Monday Recommendations #7

For this week’s Monday Recommendations, I thought I would follow on from my last Armchair BEA post, and recommend books that have been adapted into movies. This fits with tomorrow’s Top Ten Tuesday post, of top ten books you’d like to see as movies/TV shows as well, so I thought doing this topic for my Monday Recommendations had a nice continuity. I haven’t necessarily enjoyed all of the movies based on these books, but I definitely enjoyed all the books!

1. Percy Jackson and The Olympians-Rick Riordan-I will never stop recommending these books! They’re so good, and such fun reads, great if you’re a greek mythology nerd like me, or even if you’re just interested in the books, and highly recommended if you like Harry Potter. Don’t watch the movies, the first one is okay but the second one sucks.

2. Harry Potter-JK Rowling-Yes, I know, I recommend these all the time, and I won’t stop. If you think you might even be the slightest bit interested in the Wizarding World and you haven’t checked it out yet then do! You won’t regret it! If you’re not really a book fan though (I don’t know why you’d be reading my blog if you weren’t but anyway) then the movies are really good.

3. The Hunger Games-Suzanne Collins-Whilst the movie adaptations are great, they cannot give you the experience of being inside Katniss’s head that the books can. The movie adaptations are pretty faithful to the books, so if you liked the movies then you’d enjoy the books, and if you haven’t seen the movies, but like dystopian fiction, then this trilogy is a good one to read. Also if you’re looking for an introduction to dystopia, this would be a good series to start with.

4. Divergent & Insurgent-Veronica Roth-These aren’t actually my favourite dystopias, but they are both decent reads (I can’t say anything about Allegiant as I haven’t read it yet), and the movies are good as well (although the Insurgent movie is nothing like the books).

5. A Series of Unfortunate Events-Lemony Snicket-When I was a younger teenager I devoured these books, despite the dark tone, these are fun reads and pretty quick at least for the first three quarters of the series. I love the three Baudelaire orphans and the villian Count Olaf is great. Don’t watch the movie, it’s a mess, read the books instead.

6. Black Beauty-Anna Sewell-This is one of the only classic books I truly like, it’s a lovely story, perfect for horse lovers, but would also be good if you want to get into classics but some of those big thick ones look kind of daunting as it’s a very short book. The movie is also good, there have been several adaptations actually, but the best one is the 1994 film.

7. The Book Thief-Markus Zusak-The story of Liesel Meminger is such a beautiful story, perfect if you like WWII based fiction and want something set in Germany, but not something about the Holocaust. It’s a really unique book, there’s nothing else like it out there, and good if you’re a reader that likes reading about fellow bookworms. The movie is also really good.

8. Matilda-Roald Dahl-Speaking of liking books about bookworms…….Matilda is basically the ultimate book about a bookworm. This was one of my favourite childhood reads and I reckon I would probably enjoy it just as much now, it’s a really lovely story, and Matilda is such a wonderful character. The movie is terrific too.

9. Charlotte’s Web-E.B. White-I remember this being another story that I loved when I was younger, it’s a charming tale about the friendship between a pig and a spider and how she (the spider) saves the pig from slaughter. This is a really lovely story, great if you’re feeling nostalgic for your childhood.

10. The Maze Runner-James Dashner-I actually liked the movie better than the book here, but it’s a decent enough read if you can get past the overuse of glader slang at the beginning, and if you’re like me and need to read th book before seeing the movie.

11. Gone Girl-Gillian Flynn-If you like twisted crime thrillers, then this is definitely the book for you. I found the first half a little slow, but as soon as the second half started I really got into it, so you have to give it a while, but it is a good read. The movie is also awesome, although maybe not for people who are squeamish about blood.

12. The Princess Diaries-Meg Cabot-Again, I actually preferred the movie for this one, although maybe that is because I saw it first. This and the subsequent books in the series are great summer reads, very light and easy reads.

13. Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants-Ann Brashares-Again good for summer, as it’s a very light, easy, fun read with relatable characters and the movie, the first one anyway is good too.

14. P.S. I Love You-Cecilia Ahern-I was surprised that I enjoyed this book as it is primarily a romance, which I don’t usually like, but this one was different, probably because it was about a woman trying to get over her dead husband. I found the letter aspect of this really sweet. The movie of this book is a nice chick flick as well.

15. My Sister’s Keeper-Jodi Picoult-Probably still my favourite Jodi Picoult book, the story of Anna Ana and Kate Fitzgerald is an unforgettable one, it’s a really beautiful story that makes you think about a lot of issues, and the ending is just……so touching and heartbreaking, hence why I was so angry when they changed it in the movie. Don’t watch the movie of this one, read the amazing book.

I know I included a lot more books than usual this week, but there are a lot of great books I’ve read that have been made into movies. Are there any you would add? Any books you love that have been made into movies that you think I should read? What do you think about books being adapted into movies? Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them? Do you want to read any of these? Let me know!

I will be back with another Monday Recommendations next week, but in the mean time, I will have another Top Ten Tuesday post for you tomorrow, so look out for that!

2 thoughts on “Monday Recommendations #7

  1. digitaltempest June 1, 2015 / 11:21 pm

    I think the only two I haven’t seen on this list are My Sister’s Keeper (which I keep meaning to watch) and The Book Thief (which I didn’t even know had a movie). I’ll definitely have to check those out. Great list, though. Black Beauty was one of my all time favorite movies and books.

  2. iloveheartlandx June 1, 2015 / 11:34 pm

    The movie of My Sister’s Keeper is probably better if you haven’t read the book, because then you don’t know all the stuff they miss out or change, and you aren’t fuming by the fact that they changed the ending from the book! Yes, The Book Thief movie is fantastic, just as heart wrenching as the book. Black Beauty is one of my all time favourite movies and books as well! Thank you for checking out my list!

Leave a Reply

