Top Ten Tuesday #6

image

As I’m not really much of a seasonal reader, when you think of beach books you think of light, fluffy romances which is not really my scene at all, I thought for this week’s theme, I would just do ten books that I’m planning to read over the summer, since that makes more sense for me. So these are the ten books that I’m planning to read over the summer, I don’t know whether I’ll get through them all, but I’m hoping to make it through a decent portion of these.

1. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys-I’ve had this one for a while actually, but just haven’t got around to reading it yet, but it’s next on my to read list and I’m very nearly done with Slated so I should be reading this very soon! I picked it up because my history course over the last two years has been on Russia, but I haven’t learned very much about other countries in the USSR such as Lithuania and it’s a part of WWWII that I haven’t done before, so I’m hoping this will be a good learning experience as well as a good read. I need a good book after two slightly meh books that I have read recently!

2. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver-I wasn’t too keen on Panic, the first book of Oliver’s that I read, but I’ve heard great things about this one and the premise of the mean teen who dies and then gets to live her last day of and over again really appealed to me. I hope it’s as good as I’ve heard it is.

3. Trust In Me (on Goodreads it comes up as You Can Trust Me, but this is the title of the copy I have)by Sophie McKenzie-I love Sophie McKenzie as a writer, and have devoured basically everything she’s ever written and I have a feeling this will be no different. Whilst I wasn’t so keen on her other adult mystery, Close My Eyes, I do like the premise for this book, it sounds like a good mystery, so I’m hoping this one will be an improvement on her last adult book. I love psychological thrillers, which is what this is described as, so I have high hopes.

4. Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes-This is the english translation of a German book, and it immediately appealed to me, because I’m interested in the WWII, Nazi era of history and the idea of bringing Hitler into modern Germany and having everyone think he was an impersonator sounded really appealing to me. I like humourous books, and this sounds like it will be an enjoyable satire on a well known part of history, plus the writer is German so it should be really good.

5. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness-As you all probably know by now, I love a good dystopia. This one sounds interesting, kind of strange, but I like that, and the idea of a talking dog character completely appeals to me! My sister read this a while back and enjoyed it, and we have a somewhat similar taste in books, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it to. It sounds right up my alley, so I have high hopes for this one!

6. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein-As I’ve said already, I love WWII era fiction, and I love to learn new things about the war that I never knew before. I don’t really know all that much about female pilots, so I’m definitely interested in that aspect of the book, plus it sounds like it has a good female friendship in it, which I always love in a book and has a lot of girl power, which I also love. I’ve heard some really positive things about it, so I’m looking forward to digging into this one!

7. Allegiant by Veronica Roth-Yes, I know, let me have the choruses of “how could you not have read this yet?” but it’s a big book and I have a lot of others to read! And yes, I do already know how it ends, but given that it’s been out for a couple of years now, I was kind of expecting the ending to be spoiled before I read it, after all I am a book blogger and I do spend a lot of time on the Internet! I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one, some who loved it, some who hated it, but I want to read it for myself before I make up my mind in how I feel about the ending. This is kind of a reading for completeness sake, because I want to finish the trilogy, it’s probably the book I’m least excited about reading on this list. Still I have to read it before the film comes out next year, so this summer is the perfect time.

8. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas-I’m so excited about this one! I’ve been reading great reviews of it, it sounds fabulous, Beauty and The Beast is one of my favourite Disney movies, and this from what I’ve gathered is a retelling of Beauty and The Beast but with Fae, so basically, it’s going to be epic! (I hope).

9. The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas-Yes, I want a double dose of Sarah J Maas this summer! I don’t usually read novellas (mainly because most authors publish them as e-books and I don’t have a kindle) but since this is a paperback and I’ve been told how great this collection of novellas is, I want to give it a try. Plus, I’m pretty sure, as far as I’m aware you get some background on Arobynn and Sam, which seems like it would be helpful for Queen of Shadows, so summer is the ideal time to read this, before Queen of Shadows is released in September.

10. Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman-I’ve been dying to read another Neal Shusterman book ever since I finished Undivided, and I’m really excited for this one. Since he has personal insight, given that his son suffers from Schizophrenia, it should be really good, plus I did Schizophrenia as part of my Psychology A-Level, so I’m really interested in that aspect of the book, and the reviews I’ve seen of it have been really positive, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

What books are you planning to read over the summer? Any recommendations for me? Have you read any of the books on my list? Did you like them? Are you planning on reading any of the same books as me? Let me know! Also since books on your summer TBR is a topic coming up in a few weeks, I will just do something new that week, since my summer TBR probably won’t have changed much by then!

