Disney Book Tag

I saw this on Maren @ The Worn Bookmark’s blog, and she nominated anyone reading (as well as some other named bloggers) to do this tag, and since I love Disney, I knew as soon as I read her post that I wanted to do this tag, so here I am doing it!

#1 The Little Mermaid-A character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water”-I’m going to go with Petrova Fossil from Ballet Shoes, because she is completely out of her element at the Academy, she’s not skilled at dance, or singing or acting, she’s a complete tomboy and what she really wants to do is work with cars and fly planes, she’s not like her other two sisters who throw themselves into the Performing Arts.

#2 Cinderella-A character who goes through a major transformation-I’m going to chose a male character here (after all it doesn’t specify that the character has to be female, just that they have to go through a major transformation), and go for Lev Calder from the Unwind series. Not only does he undergo a physical transformation over the course of the four books, he goes through a major emotional transformation and the character he is at the end of Undivided is basically unrecognizable from the character he was in Unwind.

#3 Snow White-A book with an eclectic cast of characters-I’m going to go with Enid Blyton’s Faraway Tree, because there’s a very eclectic mix of characters living in the Faraway Tree, The Saucepan Man, Moonface, Silky, Dame Washalot. Mr Watizname, and The Angry Pixie, and I loved these books when I was a kid, and I remember that all of the characters had very quirky personalities.

#4 Sleeping Beauty-A book that put you to sleep-It didn’t put me to sleep exactly, but I didn’t finish it, so I think it works for this, and that book is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I had to read it for school, but I only got about halfway through and never finished the rest of it. I know it’s a classic, and lots of people love it, but it bored me. I could probably have listed several classics here, I find it a real chore to get through them.

#5 The Lion King-A character that had something traumatic happen to them in their childhood-I’m going to go with Pressia from Pure for this one, the Detonations must have been a pretty traumatic thing to go through, and added to that she ends up with a doll head fused to her wrist, that’s pretty awful stuff! I could have gone with any of the wretches from Pure for this, after all, ending up with something fused to you is pretty traumatic.

#6 Beauty and The Beast-A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful-At almost 760 pages (according to Goodreads), Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows definitely falls into the category of “beast of a book” and whilst I’m not sure if beautiful is quite the right word, considering the number of deaths in this book, I did really love it (on rereading, I read it in three days!).

#7 Aladdin-A character who gets their wish granted, for better or for worse-Tessa from Blind Beauty gets her wish granted, she wants to win the Grand National on Buffoon, and this is definitely for the better, because she does eventually achieve this dream.

#8 Mulan-A character who pretends that pretends to be something or someone they are not-I’m going to go with Count Olaf from A Series of Unfortunate Events for this, as he is constantly disguising himself in books 2-8 of the series in order to get his hands on the Baudelaire fortune.

#9 Toy Story-A book with characters you wish would come to life-Harry Potter, who would not like to meet the characters from those books?

#10 Disney Descendants-Your favourite villain, or morally ambiguous character-I’m going to go with Count Olaf again for this, I always enjoyed reading about him in A Series of Unfortunate Events and seeing what dastardly plan, and disguise he had come up with this time, plus he’s kind of an eccentric villain which I love.

I’m going to tag anyone who wants to do this, because it’s a fun tag and I think everyone should get the chance to do it. Leave your links in the comments if you do it, and let me know what you think of my choices.

2 thoughts on “Disney Book Tag

Leave a Reply

