Top Ten Tuesday #16

image

This week’s topic is all about fairytales and fairytale retellings, which I’ll be honest, I haven’t really read all that many, so I’m going to choose the fairytale retellings I’d like to read rather than my favourite ones, but I wanted to expand the topic a little, to just retellings I’d like to read rather than specifically fairytale retellings, although they probably will be mostly fairytales.

1. Cinderella-I’ve never been all that big of a fan of Cinderella, but I would like to read some more modern retellings of Cinderella, maybe ones where Cinderella is a little more strong and feisty than she is in the fairytale. I already have my eye on some, especially Cinder, the first book in The Lunar Chronicles and I know there are a number of Cinderella retellings out there, so I’m looking forward to trying some of them.

2. Sleeping Beauty-I’d love to read a more modern version of Sleeping Beauty, with an Aurora character that I could maybe relate to a little more. One of the books I bought at YALC is a sci-fi retelling of Sleeping Beauty, so we’ll have to see whether I like that one or not!

3. Beauty and The Beast-It’s my favourite Disney princess movie, so I’d love to read some retellings of one of my favourite stories. I’m currently reading A Court of Thorns and Roses which is a Beauty and The Beast retelling and I am enjoying it, but it is a little slow paced for me. I’d definitely like to read some more Beauty and The Beast retellings though.

4. Arthurian Myths-I really enjoyed the TV show Merlin (it’s a BBC TV Show, if you haven’t watched it then you should, it’s amazing) so I’d love to see some modern retellings of the Arthurian legends, I can imagine that any retelling with Merlin and Arthur would be awesome.

5. Robin Hood-Again, I liked the BBC TV show of Robin Hood and I think I’d really enjoy reading a Robin Hood retelling, maybe one with a female Robin Hood? Not that I don’t like the male Robin Hood, but it would be interesting to read a retelling where Robin Hood is a girl.

6. The Little Mermaid-I’m sure I must have watched the Disney movie when I was a kid, but to be honest, I don’t really remember watching it, although I know the story. I think it would make a great retelling, maybe a high school retelling? I don’t really know what form I’d want the retelling to take but I know I’d like to read one.

7. Snow White-Again, I’d love to read a more modern version of Snow White, I feel like this could be a really funny retelling as I’d imagine the dwarves would be really funny. It’s much the same thing as Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella really, I’d love to see a stronger Snow White, more like the Snow White from Snow White and The Huntsman as compared to the one from the Disney movie.

8. Rapunzel-I liked Tangled and I would like to see a retelling with Rapunzel as she was in Tangled, a more assertive, stronger, more independent type of girl. I feel like a fantasy retelling of Rapunzel would be really cool.

9. Little Red Riding Hood-I always liked Little Red Riding Hood, I remember dressing up as her for World Book Day and also for a fun run I did for school a few years ago, so I would definitely love to read a retelling!

10. Alice In Wonderland-It’s such a fun story and I would love to read a retelling of it, I think it would be brilliant, I’m not exactly sure what genre the retelling would be, but I reckon it would be a really fun retelling to read.

11. Sherlock Holmes-I love Sherlock, so I would be so excited to read a Sherlock Holmes retelling, I already have my eye on one, Every Breath by Ellie Marney.

I kept it to ten this week! I haven’t done that in a couple of weeks! This week, I’m going to ask for your recommendations! If you have read any retellings of the stories on my list this week, then let me know, I would love to hear from you, tell me if they were good or not. Would you like to read any retellings of the stories on my list? What did you have on your list this week? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with a new top ten list, next week’s topic is Top Ten Authors You’ve Read The Most Books From, so you have that to look forward to next Tuesday. In the meantime though, I will have a new Wishlist Wednesday post for you guys tomorrow, so make sure to check that out.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #16

  1. Amy August 4, 2015 / 5:07 pm

    I like this idea and think I might just steal it for my own list. I too don’t read this type of story often…

    • iloveheartlandx August 4, 2015 / 8:09 pm

      Thanks! Yeah me too. I just read your list actually and a few books went on my TBR.

    • iloveheartlandx August 5, 2015 / 5:00 pm

      I’m sure I will, I love anything to do with Sherlock. I’ll have to check out your list and see if there’s anything I like the sound of!

  2. Melanie August 5, 2015 / 4:58 am

    Really like the way you formatted your list and thought you choose some really great fairy tales!

  3. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf August 6, 2015 / 4:52 am

    Awesome list! I love these fairytales. If you like Cinderella, I’m sure you’ll like Cinder. I’ve never actually seen the original Snow White but I’ve seen retellings. I liked Snow White and the Huntsman (the storyline, at least). I’d love to see it retold as a novel though — this is where Winter comes in haha. Rapunzel and Tangled are my favorite! You’ll also like Cress (retelling of Rapunzel!) — Fairest, also in Lunar Chronicles, is a retelling of the queen in snow white.

    • iloveheartlandx August 6, 2015 / 8:52 am

      Sounds like The Lunar Chronicles is definitely the way to go for me then!

  4. Stacee @ Adventures of a Book Junkie August 6, 2015 / 1:32 pm

    The Splintered series by AG Howard and Alice in Zombieland series by Gena Showalter are both excellent and very different Alice retellings. Both are amazing with awesome heroines and swoony boys.

  5. Brin Guivera August 6, 2015 / 1:52 pm

    Nice list! I especially like your idea for modern retellings of Arthurian Myths. That would be awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 6, 2015 / 2:15 pm

      Yes it would! There must be some out there somewhere, it’s such a good idea for a retelling that I can’t believe someone wouldn’t have had it already.

  6. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense August 6, 2015 / 5:48 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever read a Robin Hood retelling, but I do know one called Scarlet that imagines Will Scarlet as a female character and I really want to get my hands on that one.

    • iloveheartlandx August 6, 2015 / 7:10 pm

      Yeah, I’ve heard of that one too, it’s on my TBR. I’ll have to see if there’s one out there with Robin Hood as a female character.

  7. lynnsbooks August 10, 2015 / 9:01 pm

    What a great list – I love that you have Sherlock on here. I love Holmes and Watson. Did you read the Horrowitz story House of Silk?
    Lynn ๐Ÿ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx August 10, 2015 / 9:07 pm

      Thanks. I do, too, they’re one of the best fictional duos ever. No, I haven’t, I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

