Top Ten Tuesday #9

image

As I did my Summer TBR list a few weeks ago, and it really hasn’t changed since then, I decided I’d do a little something different this week, a top ten list that I’ve been wanting to do since I started doing Top Ten Tuesday, my top ten favourite villains. I don’t always hate villains, in fact sometimes I love the villains, but most of the time, I love to hate them. I don’t feel like you always have to hate a villain, you just have to find them scary (if they are meant to scare), and root for the protagonist to beat them. So without a further ado, here are my top ten favourite villains:

1. Voldemort from The Harry Potter Series-I mean how could I do a list of villains without including Voldemort? It is kind of impossible not be scared of him, with his creepy look, especially the fact that he doesn’t have a nose, that was the one thing that always creeped me out the most & you obviously hate him, because he’s Harry’s archenemy and his beliefs are really twisted, plus he’s not very easily defeated, which is always good.

2. Dolores Umbridge from The Harry Potter Series-I hate this woman! I mean seriously hate her, I think part of the reason why I wasn’t so keen on the fifth book, because there was so much Umbrige in it. She doesn’t seem from appearance like the sort of character you would hate, but I don’t think I’ve ever hated a fictional character as much as Umbridge, she’s so irritating, and cruel to the students and every time she opened her mouth I felt like I wanted to slap her!

3. Divan from Undivided-This black market organ harvester is introduced in the final book of the Unwind Quartet, and I just found him and his entire black market operation, particularly the express unwinding, so creepy & the fact that he thinks he’s better than the government makes me feel sick because if anything I thought his methods were worse. I’m not sure I’ve ever been creeped out by a villain as much as I was by Divan.

4. President Snow from The Hunger Games-I hated President Snow from the very start, he’s so sadistic, taking pleasure in watching the kids in the Hunger Games compete & he’s so power crazy, clearly not caring about his citizens as evidenced by the fact that he threatened kill Katniss’s family just to stay in power. The whole smell surrounding him of blood and roses really creeped me out as well, especially when it was revealed where the smell of blood came from. There wasn’t a moment in the entire trilogy where I didn’t hate him, how anyone could allow something like The Hunger Games to happen, I do not know.

5. Jeanine Matthews from Divergent Trilogy-There’s something about incredibly intelligent villains that I find very appealing, I think the fact that she’s so intelligent makes her even more scary than if she wasn’t because in order to beat her, you have to outsmart her. I don’t think there’s any point where I didn’t hate her either, she’s willing to sacrifice anyone and everyone in order to be powerful.

6. Kamal Hadley from Noughts and Crosses series-I cannot think of one redeeming quality about this guy, he’s racist and thinks all Noughts are scum, and doesn’t seem to care much for his wife or his daughters, plus he forces Sephy and Callum to make a terrible decision at the end of the first book. He got what he deserved in the end though (ie nothing).

7. Ellery Willux from the Pure trilogy-Again, I can’t think of one single redeeming quality of him, he thinks he and the Pures are so much better than everyone else and the detonations were his idea in the first place and he only spared the people he wanted. Also he was awful to his wife, and to Partridge as well, all in all, not a very nice man.

8. Luke Castellan/Kronos from Percy Jackson-Luke is the one villian on this list that I kind of feel sorry for, because he only went over to Kronos’s side because he felt neglected by his dad and his mother was kind of loopy, to be honest I don’t really blame him, so although I did hate him for a while, and I thought he was a great villain when he was Kronos’s host (sorry spoiler if you haven’t read the books!), I felt sorry for him and he did make the right decision in the end, so I don’t hate him as much as the other villains on this list.

9. Bellatrix Lestrange from Harry Potter-I kind of love to hate her, as she is evil, but she’s so weird and crazy, and kind of fascinating, so whilst I hate her, I love to read about her if that makes any sense!

10. Count Olaf from A Series of Unfortunate Events-He’s scary, but at the same time kind of funny because he’s such a weird and eccentric villain and his disguises are so awful that you wonder how stupid the guardians of the Baudelaires have to be to believe him. I mean he does some shocking things, and is definitely truly evil, but I did find him kind of funny at times (though not as much as the film would have you believe).

11. Opal Koboi from Artemis Fowl-She’s such a cunning pixie, you can’t help but admire her, even though you really hate her. Her personality is kind of outrageous and really enjoyable to read, I loved the whole mad pixie wanting to take over the world thing, the really mad, yet incredibly clever thing works really well.

12. Magaret Covington Godfrey Brooks (Maggie) from Uncommon Criminals-I loved the villain in this book, because she felt like she was a really match for Kat in terms of being a con-artist and how smart she was, which made it even more satisfying when Kat managed to out-con her.

13. Rat Man from the Maze Runner trilogy-Yes, he does have a real name but I prefer Rat Man. Rat Man was just so evil, and crazy (literally), and creepy, that I couldn’t help but hate him.

14. Dr Cable from the Uglies trilogy-She’s the doctor who came up with the operation that turned Uglies into Pretties and as with Jeanine, it’s her intelligence that makes her a brilliant villain and a formidable opponent for Tally.

15. Oliver Reznick from Dangerous Boys-To put it simply, Oliver is a sociopath, and completely creepy all the way through the book, even before you find out how dangerous he really is, he always seems far  too charming and you can never quite trust him.

