with a specific secondary character than anything else.

Leave a Reply

