Friday Favourites #14

I know it’s not Friday, but I was so tired after YALC yesterday that I really just didn’t feel like writing any posts, so I thought I’d just post this today instead. Coming up with this week’s Friday Favourite was actually pretty easy, since I met one of my favourite authors at YALC yesterday, so it seemed fitting that I did this week’s Friday Favourite post on him. That author, is of course, Derek Landy.

IMG_0177 (Me and my friend Hannah with Derek Landy at YALC yesterday)

Derek Landy is an Irish writer and screenwriter. In addition to the bestselling children’s/YA series ofSkulduggery Pleasant books, a supernatural mystery series starring Skulduggery Pleasant, a skeleton detective, and Valkyrie Cain, a young female magician, he has written two screenplays that have been made into films: the IFTA award winning “Dead Bodies” and the IFTA nominated “Boy Eats Girl”. Landy himself was nominated for an IFTA for Best Script.

He doesn’t like to brag about all the awards he’s won, such as the Irish Book of the Decade, or the Red House in the UK, or all the other awards that he humbly displays on his mantelpiece. He is also far too modest to mention things like the first book being a Publisher’s Weekly Best Book of the Year, but would like to extend an invitation to Oprah to pop around one day for tea, in thanks for selecting his book for the Oprah’s Book Club Kids Reading List.

Derek plays too many video games, reads too many comics, and watches too many movies. He lives in Ireland with too many cats. Occasionally he talks to real people, but only when he absolutely has to.

Skulduggery Pleasant is one of my favourite series, I mean it has magic, horror, a talking skeleton detective, humour, what is not to love? This makes Derek Landy one of my favourite authors, obviously, as Skulduggery came from his brilliant mind. Seriously, I cannot explain how excited I was to meet him yesterday, me and my friend have been fans of Skulduggery for years, I think I started reading them when I was about 13, so I’ve spent most of my teenage years reading these books and they are definitely one of my favourite series, so getting to meet Derek Landy was just awesome. I will expand more on this in my YALC recap post, but briefly here, I just wanted to say how lovely Derek Landy was, he was so nice and so funny, just like I’d always imagined he would be. I cannot wait to read Demon Road, although it might be a while before I do, because I picked up so many books at YALC yesterday! Seriously, I’m set for the next year!

I will have my YALC recap post later on today for you and my normal Sidekick Showcase Saturday post as well. In the meantime, you only have a couple more days to vote on what I read for the read-a-thon next week, so make sure you go to that post and leave a comment saying what you think I should read.

Leave a Reply

