Top Ten Tuesday #20

image

In this, my twentieth Top Ten Tuesday post, I will be talking about my top ten characters that I just didn’t click with. We all have them, those characters that we just don’t quite like or understand, or basically just don’t mesh well with. I’m sorry if anyone’s favourite characters are on here, but remember it’s just my opinion.

  1. Feyre from A Court of Thorns And Roses-I can’t exactly put my finger on why, but for most of the book, I feel like I just didn’t click with Feyre. She was too naive and made some really stupid decisions and whilst I feel like I like her a little more now that I’m in the latter half of the book, I still want to scream at her because even though she has more experience with faeries, she still makes some really stupid decisions? Why Feyre, why? I want to love you as much as Celeana, but you aren’t making it easy for me!
  2. Jason Grace from Heroes of Olympus Series-He’s dull okay! I hate the way Rick Riordan tries to make out he’s the new Percy, he’s not. Percy is way cooler and probably more powerful than Jason is! I felt like he had no personality whatsoever, his POV’s were a chore to read and I just didn’t like him. At all!
  3. Piper McLean from Heroes of Olympus Series-I kind of felt the same way about her, her powers were boring, I didn’t like the narrative style used for her POV and she spent the entire time obsessing about Jason and the “cute scar on his lip” when there were way more important things to be worrying about! Get your head in the game Piper!
  4. Chaol Westfall from Throne of Glass-I’ve kind of swung back on forth on this one, first I liked him, then he irritated me because he couldn’t make up his damn mind, then he did make up his mind about which side he wanted to be on and he made the right choice, so we’ll reevaluate and see where we stand after Queen of Shadows.
  5. Heather Nill from Panic-She was so whiny and irritating and always so obsessed with Bishop and I never really felt like I could connect with her on anything at all, in fact I didn’t really feel like I got a good sense of her personality from the book, which is probably why we didn’t click.
  6. Kyla Davis from Slated-I did eventually come to like her a little more, although I definitely wouldn’t say that we’d be friends, but she was so dull because she had been Slated and her personality was completely blank and it wasn’t until she started showing a little personality that I liked her more. Even then she irritated me though, she was always going on about Ben and she just could not keep her damn mouth shut even though she knew it would get her into trouble, it made me want to scream at her!
  7. Tris Prior from Divergent-We kind of have the same sort of swinging back and forth relationship that I have with Chaol, I didn’t like her much at first in Divergent, I liked her more in the later half of the book, then she was back to irritating me at the beginning of Insurgent and I liked her more towards the end. I can’t quite make up my mind I guess, but I definitely haven’t clicked with her in the same way I did with Katniss. I suppose we’ll see where we stand once I’ve read the final book of the Divergent trilogy.
  8. Thomas from The Maze Runner-I don’t exactly know what is about him, I just felt like he was kind of bland, I didn’t think his personality was developed enough and I never really felt like we got to know enough about him in order to be able to root for him. For me, he was kind of overshadowed by Newt and Minho, who I personally felt were much stronger characters.
  9. Valkyrie Cain from Skulduggery Pleasant-I did initially like her in the first few books, but then she got way too arrogant and bigheaded for me and it felt like she was trying too hard to be exactly like Skulduggery, so by the end of the book, I didn’t really like her much at all.
  10. Sam Kingston from Before I Fall-This may be cheating a little as I never actually finished Before I Fall, in fact I put it down pretty early on but one of the reasons I had to do that was because I could not identify at all with the main character, I could find no reason to support her and nothing that I could connect with her on, so I had to put the book down.

So that’s my list for this week, how about you guys? What characters did you just not click with? Why did you not click with them? Do we share any? Are any of your favourite characters on my list? If so, what about them do you like? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back with another Top Ten Tuesday next week, next week’s topic is meant to be ten finished series that you haven’t finished yet, but I can only think of a couple off the top of my head right now, so I may change the topic if I need to! In the meantime, I will have another Wishlist Wednesday post for you tomorrow, so make sure to check that out.

72 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #20

  1. signourney September 1, 2015 / 9:23 am

    We share Chaol, Tris and Thomas this week. I’m not likely to feel different about Chaol after QoS. He’s just boring for me.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 9:25 am

      I’m still on the fence, but I reckon this book will probably be make or break for me when it comes to him.

  2. Ellie September 1, 2015 / 10:49 am

    I had Tris, Thomas, Jason, and Piper as well, for pretty much the exact same reasons that you did. (Particularly Jason and Piper . . . the whole thing with Riordan making them out to be the next Percy and Annabeth was just plain annoying.) Only other one of these I’ve read is Throne of Glass, but for me the character I really just didn’t click with was actually Celaena. Also: If you haven’t read the last Divergent book, then DON’T.