16. Baron Maupertuis from Death Cloud-The villain in the first Young Sherlock Holmes book, this guy is just super creepy, but explaining why would be a huge spoiler for those who haven’t read the book, so I won’t.

17. Arrhenius from Snake Bite-Never mind his evil plan, this villain is scary enough just on looks, he swallowed silver in order to stop himself from getting sick and it left him with awful, silvery skin, just the descriptions of him made me shudder.

18. The King of Adarlan from Throne of Glass-He doesn’t even have a real name and I hate him! He’s killed so many innocent people all because of his own personal vendetta against magic. Plus, how could you do what he did to Dorian at the end of Heir of Fire? No father who truly loved their son would ever do that!

19. Elijah Lazio from Blood Ties and Blood Ransom-This guy is just awful! Everything he does is to benefit himself, he doesn’t care about anyone else, and he is really, truly, creepy. He’s so mad, and yet you can’t help but respect the guy’s intelligence!

20. Roman Riley from Split Second and Every Second Counts-Roman Riley is one of the worst kinds of bad guys there is, because you think he’s a good guy and then you end up feeling betrayed when you realize that he’s actually one of the bad guys, who thinks that blowing up people is okay.

21. Maurice Morrison from Blind Beauty-Another guys who doesn’t have a single redeemable quality, he’s rude and cruel to Tessa as well as beating up her mother, and he’s a drunk and a gambling addict. I didn’t even feel bad when something bad happened to him, because he deserved it.

There are probably way more than that, but I can’t think of them right now, plus, I’ve already gone way over ten! Who else would you include in a list of great villains? Do you agree with my choices? Who do you think I’ve left out? Can you recommend any books with great villains? Let me know!

I will have another Wishlist Wednesday for you tomorrow, and I will be back with another one of these next week, but again, I will have to change the topic because it’s my ten favourite top ten topics that we’ve done in the last five years in honour of the very first TTT, and obviously I’ve only been doing it nine weeks, so I can’t really join in on that topic! So instead I’ve picked my favourite topic out of the ones that have already been done which I haven’t done, and that topic is top ten favourite fictional couples in books, as I’m sure you’re all aware how much I love my couples, so I hope you all like that one. In the meantime, check out my Friends book tag, a recent post I did yesterday.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #9

  1. beckmank June 16, 2015 / 3:27 pm

    Fun idea! Although Delores Umbridge would not make my list. I hate her, and she is not a favorite villain. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2015 / 4:13 pm

      Fair enough, I really just meant that she was a good villain rather than that I actually liked her.

      • beckmank June 16, 2015 / 4:47 pm

        I’ll take my chances with Bellatrix and Voldemort. 😉

  2. Sam Whitehouse June 16, 2015 / 4:08 pm

    Cool list. I’ve wanted to read Uglies for ages. May get round to it this summer.

  3. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense June 16, 2015 / 6:34 pm

    Villains can be so interesting! I totally agree with you about Umbridge, that woman was crazy. And I kind of love Bellatrix too, I imagine if I was a villain I’d aim for her kind of madness. What a fun list!

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      Thanks, it was fun to do, I love a good villain! Yeah she was, crazy. Me too, she’s mad but in a more eccentric kind of a way than a totally bonkers kind of way which I think would be fun to be!

  4. Veronika June 16, 2015 / 7:51 pm

    Some villains are real fun to read about. Oliver from Dangerous Boys was definitely my favorite character, well I liked the Chloe (I think that was her name?) a lot too, especially when she went a bit… crazy. Sociopaths fascinate me. It’s so interesting to read about them. Count Olaf what a weirdo haha. I hated him with all my heart when I was a child but then watched the movie and from them on couldn’t read any of his scenes without wanting to laugh. Everyone is always saying they love to hate Bellatrix but I just can’t! She killed one of my favorite characters so I can’t even enjoy her character. Really great list!
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2015 / 8:18 pm

      Yes they are! I wasn’t so keen on the characters in Dangerous Boys, as in I didn’t like them per se, but they did fascinate me especially Oliver as I loved the look into the mind of a sociopath. Yes, he was incredibly strange! I hated him too, but the movie didn’t really change that for me, although I agree they definitely made him maybe a tad too funny in the film. Fair enough! Thanks!

  5. Mallory @ The Local Muse June 17, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    I totally agree with Baron Maupertuis!! He really creeped me out, and I still have a hard time shaking off his creepiness when I think about him! Harry Potter has some of the best of the worst, that’s for sure! I hated Umbridge more than Voldemort!
    Thanks for stopping by the The Local Muse

  6. iloveheartlandx June 17, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    Me too, I’ve no idea how Andrew Lane came up with him, but he was terrifying! Yes Harry Potter does have some great books. I agree, Umbridge is worse than Voldemort!

  7. Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight June 17, 2015 / 10:04 pm

    Oooooh President Snow. Definitely a fabulous villain. I especially liked him at the end. Still awful, still a villain, but… well, you know 😉 Also, Jeanine! UGH to her. And YES I love when people mention the Unwind Series. Gosh, SO many bad people to choose from there! Fabulous list!!

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2015 / 10:18 pm

      Yes, he is, I think he’s at his best in Mockingjay, although the end almost made me feel sorry for him. I hate Jeanine, she is most definitely ugh! So do I, it’s my new favourite series, and not many people in the blogosphere seem to mention it, so I try to as much as I can on here, so more people know about it and hopefully read it! Thank you, I’m glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

