Monday Recommendations #8

So I’m back with another Monday Recommendations for all of you. This Monday, I decided I would recommend series of books that I love, and yes, most of these have probably already been on previous lists but I don’t care because they’re great books! If you’re like me and love a good series, then these are my recommendations for you all to try.

1. Unwind Dystology-Neal Shusterman-Surprise, surprise, heh? Just kidding, you all knew that this one was probably coming with the amount I harp on about these books. I just love them so much, I don’t think I’ve ever read a series of books as fast as I read this one, and it’s just such a great concept, and has such great characters, and they’re such good stories, and so fantastically creepy……I could go on but I won’t, as we still have a lot of recs to get through! If you love dystopian, and you like books with a bit of creep factor then try these. You won’t regret it!

2. Harry Potter-JK Rowling-Yup, I know, another big surprise here (not!). I grew up with these books and they will always have a special meaning to me. If you haven’t already entered the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, what are you waiting for? Magical adventures await!

3. Percy Jackson & The Olympians/Heroes of Olympus-Rick Riordan-I know, I go on about Percy Jackson all the time, but I love these characters and this world, and these stories are just so much fun, especially if like me you love Greek mythology. I maintain that Percy Jackson is one of my favourite fictional characters ever, and I can (and have!) spent hours talking about these two series of books, so if you haven’t checked them out already, please do! Two series of five books each might seem intimidating, but the first series flies by, and Heroes of Olympus is great too.

4. Skulduggery Pleasant-Derek Landy-He’s a freakin’ magical skeleton detective? Need I say more? If you love fantasy then you need to read these books, you are missing out on a world of awesome magical adventures, plus Skulduggery’s brilliant sense of humour. These are must reads, they’re so much fun, and Skulduggery is completely awesome (just ask him!).

5. HIVE-Mark Walden-I said this in my Top Ten Tuesday, HIVE is basically Hogwarts but for young criminals in training. The main protagonist Otto kind of reminds me of Artemis Fowl, and these are great action adventure books, very quick reads I found, with a fun cast of characters & even some cool gadgets.

6. Throne of Glass-Sarah J Maas-This series is kind of a slow burn, it starts off kind of slow in Throne of Glass, but persevere with it because it gets better and better throughout the series and now that we’ve reached the fourth book, things are really starting to sizzle. Celeana Sardothien is an awesome lead character and the cast of supporting characters is pretty great too.

7. The Raven Boys-Maggie Stiefvater-Again, kind of a slow burn series, but it is worth preserving because once you’re into it, you will be really into it. The relationships between the main characters are so well done, and all the magic and fantasy elements are really cool, I mean they’re on a quest to find a dead Welsh king, that’s pretty awesome! Plus you have time to catch up because the fourth book in the series is not being released until February (*sits here impatiently tapping fingers*)

8. Heist Society-Ally Carter-Again, these teenage heist books are a lot of fun. They could actually be read as standalones because each book focuses on a different con. I love how well thought out the cons are, and that I can never work out the con before it is explained! The characters are great, and it’s fun to read the dynamic of a girl with a lot of guys in a very male dominated business.

9. Artemis Fowl-Eoin Colfer-I enjoyed these books when I read them, although I have to admit, it was a while ago! I remember that I really liked the first four, and then wasn’t so keen on the last four, but maybe that’s just me. It’s a great fantasy book, and for those who like character development (well I mean that’s probably all of us, but anyone who’s especially into character development) the character arc of Artemis through the series is pretty great.

10. Pure-Julianna Baggott-I found this series very refreshing as it was quite different to any other dystopians I’ve read before, but I loved the world and the characters, and whilst it took me a while to get into the first book, it was amazing once I did. For those of you who like dystopian but are a bit bored of the smar old thing, this might be the series for you.

11. Noughts and Crosses-Malorie Blackman-Yes, I know, I go on about these a lot too, but it’s one of my favourite series (push through Knife Edge, Checkmate is so much better!) but I love these books. The love story between Callum and Sephy is beautiful, and there is no insta-love like in a lot of YA today, their relationship is developed over a number of years, and it’s great to see. Plus, I love the depiction of racial issues from the other side, it really helps you understand some of the issues of race in our society today.

12. Any Sophie McKenzie series-Okay, so maybe this is kind of cheating, but I love Sophie McKenzie’s books so much that I can’t recommend just one series to you, you should try them all!

13. The Hunger Games-Suzanne Collins-I have to admit, I liked the first two books in this series, not so much the third one, but I’m recommending it because I think it’s essential dystopian reading!

14. Young Sherlock Holmes-Andrew Lane-I discovered these books a few years ago, and instantly fell in love with Young Sherlock, I love seeing how Lane incorporates different skills of Holmes and shows how he could have developed them as a youth, plus it’s interesting to compare the young Holmes to the adult Holmes. They’re great adventures, each one focusing on a different crime, and it’s great fun to watch and see how Young Sherlock solves them.

15. A Series Of Unfortnate Events-Yes, this is a long series, but as far as I can remember (I read these books a while ago), they were all relatively quick reads. It’s a great series, chronicling the unfortunate lives of the Baudelaire orphans, and all the eccentric personalities they come across, and various misadventures they have. I like the creepy undertone and the heir of mystery about these books. Don’t watch the movie! The tone of the movie is nowhere near as dark as the books and the books are so much better.

So those are my recommendations of series for you all today. Have you read any of these? Did you like them? Do you want to read any of these in the near future? Do you have any recommendations of good series for me? Let me know in the comments!

I will have another Monday Recommendations for you next week, but tomorrow (or later on today really now!), I will be back with everyone’s favourite day, Top Ten Tuesday, so look out for that post!

6 thoughts on “Monday Recommendations #8

  1. Zezee June 9, 2015 / 3:45 am

    I really want to try the Raven Boys but I have to get through some of these series I’ve started first.

    • iloveheartlandx June 9, 2015 / 7:55 am

      I know the feeling! I usually have quite a few new series on the go at once, due to the long gap between book releases.

  2. Suzi Q., The Book Dame June 9, 2015 / 11:29 am

    I love everything about the Unwind Series. It is a shame that it takes so much social networking to create a buzz. Neal Shusterman is not into all that, and I really can’t blame him. He is home writing books that stand on their own accord, rather than selling books based on social chit. It is only to bad that more people haven’t read it. I tell people about it all the time. I still have Undivided to read. This summer for sure.

    • iloveheartlandx June 9, 2015 / 2:56 pm

      Me too! I know, it is, especially since the books that are the most buzzed about never seem to stand up, in my opinion. I think it’s great that Neal Shusterman writes books that stand on their own merit, but it does have the drawback that no one talks about it, hence why I go on about them all the time on here, I really want more people to read it! Ooh Undivided is such a great book, hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

