Sidekick Showcase Saturday #6

For this week’s Sidekick Showcase Saturday, I decided to use another of JC’s topics for May, favourite character over 60. And sticking with the Harry Potter theme that has run through my Tuesday and Thursday posts this week, I decided to focus my Sidekick Showcase on one of my favourite fictional characters, possibly ever, Albus Dumbledore.

imageI love Dumbledore, I always have. For one thing, Dumbledore is incredibly smart, he worked out about the horcruxes where no one else did, and he is also very wise, some of my favourite quotes from the Harry Potter books are pearls of wisdom from Dumbledore. I love how eccentric Dumbledore is, he has a great, weird sense of humour and by all accounts is slightly odd. It certainly says something about Dumbledore and his power that Dumbledore is the only wizard that Voldemort is scared of. Yes, Dumbledore is incredibly manipulative over the course of the last few books, and he certainly has a dark history, but this if possible made me like him more, because it made him more of a flawed, real person, as opposed to just this incredibly good, wise wizard. He’s a very complicated character, more than it seems when we are introduced to him in the first book, because whilst he is ultimately a good man (and I believe he is), his ultimate aim was defeat Voldemort and his death eaters, and he would do whatever it took to achieve that aim. I kind of admired how he was able to think several moves ahead, how he knew what he needed to do years before it happened, it’s kind of brilliant, in a twisted sort of way. Everything he does is for the greater good, and whilst he may be blinded by this at times, it is ultimately admirable. I believe he truly did care about Harry, even though some of the events of the final book may have made it seem like he was only using Harry as a pawn. Ultimately, whilst Dumbledore makes some questionable choices, he is trying to achieve the best possible outcome for the Wizarding World, and even sacrifices himself for this aim, and as Sirius said “We’ve all got both light and dark inside of us. What matter is the part we choose to act on”. Dumbledore is not purely good or purely evil, he is a a complex character who is a little of both, but he always acts for what he feels is the greater good and that is no bad thing. Dumbledore remains one of my favourite fictional characters, I learned a lot through his wise words, and I think all of when we were younger would have loved to have a teacher like Dumbledore, in spite of his flaws.

I will be back with another Sidekick Showcase next Saturday, but tomorrow is Swooworthy Sunday, so look out for that post.

Leave a Reply

