Thursday Quotables #15

Whilst usually I would pick a new theme every week and pick quotes based around that theme, this week I’m carrying on with last week’s theme and exploring more quotes about death as I felt there was more to be found when I left off last week. So here they are:

1. Fire is catching!” I am shouting now, determined he will not miss a word of it, “And if we burn, you burn with us!” -Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins

I wasn’t that keen on Mockingjay, but this was one of my favourite parts in it.

2. “Losing Chloe had been like reading a wonderful book only to realize that all the pages past a certain point were blank.” -Salem Falls, Jodi Picoult

I love Jodi Picoult’s writing and I think this quote is particularly beautiful.

3. “It is useless for me to describe to you how terrible Violet, Klaus, and even Sunny felt in the time that followed. If you have ever lost someone very important to you, then you already know how it feels, and if you haven’t, you cannot possibly imagine it.” -The Bad Beginning, Lemony Snicket

I was addicted to this series as a pre-teen and younger teenager and I love the simplicity and starkness of the writing and this quote is a prime example of that.

4. “In the English language there are orphans and widows, but there is no word for the parents who lose a child.” -My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult

My Sister’s Keeper is definitely my favourite of her books and this is one of the quotes that stuck out to me when I first read it and still stands out to me now.

5. “There are all sorts of losses people suffer- from the small to the large. You can lose your car keys, your glasses, your virginity. You can lose your head, you can lose your heart, you can lose your mind. You can relinquish your home to move into assisted living, or have a child move overseas, or see a spouse vanish into dementia. Loss is more than just death, and grief is the gray shape-shifter of emotion.” -The Storyteller, Jodi Picoult

This is definitely high up there on my list of favourite Jodi Picoult novels and the theme of death and loss and grief is present throughout, this is just one of many quotes around that theme from The Storyteller.

6. “The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. And only Peeta can give me that.” -Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins

I love this quote because to me this is exactly what Peeta means to Katniss through the whole series, he is the symbol of hope for her, that no matter how many people close to her she loses, if she has him, then she still has hope that life can be good again and I love that.

7. “To say there had been a loss was ludicrous; one lost a shoe or a pair of keys. You did not suffer the death of a child and say there was a loss. There was a catastrophe. A devastation. A hell.” -The Pact, Jodi Picoult

I like this because I’ve always been confused about why people use the expression “loss” when it comes to death, it seems like such a weird way to express a loved one being gone.

That’s all I have for this week, I apologize for this being a little late and I promise next week, I will try to actually get it done for Thursday! I will have to do my Friday post for you tomorrow as it’s late here now. I will also hopefully have my Saturday post tomorrow as well.

 

Leave a Reply

