Sidekick Showcase Saturday #8

I had written a post for this, on Nehemia from Throne of Glass, going with a theme of best friend characters, which I chose myself, as JC has not done their post for this month yet. However, thanks to some techinical issues, somehow even though I had saved my post, WordPress managed to delete it. Don’t you just hate it when that happens? Anyway, luckily I had a backup idea for this post, as I don’t really want to try and reconstruct the entirety of the post I had already written from memory. This still fits with the best friend theme, as the character I have decided to focus on this week (instead of Nehemia) is Rudy Steiner, Liesel Meminger’s best friend from the Book Thief.imageRudy Steiner is the sweetest kid, he is so cheeky, always asking Liesel for a kiss. I love how loyal he is to her, and how much he clearly cares about her, even going as far to dive into a freezing lake to retrieve a book for her. You know how Rudy’s story is going to end long before it does, and yet you keep reading, unwilling to believe that this adorable kid who you have fallen in love with will meet this end. It’s amazing how heartbreaking you can find something that you knew was coming. Everytime Rudy appeared, I couldn’t help but smile, the kid is so adorable. I loved his relationship with Liesel, how he obviously has a crush on her, and she only sees him as a friend (or at least think she does), I though their friendship was so cute. It’s kind of incredible that all it took for me to fall in love with Rudy was the kid covering himself in charcoal and running 100m, in his own small way opposing the Nazi regime. He’s so energetic and lively, I loved that about him, I loved that he was a smart kid and was good at running. Rudy was the one that gave Liesel the nickname “The Book Thief” and I found that really cute. Honestly, if Rudy had been a little older, then he would have been on  a completely different meme (ie Swoonworthy Sunday). He’s so charismatic, and I found the fact that he was constantly hungry kind of amusing.

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what else there is to say here, I’ve basically covered pretty much why I love Rudy, he’s adorable, intelligent, a great friend to Liesel (they kind of have an almost partner in crime like relationship), he’s a runner, even though he’s young he questions what the Nazis are doing, he’s brave and he’s really caring. His story is so heartbreaking, and I will forever be bitter that he did not get that kiss from Liesel! That’s why I chose Rudy for my Sidekick Showcase today, he’s such a wonderful friend to Liesel, and he’s so adorable.

I will have another Sidekick Showcase Saturday for you next week, but in the meantime, I will have another Swoonworthy Sunday post for you all tomorrow, so check that out.

Leave a Reply