    My TTT: http://thespellboundreader.blogspot.com/2015/09/top-ten-tuesday-ten-characters-i-didnt.html

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 1:15 pm

      Yeah I hated that Rick Riordan did that too, I had a whole big rant about it in my review of the book! I didn’t click with Celaena at first but have grown to like her over the course of the books. I know the ending of Allegiant already (damn online spoilers!) but I still have to read it, otherwise it will annoy me that I haven’t finished the series!

  3. Zhana September 1, 2015 / 10:57 am

    I have yet to read “The Maze Runner”, but I really liked Thomas in the movie and I’m looking forward to watching the second one really soon. Is the first movie way different than the book? And despite not liking Thomas, did you still enjoy reading it?

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 6:37 pm

      It’s not all that different from the book, but I actually think the movie is better than the book anyway, for some reason, it translates better on screen. I did still enjoy reading it, even though I didn’t like Thomas, mostly because I liked Newt and Minho!

  4. thefictionalreader September 1, 2015 / 11:53 am

    I have to admit that Jason Grace is my least favorite character of the series too. Golden boy… Although I do think he got somewhat more likeable towards the end of the series.

    Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 1:17 pm

      He did get a bit more likeable in the last book but by that time I already hated him so one book of okay ness was not going to change that!

      Thank you!

  5. CJ Dawn September 1, 2015 / 1:29 pm

    I completely agree with Tris. I liked her at first, but as the books went on I liked her less and less. And I totally understand Chaol. I still love him, but he frustrates me A. Lot. I’m hoping he has a big change of heart before the end of the series.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 5:21 pm

      Yeah, it frustrates me so much because she had so much promise initially! I feel similarly, he just frustrates me so much so even when I want to like him, I can’t! I hope so too, I think the end of Heir of Fire was a step in the right direction, so I guess we’ll see!

  6. Mallory @ The Local Muse September 1, 2015 / 4:40 pm

    I have seen both Piper and Jason on quite a few lists today. I agree Jason is probably the least likeable of the gang. I really loved Chaol in the first two books, so I have a hard time being mad at him. I’m still rooting for him!
    Thanks for stopping by the The Local Muse

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 5:28 pm

      Glad to know I’m not the only one frustrated by those two! I am still rooting for Chaol, he just frustrates me a lot!

  7. Nattie September 1, 2015 / 6:40 pm

    A lot of people didn’t like Feyre as much as Celena, don’t worry! She’s an ‘okay’ character for me right now. We’ll see with future books I guess. Great list!

    Nattie @ Book Rambles

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 6:49 pm

      I think it might just take me a little time to warm up to her, it did with Celaena, so hopefully I will come to love her more with future books. I think she’s an ‘okay’ character for me too. Thank you!

  8. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense September 1, 2015 / 7:27 pm

    You are not the only person to mention Thomas today. I only read the first book, but I wasn’t super impressed by it.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 7:37 pm

      It’s not bad, but it’s definitely not the best book I’ve ever read and Thomas was really hard to connect with.

  9. Jane Whittingham September 1, 2015 / 7:45 pm

    I have seen Tris on quite a few lists today! i felt the same way – she just didn’t interest me at all, and if I don’t care about a character, I sometimes can’t even be bothered do finish a book! Especially with so many books on my to-be-read list πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 7:49 pm

      Yeah so have I. I completely understand what you mean, when you can’t connect with the main character, it’s hard to enjoy the book and if you can’t enjoy the book then you’re right, you may as well put it down because there are so many others you want to read!

  10. Carrie September 1, 2015 / 8:32 pm

    I haven’t read any of these yet! But several are on my TBR and I will watch for these characters πŸ™‚ My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 8:36 pm

      Most of these I still enjoyed the book/series even if I didn’t like the main character but some of them, my dislike of the main character meant I didn’t like the book as much.

      • Carrie September 1, 2015 / 8:41 pm

        I’m the same way!

  11. Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess September 1, 2015 / 8:58 pm

    Totally agree with you about Jason and Thomas! I didn’t like Feyre as much as Celaena, but I thought she was alright.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 9:01 pm

      Yeah that is pretty much my feeling about Feyre too. Yeah they’re both as boring as each other.

  12. Julie S. September 1, 2015 / 9:43 pm

    I didn’t click with Tris either, maybe that’s why the final book didn’t affect me as much. But as for The Maze Runner, I found the whole book bland and boring so I feel ya on that one. The movie was much better though.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 9:46 pm

      I haven’t read the final book yet, but since I already know what’s going to happen, I doubt it will affect me much either. I found the second half of The Maze Runner better than the first, but yeah, it definitely wasn’t my favourite book. The movie was much better.

