Wishlist Wednesday #19

First off, thanks to everyone who commented on my Top Ten Tuesday post, I love reading all your lovely comments and enjoyed reading all the posts I’ve read this week, I didn’t manage to get through them all (so many people do Top Ten Tuesday after all!) but I enjoyed all the ones that I did read. The book I’m focusing on this week is Tiny Pretty Things, I’m not exactly sure where I came across this one, I think I read a review of it on someone’s blog and it sounded good, so I added it to my TBR.

tiny pretty thingsBlack Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be the prima at their elite ballet school.

Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette’s desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

I loved the book immediately from the description Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars, as the movie Black Swan is great and I love Pretty Little Liars, so that instantly had me hooked. It’s not the type of book I would normally read, I have to say, since I’m not ultra into dance, but I love drama filled stories and this definitely sounds like one of those. Plus, I liked that the description said there was diverse characters as I’m trying to diversify my reading as much as possible. It sounds as if the characters in this book may be pretty unlikeable though, which I’m fine with, but if that’s the case, they have to be well developed and there has to be something that you can empathize with them on, otherwise I know I will hate the entire book. It seems like it could be an interesting read anyway, so I hope I like it when I finally get to it.

I will be back with another Wishlist Wednesday next week, but tomorrow I will have a new Thursday Quotables post for all of you, so make sure that you check that out.

2 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday #19

  1. klgd2008 August 20, 2015 / 1:26 am

    I read this one earlier this year and I thought it was really good. It is very dramatic and some of the characters are a little unlikeable, but it was a really good book.

    • iloveheartlandx August 20, 2015 / 12:57 pm

      That’s good to hear, I’ll have to check it out and see if I feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

