Monday Recommendations #11

The astute among you may have noticed that today is not Monday, it’s Tuesday. Unlike when I mixed up my first Wednesday and Thursday posts, this was not a mistake, I was just so tired last night I couldn’t bring myself to write anything for the blog, Sorry about that, but at least you’re getting this post today. For today’s post I decided to write about classic books I would recommend for people who don’t like classics. I’m not a classic book fan at all, most of the classics I’ve read I have either hated or not finished but there are the rare few that I enjoy. So if you’re like me and not keen on classics, but perhaps looking for some you might enjoy, these are what I’d recommend.

1. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell-This is probably better if you’re a horse lover, since it is all about horses, which I am so obviously I really enjoyed it but for a reluctant classic reader this is a really short book and quite different to a lot of novels from a similar time period. I think if you’re a horse lover and looking for a nice, quick read then this is a good one.

2. What Katy Did by Susan Coolidge-I read this one a few years ago and really enjoyed it, I found it a lot more fun than a lot of classics are and fell in love with the headstrong Katy. I would definitely recommend it for reluctant classic readers as it’s not too long and Katy’s adventures are great to read about.

3. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee-This is a more modern classic and now is the perfect time to read this with the sequel coming out. I’m not going to say I absolutely adored this book, I didn’t, I only really got interested when the trial started but it covers issues that are still relevant today and it’s a good insight into race, plus it’s nowhere near as boring as something like Jane Eyre (sorry to any Jane Eyre lovers, I couldn’t finish it!). Still, it might be a good introduction to classics, since it’s a more modern setting so might appeal to those who don’t want to read something set in the Victorian era.

4. Noel Streatfield’s Shoes books-I don’t know if these are exactly classics, they were published from the 1930’s onwards, so they are kind of old at least. These are better suited for younger readers, but they are enjoyable stories, and less intimidating than some bigger classic books.

5. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by CS Lewis-This is again written for kids, but I’m pretty sure adults can enjoy it too. The story of Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy is an enchanting one, again not my favourite book ever, but it’s a fun story to read with a great cast of characters and it’s quite short, so all in all pretty good for someone who is reluctant to read classics.

So there are my Monday (well Tuesday) Recommendations. I will be back with another Monday Recommendations post next week, but I have my Top Ten Tuesday post still to do today, so make sure you check that out when I post it.

Leave a Reply