  13. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf September 1, 2015 / 10:25 pm

    Awesome list! You worded my thoughts on Jason! He was so boring and I hated that they had this underlying competition between Percy and Jason when we all know Percy was so much more powerful than Jason was! Yes! I thought that Piper and her power was pretty freaking useless in the series. They annoyed me so much! I wanted more of a Percabeth kind of power couple, not Jason and Piper. I also agree with what you said about Minho and Newt! The book should’ve been written in their point of view haha. I also understand what you mean about the stupid actions that Fere does but she does improve towards the end of the book.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2015 / 10:29 pm

      Thanks! Oh me too, like you’re trying to fool us that Jason is more powerful…ha, no. She was definitely pretty useless, I feel like he could have come up with a much better character than her. Didn’t everyone? It would have been so much better if it had been written from Minho and Newt’s POV. Yeah, I am liking her a little more now, although I do still have my moments of wanting to yell at her!

      • Anjie @ Love thy Shelf September 1, 2015 / 10:49 pm

        Haha and just how the story ends in Blood of Olympus with Percy, I wasn’t a fan of it. Haha Feyre has a way of doing that to us!

  14. Zed Amadeo September 1, 2015 / 11:19 pm

    I haven’t read or seen The Maze Runner, but I’ve heard Thomas described as similarly bland. Have you ever seen the Honest Trailer for it? The narrator basically describes him as a “handsome and brave protagonist” and then says that that’s basically all that there really is to say about him. It’s pretty hilarious: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNfZJuz_1Bk

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2015 / 8:56 am

      I haven’t actually but I will watch that now. He hit the nail on the head though, that is all there is to say about him.

  15. rosemawrites September 2, 2015 / 2:17 am

    I kind of agree with you on Tris. I also have a love-hate relationship with her, especially with her ever-changing mind! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2015 / 9:12 am

      Yeah she can’t decide whether she’s going to be cool or frustrating which makes it very difficult for me to decide whether I like her or not!

      • rosemawrites September 2, 2015 / 9:25 am

        Hahaha! That’s such a witty remark! πŸ˜€

  16. Diana @ Booking an Adventure September 2, 2015 / 3:17 am

    This is surprisingly the first time I’ve seen Tris and I kind of have to agree. After the first book, the series went a bit downhill and Tris got unbearable. I liked the book but the movie is what made me drop the series because Shailene Woodley makes things hard for me *big sigh of rage*

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2015 / 9:10 am

      Yeah, whilst I liked her in the first book, she frustrated me to no end in the second and I haven’t read the third book yet, but I have heard from other people that she is equally frustrating. Yeah, I get that, I’m not all that keen on Shailene Woodley either.

  17. Lisa September 2, 2015 / 3:24 am

    Well, I don’t know any of these… but you do seem to have really good reasons for not liking them!! πŸ™‚

  18. Baggins September 2, 2015 / 3:28 am

    Great list! I’ve not read too many of these. I almost put Thomas on my list. I just couldn’t get into The Maze Runner, so it’s been a DNF for me. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my blog! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2015 / 9:08 am

      Thanks! Fair enough, I found it quite difficult to get into as well, although I did finish it (and the rest of the series). No problem!

  19. coloursaur September 2, 2015 / 8:37 am

    I agree on Heather – I loved ‘Panic’ as a story and the plot was magnificent, but I didn’t really feel as though I cared if she happened to get mortally injured or not. However, I absolutely LOVED Feyre! ❀

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2015 / 9:06 am

      The fact that I didn’t like Heather meant that I could not enjoy the story because I did not care at all what happened to her, so if she had died in one of the tasks, I would not have cared, which was one of my biggest problems with the book, though I did have others. I like Feyre, I just didn’t really click with her and there have been times (as I am still reading ACOTAR) when I have wanted to shake her for being so stupid!

  20. Clare September 2, 2015 / 1:19 pm

    Although Tris wasn’t on my list, I completely agree! I loved Four but Tris bothered me at times, I wanted to like her but it just never clicked.

  21. Anastasia September 2, 2015 / 1:31 pm

    Haha aaa didn’t click with Thomas either, Tris somehow only in the very end o.O kind of weird

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 6:45 pm

      Yeah I’ve found quite a few people who’ve shared my opinion on him. That is kind of strange!

  22. Chachic September 2, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    Thanks for dropping by my blog to comment! Like you mentioned, we share Tris in our posts this week. Aside from that, I’ve only read Before I Fall from your list and that was ages ago, back when it was first released. I didn’t have a problem with Sam but I can see why other readers wouldn’t llike her.

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 6:48 pm

      No problem! Yeah, I literally could not find a single thing to connect to her on and whilst I have read books with unlikeable characters before and finished them, for some reason, she really bothered me to the point where I had to put the book down.

  23. Faith September 2, 2015 / 2:47 pm

    I’m pretty annoyed at Chaol as of right now because I feel like he did literally nothing to help in Heir of Fire. I think I didn’t click with Tris because she thought she was doing the right thing (more in Insurgent) but she was really just endangering a group of people.
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 6:50 pm

      I feel the same, he frustrated me to no end in Heir of Fire, but I’m hoping that now he’s finally chosen which side he’s on that he might improve as a character and frustrate me less! I feel the same way about Tris. No problem!

