Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award

I wasn’t technically nominated for this, but I saw a post of this on Anjie Love Thy Shelf’s blog and I liked her questions, so I wanted to be a rebel and do this of my own choosing rather than being nominated for it. The award celebrates the unique voices of women (and men) across the world.

The Rules:

-Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog.

-Display the Sisterhood of The World icon on your blog.

-Answer the ten questions given by the person who nominated you.

-Nominate 10 bloggers to do the award.

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award11 1. What is your absolute number one favourite book ever?

I hate this question! I always tell people, never ask me this question because it’s too hard. I feel like by saying one book, I’m betraying all of the other wonderful books I love. If I had to chose, I’d go with Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, because that book is just generally wonderful, and that ending……that’s still the most shocking end to a book I’ve ever read, even five years after reading it for the first time.

2. If a book character could come to life and run for office, who would you want as King/Queen?

Ooh, that’s a good one and a hard one. I’m going to go with Celeana (Aelin) from the Throne of Glass series, because I reckon no one would dare mess with our country if she was the Queen.

3. Think of all the dystopian books you’ve ever read. Which dystopian world would you rather be a part of?

None of them really! Seriously, who would want to be part of any of those worlds? I think Divergent because of all the dystopians I’ve read, I think that world is the least worst.

4. Channeling Rick Riordan, who would be your godly parent?

Me and my friend have this discussion all the time! I think it would be really cool to have Hades as my godly parent, as the powers of his kids seem really cool, who wouldn’t want to be able to summon a skeleton army? Shadow travelling sounds like a lot of fun too!

5. What is your biggest bookish pet peeve?

Ooh, tough question! I’m going to say insta-love in books, there are not the words to describe how much I loathe insta-love. I loathe it even more than I loathe love triangles and that is saying something!

6. Do you want a job/career in the book industry? What would you want to do?

Ideally, I want to be an author, it’s always been my dream and I hope that one day it actually happens, I’d love to be one of those people who actually ends up doing what they said they wanted to when they were a kid.

7. If you could already have a book that hasn’t been released yet, which would you pick?

The Raven King! I seriously want to see what’s going to happen in the last book of The Raven Cycle, and I’m so sad that the release got pushed back to next year, because it was one of my most anticipated reads of 2015! Plus it’s so long to have to wait!

8. If you had to be a supernatural/fantasy being what would you chose?

Ooh, this is a tough one! I’m going to go with demigod, I’d love to be a demigod, it would mean I got cool powers and got to go to Camp Half-Blood, what’s not to love? (Okay, so the being attacked by monsters thing isn’t so great, but they teach you to deal with that!).

9. Why do you love reading?

That’s quite hard because it’s not really one specific thing. I love being transported into a different world and that you can basically have a different adventure every time you read. I love learning new things from books. I love all the different characters you can have. Basically, I guess I love that you get to use your imagination and experience all these amazing and wonderful stories. Reading to me, truly is like magic.

10. Recommend a book that isn’t popular and deserves a bigger following

You guys are going to get so tired of my shameless plugs, but please, please, please if you haven’t read Neal Shusterman’s Unwind Dystology then just do it. They’re brilliant, creative, wonderful stories and they really do deserve a bigger following. There are not that many series that I devour as quickly as I did this one and it’s become one of my favourites, so if you haven’t tried it already, then do. You won’t regret it!

My Questions for my nominees:

1. Do you DNF books? Or are you like me and find it really hard to, so you just push through to the end even if you hate the book and it takes you forever?

2. What movie can you watch over and over again and still love?

3. Do you reread books? Why? Why not if you don’t?

4. What is the most shocking book ending you’ve ever read? (You can just say the book if you don’t want to get spoilery!)

5. Is there a specific book that got you into reading?

6. What is your most hated book? Why?

7. What was the last book that surprised you by how much you liked it?

8. Do you have a specific genre that you like to read from more than others? Or do you try a little bit of everything? Are there any genres you won’t read from?

9. If you could be any character from a book, who would you chose?

10. What is your favourite Disney movie? Random, I know, but I’m  curious!

My nominees:

1. Nevillegirl @ Musings from Neville’s Navel

2. Maren @ The Worn Bookmark

3. Kristi @ The Hidden Staircase

4. Conny @ Study. Read. Write.

5. Kathy @ KathyReadsFiction

6. Emalie @ Bookgatherer

7. Dreamingthroughliterature

8. Signourney @ A Dance With Books

9. alwaysopinionatedgirl

10. Stephanie’s Book Reviews

Obviously, you don’t have to do this if you don’t want to, but if you decide to, then leave your links in the comments, I’d love to read your posts. If anyone decides to be a rebel like me and answer my questions without being nominated, then feel free!