I will be back with another Top Ten Tuesday next week (top ten books you’d love to see as movies/TV shows) but tomorrow I will have another Wishlist Wednesday for you all, so make sure to check that out!

85 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #6

  1. Christine Danielle May 26, 2015 / 1:11 pm

    Before I fall sounds interesting. Enjoy your Summer!
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  2. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense May 26, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    I love The Knife of Never Letting Go. It is one of my very favorite books and one I really want to reread and review for my blog. I hope you enjoy it and yes, a double dose of Sarah J. Maas is always a good decision.

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 3:11 pm

      I’m really looking forward to it! It sounds like just the kind of book I always love, so I’m excited to get into it. Yeah, you can never get enough Sarah J Maas!

  3. bluekaren May 26, 2015 / 2:58 pm

    I haven’t read Allegiant either. I don’t know how it ends. I kind of wanted to see Insurgent before I read Allegiant since I recently read it. I am hoping to read it this summer as well. I hope we both enjoy the book.

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 3:14 pm

      Yeah that’s fair enough. I only know how it ends because I sae a goodreads discussion tab about the ending and what to know why everyone was so furious. Safe to say I shouldn’t have clicked! I hope so too, let me know how you find it when you’ve read it.

  4. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) May 26, 2015 / 3:41 pm

    You’re going to LOVE A Court of Thorns and Roses! I hope you enjoy Allegiant too! 😀 Have a great summer!

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 3:43 pm

      I hope so! Everyone’s been saying how good it is, so I’m really excited. Thank you, I hope you have a great summer too!

  5. TheLiteraryCounsellor May 26, 2015 / 3:59 pm

    Code Name Verity has been on my radar forever, but I always end up reading something else and forgetting about it until someone reminds me again.

    And I also haven’t read Allegiant. I’ve had it on my Kobo since it came out, but it just didn’t grab me in the first couple chapters so I gave up and moved on to something else. I’ll finish it some day, but I may have to reread the first two books just to remind myself of what is going on.

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 4:02 pm

      That happens to me all the time! I figure now is the perfect time to read Allegiant, since Insurgent is relatively fresh in my mind, I only read the book last summer and I want to read it before the movie comes out next year, plus I’ll have a lot of time.

  6. Lauren @ Always Me May 26, 2015 / 4:11 pm

    So many here I’d love to read, especially A Court of Thorns and Roses, Challenger Deep, and Between Shades of Grey. I hope you like The Knife of Never Letting Go and Code Name Verity!

    Thanks again for visiting my blog!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 6:32 pm

      Like I said, Between Shades of Grey is the next book I’m reading, so I’ll have a review of that relatively soon. I’m so excited for A Court of Thorns and Roses and Challenger Deep, I’ve been wanting to read them for months. I hope I like them too! Thank you for visiting mine.

  7. Christina May 26, 2015 / 5:27 pm

    YES, Code Name Verity! I really hope you enjoy that one. 🙂 I am also fascinated by WW2 fiction, so I’ll definitely be checking out some of the other titles on your list! Between Shades of Grey sounds especially good.

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 6:34 pm

      I hope so too! It sounds fantastic. Like I said, Between Shades of Grey is next on my list of things to read, so I’ll let you know what I think about it.

  8. Wendleberry May 26, 2015 / 6:34 pm

    The Knife of Never Letting Go has been on my to-read list for so long! I need to get around to it, i’ve heard such good things about Ness.

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 6:35 pm

      I’ve had it for a while too! I really need to get around to it soon.

  9. Helle @ Bookish Utopia May 26, 2015 / 7:53 pm

    What a great list! There are many books here that are on my TBR as well, and I’m hoping that I’ll get through them before summer is over as well!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 7:59 pm

      Thank you! I might have a chance of getting through these this summer since I have a long summer this year, but it depends on what other summery things I do!

  10. Tessa May 26, 2015 / 8:54 pm

    I definitely fall into the category of people who love Allegiant! If you already know that ending and you are past that, then you will probably love the book too. I know that a lot of people who hate the book are just upset about the ending. Really, it is a great book and a good ending to an amazing series. Good luck with your summer reading!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 9:00 pm

      Well that’s good to hear! I was kind of shocked when I first found out, but to be honest, the ending makes sense. Thank you! Good luck with your summer reading too.

