Sidekick Showcase Saturday #13

I was inspired for this week’s post by last week’s Swoonworthy Sunday post on Gansey, because I love The Raven Cycle and it has a pretty amazing cast of supporting characters, so this seemed like the perfect chance to give some love to the supporting characters of one of my favourite series. I decided to this week focus on the women of 300 Fox Way. I could have done individual posts on each of them I suppose, but I thought a group post would be better, since my reasons for loving them are much the same. I like that, as with all of the characters of The Raven Cycle, the women of Fox Way are wonderfully odd and eccentric. I also like that Blue has a present family, so often in YA books, parents are absent/dead/playing no role in their child’s life and whilst Blue may not have a dad, she certainly doesn’t lack in family. I love her relationship with her mom and that Maura appears to play an active role in her daughter’s life. I like Persephone because she kind of has her head in the clouds and yet she appears to be very wise and she’s really sweet. I have to say I’m not all that keen on Orla, she’s a little vain for me, but I like the variety she adds to the group of women, one of the things I love most about the women of 300 Fox Way is that the women whilst they do share some similairties, all have quite different personalities. Calla is kind of grumpy but I still like her, in fact I feel like she is the most interesting one of psychics because of her psychometry gift, where she can see the origin of an object when she touches it, which I think is so cool. I love that she’s very confident in who she is and doesn’t apologize for it. I also like her relationship with Blue, but that goes for all the women! Neeve kind of creeped me out, but I did enjoy learning about scrying and after the end of the last book, I’m interested in seeing what will happen to her.

Basically, I really love these women, they’re all so different but they work so well as a group, depsite the fact that they probably shouldn’t and I love all their eccentricities. Even though I’m kind of sceptical on the whole psychic thing, I love watching these women work, I find it really cool and they are a very fun group of characters to read about.

I will have another one of these posts for you next week, but tomorrow I will have another Swoonworthy Sunday post for you so make sure to check that out. Voting is also still open for my Make Me Read-It Read-A-Thon Reads, so I would love it if as many people as possible voted for those. I’ve also created my very first book tag, Swiftie Book Tag, so make sure to check that out, do it and then tag your friends!

Leave a Reply