7 thoughts on “Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award

  1. pennma05 June 25, 2015 / 1:33 pm

    Yay! Thank you so much for the nomination 🙂 I loved your questions!

    • iloveheartlandx June 25, 2015 / 1:38 pm

      No problem! Thanks! I’m just reading your post now actually!

  2. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf June 25, 2015 / 8:56 pm

    Thanks so much for doing this and I’m glad you liked my questions haha, I’ll make sure to tag you the next time 😀 I loved My Sister’s Keeper! That book was so amazing and that ending was so shocking! I thought I had it all figured out and then BAM! Jodi Picoult throws us under the bus haha. Did you see … the movie?! When I was writing up that question, I was thinking Aelin would make an awesome Queen (President for me in the US haha). She’s so amazing and she’s such a great fighter. She wants the best for her people and I can’t wait for what’s in store for us in Queen of Shadows.

    I’m looking at all my dystopians and I think Divergent is the least worst! I didn’t even think of Hades as a parent *oops* that’s such a great pick. I would love to shadow travel haha and to have a skeleton army, it’s hard to be defeated when you can just keep getting more skeletons lol. I haven’t read The Raven Cycle but it’s on my TBR! That sucks that it got pushed back a year?! Hopefully that means that Stiefvater is planning and writing something really good!

    I wanted to be a demigod, too after I read PJO but I’ve been reading Throne of Glass and ACOTAR and faeries are pretty cool. I want magical powers really lol. Oooh Unwind, I’ve heard of it! It sounds interesting. It’s the one where they take apart body parts and then sell it right? I thought that it was a cool concept but then it kind of creeped me out lol so I haven’t read it yet but it’s on my TBR.

    Great answers!!

    • iloveheartlandx June 25, 2015 / 9:08 pm

      No problem! Thanks, I appreciate that! I know me too, it is such a great book and the end…..I can think of very few book endings that truly shocked me but that one was one. Jodi Picoult always has a twist up her sleeve but I never saw that one coming. I have seen the movie, it makes my blood boil that they changed the ending! Why would you change brilliance? Yes, Aelin would definitely make an amazing Queen, she’s totally awesome, can fight well and really loves her people, what more do you need? Yeah, that’s what I did. I wouldn’t want to live in any of them, but at least I think I could survive in Divergent, which is not true of any of the others! Yeah, Hades is awesome. I was going to put Poseidon, but I realized that since I always say I’d like Percy to be my book boyfriend, putting Poseidon would be creepy! Plus a skeleton army is so cool, like you said, you can just keep summoning skeletons. That one was hard, there were a lot of things I considered putting, to be honest I’d be happy being anything that gave me magical powers or abilities! They’re so great, I recommend them, though I will say that there is a slow build in the first book, but once it gets going it’s really awesome. Yeah, it does suck, but she said she needed more time to edit and I respect that, I’m just terribly impatient when it comes to books I like and want to read them all now. I’m sure whatever she’s planning will be amazing though, and worth the wait. Yes, that’s the one, they take teenagers from the age of 13-18 apart and use their organs for transplants. It is a cool concept, creepy, but in a good way I think. It’s a really unique series, I’ve never read anything like it before, so if you get a chance to read it I highly recommend. Thank you!

      • Anjie @ Love thy Shelf June 27, 2015 / 2:16 am

        Yeah! Of all things to change in a movie, they change the huge plot twist! It’s like if they took The Fault in Our Stars (I had to make sure you already read it haha — I felt it didn’t live up to its hype too) and then had Hazel die instead of Augustus. Worst thing they could’ve changed.
        Yes! I can survive in Divergent, too. I’d pick like Amity or Erudite or something haha I can’t do dauntless lol I’d die trying to jump on the train.
        Hahah if you were Poseidon’s daughter, you’d be step-siblings with Percy and that’s awkward since you want to date him haha.
        I hope that The Raven King is worth the wait! I’ll look into Unwind and try to get a copy of the first book (I’m still in a book buying ban lol — worst thing ever!)

      • iloveheartlandx June 27, 2015 / 11:10 pm

        I know right! Like change anything else you want, but don’t change the twist ending! Thanks, I appreciate that you checked, because if I hadn’t read it, that would be the worst spoiler to get! Yeah, it’s just like that. I think I’d be Erudite if I was in Divergent, I don’t really see myself fitting into any of the other factions! I’d be way too much of a wimp to jump off the moving train! Yeah, it would be way awkward! Hence why I chose Hades instead. So do I! I’ll be kind of pissed if it isn’t given how long we’ve had to wait! Yes, book buying bans are the worst thing ever, I haven’t bought new books in ages but I’m going to YALC (a book con in London) in July, so I’m hoping to come back with loads of books!

Leave a Reply