  11. littlepinkcrayons May 26, 2015 / 9:55 pm

    Double dose of Sarah J. Maas is never a bad thing! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 9:56 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, you can never get too much Sarah J Maas.

  12. Uzi May 26, 2015 / 9:58 pm

    These all sound like interesting reads which I’ve now add to my ever growing TBR list!

  13. dreamingthroughliterature May 26, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    I too had a hard time with picking beach reads, since I don’t really read much of fluffy, light romances either. Allegiant is definitely worth a read, although I was mildly disappointed, not really with the ending, just the book in general, but still liked it very much! I just picked up The Knife of Never Letting Go from the library today. I’m so excited to read that one!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 10:23 pm

      They’re just not me. I read the occasional fluffy book, but not enough to fill a top ten list! I just want it to be a satisfying conclusion, I get a lot of trilogies where the first and second books are good and the third one is just totally unsatisfying so I hope it’s not like that too much. Me too! It sounds exactly like my kind of book.

      • dreamingthroughliterature May 27, 2015 / 11:06 pm

        I’m the same way! And yes, I totally understand how that goes. I hope you enjoy the reads!

  14. kamifurr May 26, 2015 / 10:23 pm

    Between Shades of Grey is an amazing book! I love Sarah J. Maas books! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 10:28 pm

      I hope so! It sounds great and I really need an amazing book after a couple of as I now like to refer to them “meh books”. I love Sarah J Maas too (obviously!).

  15. acps927 May 26, 2015 / 10:57 pm

    Between Shades of Grey is one I want to read sometime soon too, though I don’t think I’ll get to it this summer. And Code Name Verity is good but I found the beginning very slow… so if you find yourself in that boat stick with it! It gets really good later in the story!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2015 / 11:03 pm

      I’ve had it for a while, and it’s next on my list anyway, I’m also done with my current read Slated, so I should be starting it either the end of this week or the beginning of next week. Ah that’s okay, I have that problem all the time and I usually manage to stick with it. I like to give all my books a decent chance, I’m a very reluctant DNF’er!

  16. Michael May 26, 2015 / 11:24 pm

    For me, beach reading is anything I’d like to read while sitting on the beach. 🙂

    Yes, I do enjoy lighter fare there but I’ve also read some tomes as well. It kind of depends on my mood!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 8:33 am

      Me too, I’ll read anything on the beach, but I just don’t tend to read the lighter, fluffier kind of book anyway, I hate that sort of book, too much romance for me, so I wouldn’t change my reading habits just because of the season.

  17. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog May 26, 2015 / 11:33 pm

    Before I Fall was really good. It was the first Lauren Oliver I read. Then the Delirium series which I loved. But I hear you on Panic I was eh. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 8:34 am

      I’m glad to hear that. I don’t know whether with Panic it was just the book that was meh or whether I was disappointed because I was expecting so much better. It was probably a little of both.

  18. Michelle @ In Libris Veritas May 27, 2015 / 1:04 am

    I have some of these on my TBR as well! Before I Fall and Code Name Verity have been sitting in my library for ages now, and I need to break down and just read them. I don’t really do beach reading, but I change my immediate TBR so much that it was easier for me to just come up with a hypothetical situation, lol! I was actually surprised I had 10 light fluffy reads I enjoyed enough to share this week.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 8:37 am

      They’ve been on my shelves for a while too! That’s fair enough, my immediate TBR stays relatively constant because I try to get it down enough so that I can buy new books! It’s good that you found some books that you enjoyed enough to to share even if you don’t read on the beach!

  19. Marie May 27, 2015 / 1:31 am

    Both ofMaas’s books are amazing. Allegiant, eh… not that great of a book, but you might like it where I hated it.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 8:37 am

      That’s good to hear. I’ve heard it’s kind of a love of it or hate it book Allegiant, so I’ll see which camp I fall in when I’ve read it.

