Friday Favourites #18

For my Friday Favourites this week, I decided to choose another one of my favourite authors to talk about, since I haven’t done an author post in a few weeks, and the author I’ve chosen this week is Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve only actually read 4 of her books, but I’ve loved all of them, so she definitely qualifies as one of my favourites.

maggieNew York Times bestselling author of The Shiver Trilogy, The Raven Cycle, and The Scorpio Races. Artist. Driver of things with wheels. Avid reader.

All of Maggie Stiefvater’s life decisions have been based around her inability to be gainfully employed. Talking to yourself, staring into space, and coming to work in your pajamas are frowned upon when you’re a waitress, calligraphy instructor, or technical editor (all of which she’s tried), but are highly prized traits in novelists andartists. She’s made her living as one or the other since she was 22. She now lives an eccentric life in the middle of nowhere, Virginia with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, two neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki.

I started reading Maggie Stiefvater’s books when I was 15 or 16, with The Scorpio Races and I have to admit, that whilst I liked it, I didn’t completely love it, her writing was beautiful but I never completely fell in love with the story or the characters. Then I came across The Raven Boys. I can’t exactly remember why I decided to read it, I was looking for a new read, I picked it up, the cover looked good and it sounded intriguing, so I tried it. It took me a while to get into, the world and the characters are a little strange and the story felt a little slow at first, but once I got into it I really enjoyed it and by The Dream Thieves, I was completely addicted! These characters feel like friends to me now and I’m totally invested in the quest to find Glendower and I just what to see what happens next! I’m so excited for the release of The Raven King, the anticipation is huge, especially since the release date was pushed to next year. I’m glad that she is taking the time to make sure the book is perfect, but damn, I need it now. I love her writing, her characters, the weird and wonderful world she has created in The Raven Boys, everything. Plus, her twitter account is awesome, she’s definitely my favourite author to follow on twitter because her tweets are always so hilarious, I’d love to meet her and see if she’s as hilarious in real life as she is online. She’s definitely one of my favourite fantasy authors and I’m looking forward to seeing what she does after The Raven Cycle is finished.

Here is a link to her website if you would like to find out more:

http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/

Anyone else a big fan of Maggie Stiefvater? Anyone met her? Let me know!

I will have another Friday Favourites post next week, but in the meantime, tomorrow I will have another Sidekick Showcase Saturday for you all, so make sure to check that out!

Leave a Reply

