Wishlist Wednesday #21

For this week’s Wishlist Wednesday, I actually picked a book that won’t be released until next year, which means it’s going to be on my Wishlist for an awfully long time, but I don’t care, it sounds awesome, so it will probably (hopefully!) be worth the wait. I don’t think I would have heard of this book (at least not for a while anyway!), if I hadn’t met the author at YALC, which makes me even more excited to read this book, because Alwyn Hamilton was so lovely. Plus as you all know by now, I will grab pretty much anything if it’s in the fantasy genre!

rebel of the sandsShe’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

This book sounds very Arabian-inspired which interests me because I’ve never really read a book set in that kind of culture before and I am trying to diversify my reading choices, not only character wise, but in terms of location as most of the YA I read is set either in America or here, I mean I know it’s a fantasy world, but it does sound Arabian inspired. I love anything that has magic in and magic is mentioned here, so I will definitely be interested to see what kind of magic is used in this book, I also want to know what the mythical beasts are. I’m intrigued about Amani and what kind of powers she has, since I assume from the description that she has some kind of magic and also about Jin and what kind of magic he has (since the fact that the people who have magic are called Djinns and his name is Jin is not lost on me). Basically, the summary of this book has me intrigued and I can’t wait to read it to find out more!

Slightly off topic here, but moment to celebrate that Queen of Shadows has been published (since I forgot to put this in my post yesterday!). I cannot wait to get my hands on that book!

I will be back with another Wishlist Wednesday next week, but in the meantime, tomorrow I will have a new Thursday Quotables post for you, so make sure to check that out.

Leave a Reply