  20. Cait May 27, 2015 / 7:45 am

    Ahhhh SUCH excellent picks! I absolutely adore Sarah J Maas! And her novellas are perfection (usually I skip them too, but trust me, these ones read like an entire novel not really a novella. xD) Challenger Deep is incredible. Neal Shusterman is a genius. o.O I loved Brusied by him too, afjkdlsa so many family feels. Ohhh, and Code Name Verity? YOU’RE GONNA NEED TISSUES. I would like to try Before I Fall too!! I didn’t like Panic, but I loved Vanishing Girls and Rooms and the Spindlers by Lauren Oliver so I figure…hehe, one bad, and 3 good makes me need to try more from her. 😉
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 8:42 am

      Thanks! Me too, I have heard that her novellas were good, and the fact that they are actually in physical book format rather than e-books means I have to read them! I’m so glad to hear that Challenger Deep is good, I’m intending on devouring as much Neal Shusterman as I can so I’ll probably read Bruiser at some point soon. I have heard that, just the kind of book I like, one that really hits you in the feels! Before I Fall sounds good, and I figure I should give Lauren Oliver a chance and not base her work solely off a book that the general consensus seems to be is not one of her best.
      Thanks for stopping by here!

  21. Erika May 27, 2015 / 8:59 am

    Allegiant is one of the books I plan on reading this summer, although it wasn’t on my top ten. Great list 😀

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 9:12 am

      I hope I’ll be able to get through more than the ones on my list, but these are the ones I definitely want to try and get through this summer.

  22. Stephanie May 27, 2015 / 9:48 am

    ACOTAR is awesome! You’re gonna love it when you start reading it. 😀 I finished reading it a few days ago and it blew my mind. Haven’t read the Assassin’s Blade yet, though I do have it on my TBR and an ebook copy of it lying around.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 11:38 am

      That’s good to hear. Apparently Assassin’s Blade is really good, so I should enjoy it.

  23. Sarah May 27, 2015 / 11:23 am

    The Assassin’s Blade is so, so good!
    I’m also excited for ACOTAR. I can’t go anywhere on twitter without hearing about it. It sounds amazing.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 11:39 am

      That’s good to hear. I know, me neither. I figure I should get to it soon before I end up finding out spoilers!

  24. Suzi Q., The Book Dames May 27, 2015 / 11:40 am

    I love the variety. I have owned the Knife of Never Letting go, along with the other books in the series. I should really get to it. I have a friend that raves about the series. Here’s to a great summer of reading.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 11:47 am

      Thanks! I try to read a lot of different stuff so I don’t get bored of the same thing over and over again. I’ve had The Knife of Never Letting Go for a while, bu haven’t had time to read it, so I’m hoping to get to it this summer. Yes, here’s to a great summer of reading!

  25. Lizzie the Sarcastic Blonde May 27, 2015 / 1:20 pm

    100% YES to Sarah J. Maas! Assassin’s Blade gives you the feels, FYI. I cried a little. It helps explain Celaena’s background so well! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 6:53 pm

      Aww I love books that give you the feels (especially in the sad way, don’t know why, I like to be emotionally traumatised by books for some weird reason!). That’s good, I feel like I understand Celaena’s background a little more with Heir of Fire, but with Queen of Shadows coming out, I feel like this is the perfect time to read Assassin’s Blade.

  26. teafunny May 27, 2015 / 2:59 pm

    Great list, a few of these almost made my list. They are on my “someday” list. Happy reading.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 6:43 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I’ve add a lot of that with these lists, people have had books on there that I want to read but probably won’t get around to.

  27. Trish @ Between My Lines May 27, 2015 / 6:15 pm

    I loved Before I Fall but just to warn you that you have to give the MC a chance to improve! She is horrible at the start but there is great character development. And Code Name Verity is one of my fav YA historical fictions books. Hope you love them both!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 6:47 pm

      I have heard that, that she’s awful to start off with but gets better. I love good character development in a book so I have a feeling this one’s going to be a great one! I hope so too, I have a good feeling about both of them!

  28. Adriana Garcia May 27, 2015 / 6:59 pm

    Before I Fall is as good as everyone says it is. The main character and her friends take a little getting used to because after all she is a mean girl, but then she keeps on reliving that last day. It transforms her.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 7:06 pm

      I’ve heard that. I love good character development, so I have a feeling I’ll like this one.

  29. lattenightsreviews May 27, 2015 / 7:26 pm

    I think the Sarah J Mass books would be perfect. They are so badass and idk it would help to be badass and forward to meet new people during the summer.

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 7:28 pm

      I am really excited to read the Sarah J Maas books! I love her writing!