  24. lipsyy September 2, 2015 / 5:46 pm

    I almost put Tris on mine too, but I love Chaol!!

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 6:55 pm

      It’s not that I don’t like Chaol, he just really frustrates me!

  25. La Coccinelle @ The Ladybug Reads... September 2, 2015 / 5:47 pm

    I’m only familiar with a few of these… and Sam Kingston is one of my favourite characters from one of my favourite books! I can see why you might not have liked her in the beginning; I don’t think you’re supposed to. Her character arc is one of the best ones I’ve read, though.

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 6:57 pm

      My problem is, I couldn’t click with her at all in the beginning and it was bogging me down so much that I had to put down the book. I would like to pick the book back up at some point and try again though because I have heard she has good character development, I guess my problem is just getting past my frustration with her to get to that part of the book!

  26. Lola (@lamplitreviews) September 2, 2015 / 7:18 pm

    I could definitely see Feyre from A Court of Thorns And Roses. She’s a great character, but not very personable.

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 6:58 pm

      Yeah, I completely agree. There are moments when I really do like her, but there are also moments where she frustrates me to no end!

  27. janepotter1000 September 2, 2015 / 9:10 pm

    I agree about Tris. I am excited to hear what you think about the last book. I won’t sway your opinion by giving you my reaction to it. I had Thomas from Maze Runner on my list too for similar reasons. I wanted more background and character development for most of the boys in that book.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 7:00 pm

      Thanks! I don’t know when I’m going to get around to reading it, but once I do, I’ll be posting the review on here. Yeah I agree with you on that point, the character development of the boys in the Maze Runner was pretty weak all round really. No problem!

  28. Becca September 3, 2015 / 1:03 am

    I couldn’t get into The Maze Runner. I tried, but for some reason it just wasn’t clicking for me. Maybe Thomas was part of the problem for me? I liked Tris, but she’s not one of my all-time favorite book characters.

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 7:01 pm

      It’s not the easiest book to get into, I had problems in the beginning. It’s possible, he’s not the most engaging narrator. She’s not one of mine either (obviously!).

  29. Caught Read Handed September 3, 2015 / 12:01 pm

    I’ve only read the first ToG book, but I think that’s part of the point of Chaol? You’re never quite sure where he stands. I don’t know. I’ve got to keep reading.

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 7:03 pm

      I guess it is, but it’s also really frustrating, as you will find out when you read the rest of the books!

  30. LHauser27 September 3, 2015 / 12:36 pm

    I haven’t read a lot of these, and now I’m warned! (Except Before I Fall…I liked it 😦 ) My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2015 / 7:05 pm

      They’re not bad books, in fact most of them were books I enjoyed, I just wasn’t keen on these particular characters (except for Panic, Slated and Before I Fall, I didn’t enjoy the story or the characters in those).

  31. shannonmiz September 5, 2015 / 4:36 am

    Chaol?! My broken heart. πŸ˜‰ I agree with Thomas. YAWN. That dude was bo-ring. Same with Theresa, actually. Sam got MUCH better in Before I Fall, if that helps. I hated her at the start! A lot of people have been saying Feyre, and I liked her, but I get it.

    Pretty sure you’ll really hate Tris more, because I liked her and then was so annoyed with her by the end. Fabulous list!

    • iloveheartlandx September 5, 2015 / 10:08 am

      Yeah, I didn’t think that one would be particularly popular! Yeah, both of them were really dull. People have been telling me that and I do want to get back to reading it, I just can’t find the motivation at the moment. I do like Feyre, she just really frustrates me! Okay, I’ll prepare myself for that! Thank you!

  32. Veronika September 5, 2015 / 11:48 am

    Finally Tris is on someone’s list! I’m so mad at myself for forgetting to add her. She never had been my favorite but as the series progressed I went from kinda liking her to hating her like hell.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2015 / 9:05 pm

      Yes, I share your frustration! I feel the same way, although I haven’t read Allegiant yet, so who knows how I’ll feel about her after that.

  33. Kar @ Pause Time September 8, 2015 / 1:38 am

    Omg! Chaol! If I had read Queen of Shadows before making my list he would have been pretty up there… I’m glad we agree on Samantha and Heather, I know a lot of people loved Before I Fall and I too had trouble finishing it, at least I’m not the only one πŸ˜€

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Kar @ Pause Time

    • iloveheartlandx September 8, 2015 / 6:04 pm

      Does this mean he’s worse in Queen of Shadows? Please no! I want to like him, I really do, he just makes it really difficult. Yeah me too, everyone seems to love Before I Fall, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who had difficulty with it. No problem!

Leave a Reply

