Thursday Quotables #19

For this week’s topic, I decided on music, as outside of books, music is one of the things I love the most, so I figured why not combine the two and look for quotes about music from books, hence this week’s theme.

  1. “Life, he realize, was much like a song. In the beginning there is mystery, in the end there is confirmation, but it’s in the middle where all the emotion resides to make the whole thing worthwhile.” -The Last Song, Nicholas Sparks

I haven’t read any of Nicholas Sparks’ books, though I have seen the movie of this. I just thought this quote was really pretty.

2. “And I thought about how many people have loved those songs. And how many people got through a lot of bad times because of those songs. And how many people enjoyed good times with those songs. And how much those songs really mean. I think it would be great to have written one of those songs. I bet if I wrote one of them, I would be very proud. I hope the people who wrote those songs are happy. I hope they feel it’s enough. I really do because they’ve made me happy. And I’m only one person.” -The Perks of Being A Wallflower, Stephen Chobsky

Again, not a book that I’ve read, but I love and wholeheartedly agree with the sentiment of this quote.

3. “People worry about kids playing with guns, and teenagers watching violent videos; we are scared that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands – literally thousands – of songs about broken hearts and rejection and pain and misery and loss.” -High Fidelity, Nick Hornby

I haven’t read this book, but I came across this quote and really liked it, so I thought I would include it in this list.

4. “Music is the great uniter. An incredible force. Something that people who differ on everything and anything else can have in common.” -Just Listen, Sarah Dessen

Once again, I haven’t read the book (this seems to be a reoccurring theme this week!) but I thought this quote was really beautiful and so true, nearly everyone likes some sort of music so it’s something that you can have in common with most people.

5. “I like music,” she said slowly, “because when I hear it, I . . . I lose myself within myself, if that makes any sense. I become empty and full all at once, and I can feel the whole earth roiling around me. When I play. I’m not . . . for once, I’m not destroying, I’m creating.” -Throne of Glass, Sarah J Maas

This is such a beautiful scene and I loved getting to see the vulnerable side of Celaena for once, so I had to include this quote here.

6. “I believe that a person’s taste in music tells you a lot about them. In some cases, it tells you everything you need to know.” -This Song Will Save Your Life, Leila Sales

Not one I’ve read, but I found it on Goodreads and really liked it so I included it here, although I would say that for me that whilst someone’s taste in music can tell you a lot about them, a person’s taste in books tells you way more!

7. “Every life has a soundtrack.

There is a tune that makes me think of the summer I spent rubbing baby oil on my stomach in pursuit of the perfect tan. There’s another that reminds me of tagging along with my father on Sunday morning to pick up the New York Times. There’s the song that reminds me of using fake ID to get into a nightclub; and the one that brings back my cousin Isobel’s sweet sixteen, where I played Seven Minutes in Heaven with a boy whose breath smelled like tomato soup.

If you ask me, music is the language of memory.” -Sing You Home, Jodi Picoult

The main character in this book is a music therapist, so there are a lot of music related quotes in this book and I think this one is really pretty, so I wanted to include it in this book.

8. “The music we listen to may not define who we are. But it’s a damn good start.” -Sing You Home, Jodi Picoult

I think I may have used this one before, but it’s a nice quote and I think it’s true that the music we listen to makes up part of our identity, so I thought I’d include it here.

9. “It’s just nice, I guess. Knowing that someone else can put into words what I feel. That there are people who have been through things worse than I have, and they come out on the other side okay. Not only that, but they made some kind of twisted, fucked-up sense of the completely senseless. They made it mean something. These songs tell me I’m not alone. If you look at it at that way, music… music can see you through anything.” -Saving June, Hannah Harrington

I haven’t read this book either, but I loved this quote, because I think it perfectly describes the beauty of music, how music can help you through things because there is a song for whatever you’re going through and there will always be someone out there who has gone through the same things you have.

10. “I’m wishing he could see that music lives. Forever. That it’s stronger than death. Stronger than time. And that its strength holds you together when nothing else can.” -Revolution, Jennifer Donnelly

Also not a book I’ve read, but I thought this quote was so beautiful and I just had to include it this week.