  30. Jacque May 27, 2015 / 7:49 pm

    Great list!! Before I Fall is one of the few Lauren Oliver books that I still need to read. I’m just starting to read Sarah Maas’s books this summer, but it looks like you are well on your way. I hope you enjoy all of these books and thanks for stopping by my TTT!!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 8:00 pm

      Thanks! It’s only my second Lauren Oliver book, but I’m hoping this one will be better than my last experience of Lauren Oliver. Yeah, I started reading Sarah J Maas’ books early last year, pretty soon after I started blogging actually and I’ve been hooked ever since. These are the only two I have yet to read, so I’m hoping to read them before the release of Queen of Shadows. I hope you enjoy her books as much as I did! No problem, thanks for stopping by mine!

  31. Bookish Realm May 27, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    I’m really interested in reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I feel like I need to read Throne of Glass first lol!!

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 9:36 pm

      You don’t necessarily have to since the series are unrelated but it might be a good idea.

  32. Rachel May 27, 2015 / 9:43 pm

    Excellent picks! Especially the S J Maas books, she’s a favourite author of mine and I just finished ACOTAR, SO good! R x

    • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 9:48 pm

      Thanks! She’s a favourite author of mine too. I’m so glad to be hearing so many people say ACOTAR is so good, it’s making me even more excited for it!

  33. Sam Frost @tsundokubooks May 28, 2015 / 12:25 am

    Great list! I, too, want to get to Before I Fall- it’s been on my TBR since it was released (or at least that’s how it feels). Happy reading and thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

    • iloveheartlandx May 28, 2015 / 7:20 am

      Thanks! I’ve had most of these books for ages so I really need to get around to them soon! School and an ever expanding TBR do not mix well! Happy reading to you too, I hope you get all the reading you want to do done this summer, and thank you for returning the favour and stopping by my blog!

  34. Kathy May 28, 2015 / 1:25 am

    This is a great beach read list! I have a few of these, especially Maas, I want to read this year.

    • iloveheartlandx May 28, 2015 / 7:18 am

      Thank you! I hope you get around to reading everything you want to.

  35. Jaina May 28, 2015 / 1:29 am

    I read Between Shades of Grey last year. It’s absolutely amazing, and utterly heartbreaking. About as far from a fluffy beach read as it gets! I’m not really a seasonal reader either, though, so it doesn’t really matter. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx May 28, 2015 / 7:15 am

      Sounds perfect! I’m in need of a good book that gets me in the feels. Yeah I don’t really
      get the whole seasonal reads thing, I’ve never done it, I mean last year I read Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places at the beach, and that’s about as far away from a light, fluffy read as you can get, but I still enjoyed it. Plus I’m not really into books like that anyway, these ones are far more me.

  36. sairachowdhry May 28, 2015 / 9:29 am

    I love the Knife of Never Letting Go! Great list here

  37. Lindea May 29, 2015 / 2:14 am

    Before I Fall has been on my reading list forever, it’s a kind of book I’m really hesitant to dig into because it sounds like it will be heartbreaking, or at least aching.

    • iloveheartlandx May 29, 2015 / 8:20 am

      I love books like that, books that really make me feel something but I can understand why you might be hesitant.

  38. signourney May 29, 2015 / 6:37 am

    The Knife of Never Letting Go sounds interesting, but I’ve always chosen purchasing other books over that one. Overall sounds like a great list of books for the Summer. 🙂
    I read Allegiant a few months ago I think. I wasn’t a fan.

    • iloveheartlandx May 29, 2015 / 8:24 am

      It sounded right up my street so I knew as soon as I saw it that I had to get it, but I get the feeling, there are so many books you want to read that certain books, even if you find them interesting fall by the wayside. Thank you! I have heard that it’s one of those divisive books that you either love or hate, so it will be interesting to see which side I fall on.

  39. bookishgirl61 June 16, 2015 / 6:54 pm

    You are not alone in not having read Allegiant yet. I’m not the best in finishing series, especially after everyone said this is one hard book to get through. I’ve read The Knife of Never Letting Go and it was really good. I’m sure you’ll love it. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx June 16, 2015 / 6:55 pm

      I’m usually pretty good at finishing series, but just haven’t got around to this one yet. I’m glad to hear that, I hope you’re right. Happy reading to you too!

Leave a Reply

