Friday Favourites #13

I was inspired for this week’s Friday Favourites by a film I recently watched, this film being Mr Holmes with Ian McKellen, I decided that I would focus today’s Friday Favourites on a fictional character who is beloved by many, Sherlock Holmes. It is slightly embarrassing to admit that I have never actually read the original Arthur Conan Doyle stories, although I do hope to remedy this in the future, but I feel that I know enough about the character from film and TV to be able to say that he is one of my favourites (I have also read the Young Sherlock Holmes books). My love for the character may or may not be contributed to by the fact that I find both of the actors that I have seen play him hot, but I do actually like the character as well, I promise!

sherlock 1sherlock 2

I think the reasons I like Sherlock are probably the same as many people, the fact that he is so incredibly smart is very appealing. I love how eccentric he is, it makes him a very fun character to see on screen and I’m sure he is just as fun to read about in the original Arthur Conan Doyle stories. I find that Sherlock has a strange sort of charisma, you can’t help but be drawn to him and the way that he can tell where people have been, what their occupation is etc from just one look at them and picking up clues based on their appearances is really cool. He can be kind of arrogant, but whilst I would find that annoying in real people, I like it on him, because he knows how clever he is and he’s not afraid to show it, which for whatever reason, I kind of like. I like that he’s skilled at a numerous number of things. I love his relationship with Watson, seeing them interact and their chemistry together, is one of my favourite things about both the movies that I’ve seen and the TV show. Basically, Sherlock is a very unique and fun character and I really enjoy watching Sherlock Holmes movies, so hopefully I will get around to reading the original books at some point soon.

I will be back with another one of these next Friday, but tomorrow I will have my Sidekick Showcase Saturday post for you, so make sure to look out for that. The voting is still open for the books I’m going to read for the Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon, so make sure you go over to that post and vote for what you want me to read!

Leave a Reply