11. “Plus there’s the fact,” he went on, making it clear he didn’t need me to reply anyway, “that music is a total constant. That’s why we have such a strong visceral connection to it, you know? Because a song can take you back instantly to a moment, or a place, or even a person. No matter what else has changed in you or the world, that one song stays the same, just like that moment. Which is pretty amazing, when you actually think about it.” -Just Listen, Sarah Dessen

This quote is just so beautiful, I love it!

12. “The beauty of the flute was in its simplicity, in its resemblance to the human voice. It always sounded clear. It sounded alone. The piano, on the other hand, was a network of parts—a ship, with its strings like rigging, its case a hull, its lifted lid a sail. Kestrel always thought that the piano didn’t sound like a single instrument but a twinned one, with its low and high halves merging together or pulling apart.” -The Winner’s Curse, Marie Rutkoski

Another one that I haven’t read, not sure if I want to, but I do think that this quote is really pretty.

13. “It’s like the song of a family where everything’s always all right, it’s a song of belonging that makes you belong just by hearing it, it’s a song that’ll always take care of you and never leave you. If you have a heart, it breaks, if you have a heart that’s broken, it fixes.” -The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness

I haven’t read this book yet, I have it, but haven’t got around to reading it. I came across this quote on Goodreads and just thought it was really beautiful.

14. “All people are musicians” Wit countered. “The question is whether or not they share their songs.” -Words of Radiance, Brandon Sanderson

Not a book I’ve heard of, but I found it on Goodreads and thought that it was really pretty.

15. “That’s the funny thing about music. Part of the magic, I quess. Sometimes it replenishes me, like I’m feeding off its energy and it fills me. And other times, it pulls at my pain, weaves its way through the strands of my soul and wrecks it”.” -Leaving Amarillo, Caisey Quinn

I’ve never read this book either, but I thought this quote was lovely.

16. “Music carries the weight of being human, takes it away so you don’t have to think at all, you just have to listen. Music tells every story there is.” -This Raging Light, Estelle Laure

This quote is so deep and beautiful and moving, I had to include it here.

17. “That was when they noticed that every musician on the stage was wearing mourning black. That was when they shut up. And when the conductor raised his arms, it was not a symphony that filled the cavernous space.

It was the Song of Eyllwe.

Then Song of Fenharrow. And Melisande. And Terrasen. Each nation that had people in those labour camps.

And finally, not for pomp or triumph, but to mourn what they had become, they played the Song of Adarlan.

When the final note finished, the conductor turned to the crowd, the musicians standing with him. As one, they looked to the boxes, to all those jewels bought with the blood of a continent. And without a word, without a bow or another gesture, they walked off the stage.

The next morning, by royal decree, the theatre was shut down.

No one saw those musicians or their conductor again.” -Heir of Fire, Sarah J Maas

I don’t cry at books (don’t ask me why, just never have, I feel sad at the sad parts but never physically cry) but this part of Heir of Fire made me come pretty damn close! It’s so beautiful and yet so incredibly sad at the same time.

18. “Words cannot always do the work we need them to. Music is there for when words fail us.” -The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss

I thought this quote was really pretty and I just loved the simplicity of it.

19. “Music I discovered that night, was a sanctuary, a safe place to hide, a place where scars didn’t matter, they didn’t exist.” -The Scar Boys, Len Vlahos

I discovered this quote on Goodreads and thought it was really pretty.

20. “Music. Close your eyes and it’s a rosebush blooming in time lapse so that it shoots and blossoms flow outward in a swift choreography of growth and collapse, twine and coil, release and fade.
Close your eyes and music paints light vines and calligraphy on the darkness within you.” -Night of Cake and Puppets, Laini Taylor

I just thought this was such a beautiful image and I wanted to share it with you guys.

That’s all for this week, I’ll be back with another Thursday Quotables next week and since I’ve actually decided on the theme already, I may as well tell you that the theme for next week is going to be quotes about family, so stay tuned for that. In the meantime though, I will be back tomorrow with another Friday Favourites post for you, so make sure to check that out!

Leave a Reply

