Monday Recommendations #16

I’m continuing with the movie theme for this week’s Monday Recommendations (this theme will probably go on for a while, there are a lot of movies that I like!) and for this week’s recommendations, I decided on musical films that I would recommend (I know, I know, there are a million movie musicals, so I’m really not making things easy for myself!) as I love a good movie musical.

1. Moulin Rouge-I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that this is my favourite film, I love this movie, the story is great, the music is amazing, the costumes are incredible, the actors are awesome, it’s just…..my favourite film ever. If you haven’t watched it yet, then you really need to.

2. Chicago-The music is great, much like Moulin Rouge, when I watch this film, I end up with the songs in my head forever! It’s a really fun film and the dance routines are incredible.

3. Beauty and The Beast-I know this was on my list last week, but I love this movie so much, it’s one of my childhood favourites and Be Our Guest is one of my favourite Disney songs, possibly ever.

4. The Lion King-Again, on my list last week, but it’s another one of my favourite films and the music in this is amazing, definitely the Disney movie with the best music.

5. Hairspray-Oh this film! You cannot help but smile when watching it and again, the songs are so catchy that they get stuck in my head for days after watching it.

6. Mamma Mia!-It’s kind of cheesy, but it’s a guilty pleasure movie and worth a watch.

7. Country Strong-It’s more of a drama than your classic movie musicals are, but the songs are great (if you like country music which I do) and I enjoyed the drama, plus I love Leighton Meester and she’s in it. It’s definitely worth watching, the story is good and the songs are great.

8. Pitch Perfect-I love this film! It’s funny but in a really clever way and the cast is awesome, the music is fun and modern and it’s just general a really great film.

9. The Last Five Years-I really enjoyed this, it’s simple but really cleverly done and the music is really awesome.

I will be back with more great movie recommendations next week but tomorrow is Top Ten Tuesday, so make sure you check out that post.

4 thoughts on “Monday Recommendations #16

  1. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum August 4, 2015 / 1:32 pm

    Chicago is one of my favorites. I saw the musical on stage and also the movie an embarrassingly number of times in the theater when it came out. Great film, wonderful sets, awesome choreography and singing. I think the only weak link was Gere. Renee Zellweger was amazing though.

  2. iloveheartlandx August 4, 2015 / 2:24 pm

    I love it too, although I probably haven’t watched it anywhere near as many times as I’ve watched Moulin Rouge! But yes it is an awesome film and Catherine Zeta-Jones and Renee Zellweger were both awesome. I saw it on Broadway when my family went to New York a few years ago and it was amazing.

  3. Elle @ Erratic Project Junkie August 12, 2015 / 9:16 pm

    I love musicals! I’m such a freaking nerd… Moulin Rouge is one of my favorites. Love Mamma Mia! too (even with the cheese factor). I am embarrassed to admit that I haven’t yet seen Pitch Perfect. I need to get my act together.

    • iloveheartlandx August 12, 2015 / 9:53 pm

      Me too! Moulin Rouge is my favourite movie ever, I’ve watched it so many times I’ve lost count by now. Yeah I like it too, the cheese is what makes it fun. You definitely need to see Pitch Perfect, it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

