Liebster Award 2015 #2

I have once again been nominated for a Liebster Award, I’m not entirely sure if you’re allowed to do this twice, but the questions are different and someone different nominated me, so who cares? Plus it’s quite fun to do these. Thank you to The Literary Counsellor for nominating me for this award, check out their blog here:

http://theliterarycounsellor.com

My Responses:

1. What inspired you to start blogging?

I originally started blogging because I love to write, and they say to be a writer it’s good to get practice writing. This seemed like a good way to do it, plus I had already started posting book reviews on Tumblr, and was having a lot of fun doing it, so when I found out you could use WordPress to start your own blog, I figured why not give it a go? I never expected my blog to get anywhere beyond a couple of people that I knew looking at it, so the fact that I have as many followers as I have, and have people from all over the world looking at my blog is really amazing to me. Thank you guys!

2. Which of your posts is your favourite so far?

This is a hard one, because I’ve loved writing all my posts, although I think you can definitely see the difference from when I first started blogging and now. I’m going to cheat a little and say what my favourite review post is and what my favourite non-review post is.

Review: Undivided by Neal Shusterman review-https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/category/reviews/unwind-quartet/undivided-unwind-quartet-4/

Non-Review: Armchair BEA: Book to Movie adaptations-https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/30/armchair-bea-book-to-movie-adaptations/

3. What is your favourite snack for when you are reading?

I’m probably weird in that I don’t usually eat whilst reading, so I don’t really have an answer for this.

4. Who is your favourite fictional character? Why?

Oh man! This is a really hard one! There are so many fictional characters that I absolutely love. I guess if I had to choose, I would probably say Percy Jackson. I connect so much with his sense of humour, and just overall love his character. I can (and have) spend hours talking about Percy. I love his powers, I love his personality, basically I love everything about this character.

5. Have you ever read a book just because you liked the cover? What was it?

I’ve never read a book just because I liked the cover. Sure, I pick up books based on the cover, but I choose to read them based on the contents, if I pick up a book and I don’t like the sound of it, I won’t read it, it’s as simple as that, no matter how pretty the cover may be.

6. What is your dream job and why?

Without meaning to sound cliche, my dream job is to be a writer. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do, to create worlds and stories for other people to enjoy. I get so much pleasure out of reading, and I would love to be able to give that pleasure to other people and inspire them in the same way that my favourite authors have inspired me.

7. Do you prefer hardcover, soft cover or e-books?

I have to say I prefer soft cover books (I assume soft cover means paperbacks right?) because they’re so much easier to carry around! I have hardback books, and I do like them, but they take up so much space in my bag and they’re so heavy! Plus most of my books are paperbacks and I have to have all my hardbacks on one shelf because they don’t fit anywhere else. Paperbacks are far more convenient for me. I don’t have a Kindle or any e-reading device, so I don’t read e-books.

8. What’s the most delicious meal you have ever eaten? And where were you?

Ooh, I’m not sure. I had a really great spaghetti bolognese, and profiteroles for desert, I think this was in a restaurant in Seattle, on our last night in Washington, a few years ago.

9. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

It hasn’t changed, I’ve always wanted to be an author, ever since I was a little kid and my dad used to read to me. I used to joke that I would be the next JK Rowling when I grew up, she was my favourite author, and I wanted to be just like her, we even have the same name, I said. My aims might be a little lower now, I know not all authors achieve the level of success that JK Rowling has, but I would still like to be an author, preferably a fairly well known one with at least one if not more than one published books. I’m still a dreamer at heart!

10. Describe your hometown in three words

Right now, I live in a small village, but I was born in London, so I’ll use that. London in three words, ummm:

Exciting, loud, busy

Okay so my nominees (sorry if like me, you’ve done this before!)

1. alwaysopinionatedgirl

2. Signourney @ adancewithbooks

3. ZeeZee @ ZeeZee with books

4. @bookminxreads

5. @sammisadventures

6. Emalie @ book gatherer

7. Amy @readwhatilike

8. @freereadandwrite

9. @BeauteDeLivres

10. @bookbloggersinternational

The rules are as follows:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

2. Answer the ten questions given by the nominator.

3. Nominate and link ten bloggers (with less than 200 followers)

4.  Notify all the bloggers you’ve nominated

5. Create ten new questions for your nominees.

My Questions:

1. What is your favourite genre of novel and why?

2. What are your least favourite tropes in YA fiction (if you read it)?

3. Which book first got you interested in reading?

4. Is there a book that still sticks with you long after reading it? Why has it stayed with you?

5. What books would you like to past down to your future (or current) children? Why?

6. What is your ultimate favourite book?

7. Do you “ship” characters in books? If so what is your favourite ship? If not, then why not?

8. Who is one author you’ve always wanted to meet? Why?

9. Do you have any weird bookish quirks?

10. What do you like most about blogging?

Have fun, and link your responses in the comments so I can read them!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award 2015 #2

  1. TheLiteraryCounsellor June 6, 2015 / 11:54 pm

    Thanks for responding even though you were already nominated before!

    Question 9 is a bit of a personal survey for me because I have a theory that every child wanted to be a marine biologist at some point. 😛

  2. iloveheartlandx June 7, 2015 / 8:34 am

    No problem! Nah never went through that phase, I’ve considered different careers but the only one that’s ever really stuck is being an author!

Leave a Reply

