Thursday Quotables #14

For this week’s Thursday Quotables, I decided to choose death as my theme this week, which may sound kind of morbid, but there are actually some really beautiful quotes about death, so I thought I’d share some of them with you today. As always, there will be no less than five quotes and no more than twenty.

1. “To the well organized mind, death is but the next great adventure” -Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone

Ah, Dumbledore, how wise you are. I love this because it makes death seem far less scary and is a far more positive outlook on death than is usually seen.

2. “If you gave someone your heart and they died, did they take it with them? Did you spend the rest of forever with a hole inside you that couldn’t be filled?” -Nineteen Minutes, Jodi Picoult

I love Jodi Picoult’s writing and this quote is one of my personal favourites.

3. “Even death has a heart.” -The Book Thief

I couldn’t do a list of quotes about death and not include one from The Book Thief could I? The fact that Death is the narrator of this and it actually seems as if Death has a conscience, is one of my favourite parts of the book.

4. “Don’t feel bad, I’m usually about to die.” -The Battle of The Labyrinth

I thought I’d include something a little more lighthearted to lighten the mood of this post a little!

5. “If you have a sister and she dies, do you stop saying you have one? Or are you always a sister, even when the other half of the equation is gone?” -My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult

I know I’ve used this one before, but it’s one of my favourite ones from one of my favourite books, so I thought I’d use it again.

6. “Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect” -Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix, JK Rowling

Okay, so this isn’t explicitly about death, but I think we can infer the meaning and it’s a pretty quote.

7. “and he suddenly knew that if she killed herself, he would die. Maybe not immediately, maybe not with the same blinding rush of pain, but it would happen. You couldn’t live for very long without a heart.” -The Pact, Jodi Picoult

The Pact is one of my favourite books (one of many!) and I love this quote, it’s beautiful and one of the quotes I wrote in the front cover of the book, which I only do with the ones I love and want to remember.

8.  “Love as powerful as your mother’s for you leaves it’s own mark. To have been loved so deeply, even though the person who loved us is gone, will give us some protection forever.” -Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone, JK Rowling

As you might have guessed, this list will feature a lot of Harry Potter quotes! What I can I say? There are a lot of beautiful quotes about death in those books! This one is one of my favourites actually, it’s really beautiful and very moving.

9. “But death was her curse and her gift, and death had been her good friend these long, long years.” -Crown of Midnight, Sarah J Maas

Sarah J Maas’ writing is lovely and this is just one of many quotes from the Throne of Glass series that I could have picked. I just especially like this one, because it really makes me feel for Celaena.

10. “Of course I want to kill you,” said Skulduggery. “I want to kill most people. But then where would I be? In a field of dead people with no one to talk to.” -The Dying of The Light, Derek Landy

Again, I thought a little humour would be good to lighten the mood and who doesn’t love a bit of Skulduggery?

It’s kind of late over here, so I’m going to stop there, however, I’m going to do something unusual and continue with these theme next week because I feel like there are a lot more beautiful quotes out there just waiting for me to find. So I’ll be back with that post next week, but in the meantime, tomorrow I will have a Friday Favourites post for you and also a YALC (Young Adult Lit Con) Recap Post for all of you, as I’m going tomorrow! I can’t wait, I’ve been so excited for this for ages and I can’t believe it’s finally happening! Prepare for a very excited post tomorrow about it!

One thought on “Thursday Quotables #14

  1. Emalie July 17, 2015 / 10:26 pm

    Hey there, I’m returning the favour and nominated you for the Liebster Award ;D . Here is the link.

Leave a Reply

