Monday Recommendations #9

For this week’s Monday Recommendations, I thought I would give you recommendations for historical fiction to read, as I love history, and love reading, so historical fiction is always a winning combination for me, and I enjoy learning more about different periods of history through books in this genre. I apologise that most of these will be World War Two based, as that seems to be the period of history that I read the most about, but I swear, I am trying to expand my historical fiction horizons! Anyway, here are this week’s recommendations for you:

1. Cross My Heart by Carmen Reid-A WWII based book about the Belgian Resistance, I highly recommend this one, I loved the characters, especially the main character Nicole, and the story, and since I didn’t know much about the Belgian resistance, it was good to learn more.

2. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult-A holocaust based book, partially set on the present, following a survivor’s granddaughter as she tries to decide whether she can forgive a former SS guard who worked at the camp where her grandmother was imprisoned, and whether or not she will help him to die, & partially set in the past, her grandmother’s story of her time spent in the camp during the Holocaust. This book is worth reading for Minka’s (the grandmother) story alone as it is truly captivating and heartbreaking.

3. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys-Okay, technically I haven’t finished this one yet, but I am just over 3/4 of the way through, so I can feel fairly confident in recommending this book to all of you. It’s a sad story, of course, but I think ultimately a hopeful one, and I’ve really enjoyed reading it, especially  as I didn’t know much about the experiences of deportees under Stalin before, and honestly these characters do seem real to you after a while, and it’s so heartwrenching to think that the experiences of Lina and her family were the experiences of many, very real people (this is the same with all historical fiction, but I find particularly in books set in wartime).

4. The Winter Horses by Phillip Kerr-This wasn’t my favourite book ever, but might be good for someone looking for a start into historical fiction as it’s a relatively easy read, and again, I didn’t know much about Ukranian experiences during WWII so it was nice to see a different perspective.

5. The Roman Mysteries by Caroline Lawrence-I never finished the whole series, but those books that I did read, I really enjoyed & these are quick, gripping, fun reads for younger kids who want a start into historical fiction and are interested in Ancient Rome.

Those are my recs for this week, but if you are also a fan of historical fiction, then do you have any recommendations for me? I’m willing to try something from any era of history, as long as it’s a good read.

I will be back with more recommendations for you next week, but tomorrow I will have another Top Ten Tuesday post for you, so make sure that you check that out.

One thought on “Monday Recommendations #9

  1. Kaitlin @ Reading is My Treasure June 16, 2015 / 6:10 am

    I haven’t heard of most of these (I don’t read much historical fiction), but I’ve read Between Shades of Grey. It’s a great read! The Storyteller looks really interesting. I really like Holocaust based books. Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

