Friday Favourites #10

For today’s Friday Favourite, I decided I would choose another favourite author of mine to cover, and if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you will know how much I love her books, and really it’s quite surprising that it’s taken ten weeks for me to get around to featuring her! The author that I have chosen to feature this week, is of course Jodi Picoult.

blog picture 2Jodi Picoult is the author of twenty-two novels, including the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Storyteller,Lone Wolf, Between the Lines, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children.

I first started reading Jodi Picoult when I was thirteen, and my first novel of hers was My Sister’s Keeper. I’m not entirely sure who recommended it to me now, it may have been my sister, but anyway, I got it out from the library at school and read it. I completely fell in love with the book, the story, the characters, Jodi Picoult’s beautiful writing, basically everything about it, so I then proceeded to read as many of her other books as humanly possible, and she has become an auto buy author for me, I will read pretty much anything she writes. I love her writing, it’s so beautiful, the inside covers of all of my copies of her books are filled with quotes from the book that I’ve written in there because I want to remember them. I will admit that sometimes her plots can be a little formulaic (she has used the courtroom drama a lot!), but I always find her stories enjoyable and each one has something different to offer. You can tell how much research goes into them, because I can honestly say I’ve learned a lot when reading her books, whether it be about elephants in her most recent book, Leaving Time, or about Wicca in Salem Falls, or the Amish in Plain Truth, I don’t think there’s ever been a book of hers that I’ve read and come out having not learned something new at the end. I also like how her books make me think about topics I may never have thought about before, and allow me to form an opinion on these topics. I love that she’s not afraid to address difficult subjects in her books, and that she always addresses them sensitively, and thoughtfully. So many of her books are favourites of mine, and these favourite stories will remain with me for years to come.

One of my highlights of last year was going to a Jodi Picoult event in Ely, I loved hearing her talk about Leaving Time, and hearing her discuss her writing and researching process, it was very interesting. Plus, I got to meet her (briefly) and she was really lovely and signed all five of my books for me, it was a great experience!

If you haven’t read any of her books before (and I highly recommend them), then you can find out more about her and her books by visiting her website:

http://www.jodipicoult.com/

Any fellow Jodi Picoult fans out there? Which of her books is your favourite?

I will be back with another Friday Favourites next week, but tomorrow (or really later on today as it is after midnight here in the UK!) I will have another Sidekick Showcase Saturday for you, so make sure to check that out!

Leave a Reply

