Wishlist Wednesday #13

As always, thank you everyone for your lovely comments on my Top Ten Tuesday post both yesterday and today and I would also like to thank everyone who has voted for my Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon books so far. You still have a while to vote, so make sure you check out that post and vote for what books you want me to read during the read-a-thon! Anyway, you all know the drill by now, I pick a book from my TBR that I don’t currently own and have been wanting to read for a while and tell you all about it and why I’m excited to read them. The book I have chosen this week is one I’m planning to read this summer, it’s quite surprising that I haven’t read it yet really because I’ve read all the other books in the series so far but with so many books to read, some are bound to fall by the wayside for a while! The book I am referring to is The Assassin’s Blade, by Sarah J Maas, a collection of novellas in from the Throne of Glass universe.

the assassin's blade

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

I have to admit, I don’t usually read the novellas of the series I like, but this is usually because they are only released in e-book format and I don’t have a Kindle (though I recently caved and downloaded Kindle for PC as I was tired of missing out on novellas in series I like because I don’t have one) rather than because I don’t want to read them. I never normally find that I’m missing out on much by not reading the novellas. However, for this I make an exception, because it’s a collection of novellas, not just one and it’s in a universe that I really love, plus it’s in book form rather than e-book form. I kind of do feel like I’m missing out by not having read this because everyone in the fandom always talks about Sam and I have very little idea of who he is. Plus, with Celeana going back to find Arobynn in the next book, I feel like this collection of novellas will give me a better understanding of their relationship. I’m kind of going through Throne of Glass withdrawals, so I would really like to get to it before September, one because I feel it will help me understand the situation in Queen of Shadows a little better and two because I just miss Celeana. I’ve been suffering a major book hangover since finishing Heir of Fire, so I feel like breaking into something else in this universe will be the perfect cure! I can’t wait to dive back into Celeana’s world!

I will have another Wishlist Wednesday for you next week, but tomorrow I will be doing another Thursday Quotables, so make sure to check out that post. Also, I’m still running the voting for what I’m going to read during the Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon, so check out that post and vote for what you think I should read.

Leave a Reply

